02/03/20 Thomas J. PMPS 426

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
02/02/20
I gave him his first dose, not as hard as I thought. His bg was higher than usual but I think he was a bit stressed. I gave the injection after he ate half his food and was still eating. I gave him a full 3 oz can today and he ate every single bite, I was surprised. I was figuring out which method to use to pull back his skin, tent or roll and he was like, what the heck are you doing then went back to eating.
I saw his skin so I'm positive I got it in but hope I pulled his skin up enough, he didn't even notice the injection though. I didn't feel or smell any insulin on his fur so I don't think it was a fur shot but boy did I smell it when I was drawing it into the syringe. Very pungent, strong like alcohol but different.
He hates when I test his blood now though, swats at me every time but eventually gives in. I stay calm and give him plenty of pets, need to buy some treats. He's not easily distracted by them though, hates his ears touched. His other ear is still healing so he only has one to test on and I think he's about had enough of it.
I did get some ketone test strips. I was able to grab some "straight from the tap" yesterday, negative. Tested just now after he ate, negative.
I'm optimistic that he's on the road to recovery. I'm so thankful for everyone giving me advice and information, you've truly made a huge impact and lessened all of my anxiety.
I wish everyone a wonderful week ahead and hope your fur babies are well!:bighug:
 
Congrats on your first Lantus injection! Sounds like you got the dose in! Yes, Lantus is pungent; some say it smells like bandaids.

Had Thomas ever DKA? Or are you just testing ketones because of the higher BG numbers? Also, was he on another insulin first? Just wondering why he was DX 1/18 and he’s just starting Lantus. Forgive me if you addressed all this over in Main Forum or here and I just missed it.

Oh and Welcome to the forum!
 
Last edited:
Congrats on your first Lantus injection! Sounds like you got the dose it! Yes, Lantus is pungent; some day it smells like bandaids.

Had Thomas ever DKA? Or are you just testing ketones because of the higher BG numbers? Also, was he on another insulin first? Just wondering why he was DX 1/18 and he’s just starting Lantus. Forgive me if you addressed all this over in Main Forum or here and I just missed it.

Oh and Welcome to the forum!
No DKA, just testing as a precaution, I figure I might as well check just in case. It doesn't seem to be an issue but I'd rather test and know rather than not know and worry.
This is his first insulin, I changed him from dry food over to wet food so I gave it a week first to see if his numbers lowered. My vet didn't give me much information at all, just got a call from a vet tech that said his numbers were high and he needed insulin. I asked questions but she didn't know the answers. It took a while to convince them I wanted Lantus, not Vetsulin, they kept pushing it every time I asked about another kind and insisted the vet would recommend it (which he did).
Took a while to get an appointment scheduled to actually have a discussion with the vet about it. THe vet has never worked with Lantus before and doesn't know much about it and has worked with very few cats to begin with. He finally wrote me a prescription for Lantus when I kept pushing for it and I went to see if the local pharmacies had it available.
I bought the Lantus but I bought the wrong syringes, which I couldn't measure his dose properly at all on so I had to have them order the correct ones adding another extra wait. I only got the Lantus Wednesday and syringes Friday. I was out of the house most of Saturday and Sunday. I wanted to be home to monitor him his first week which is why I started today. That's why I'm so late to get him started.
Sorry for the long explanation but I wanted to give you the proper reasoning.
Thank you for the welcome!
 
Well, Thomas is lucky to have you as a caregiver with all the background research you have done!

one other question: why were you started at such a low dose? It usually goes by weight and he’s a good size cat.
 
What a great start with the insulin! Testing for ketones once in a while can't be bad, at least you know where you're going !
For the poking, it will get better if he can associate it with having something he likes !! My Ti-Mousse loves to eat, so I give him a little snack right after; so when it's poking time, he comes on the carpet waiting for it to be done! Never thought this would happen at the beginning!
Keep on like that you're doing very good ! :)
 
Well, Thomas is lucky to have you as a caregiver with all the background research you have done!

one other question: why were you started at such a low dose? It usually goes by weight and he’s a good size cat.
My vet said 1 unit once a day since it's a long duration insulin and because he's already on low carb wet food. He's only in on Wednesdays and I haven't gotten to talk to him about dosing twice a day every 12 hours which I believe would regulate him better. From our discussion at his appointment I don't think it'd be a problem but I fully intend on talking to him about it. I wanted to get him started already so I split his suggested dose for twice a day. He kind of just said to start the insulin within the week if I could even get it and then we'd do a check up after a week or so.
 
I was trying to get a +6 but he kept fighting me. Even got a poke and blood but he wouldn't let me touch him to grab it. He enjoyed the treats I gave him but refused to let me touch him, started clawing me so I gave up. I don't think he's going to be cooperative about frequent testing, especially when he only has one ear I can test. I think his ear is just getting sore. Maybe I should try a paw pad but he hates his paws touched.
 
Managed to finally get a test at +8, still fought me but grabbed it real quick. Is 154 too low?
 
Nope, 154 is great! You're also now in the latter half of the cycle, so there's not much more time for the insulin to bring him down more (you don't want him going below 50). But this is a great start!

Hope he eventually figures out that the pokes are a small price to pay for yummy treats.

Tips for reducing soreness: apply a bit of pressure for several seconds after the poke. This helps reduce bruising, as well as stopping the bleeding in the moment. A little dab of antibiotic ointment can speed healing.
 
Nope, 154 is great! You're also now in the latter half of the cycle, so there's not much more time for the insulin to bring him down more (you don't want him going below 50). But this is a great start!

Hope he eventually figures out that the pokes are a small price to pay for yummy treats.

Tips for reducing soreness: apply a bit of pressure for several seconds after the poke. This helps reduce bruising, as well as stopping the bleeding in the moment. A little dab of antibiotic ointment can speed healing.
Thank you, wanted to make sure. I do apply pressure and put ointment but I'm still getting some bruising. Maybe I need to hold pressure a little longer. I feel so bad that he hates it so much. Thanks for the encouragement!
 
I've poked too many times trying to get some blood but only managed to get some once but my meter reset in the middle of it because the strip was barely crooked. He was upset, then patient, now he just attacks when I come near him and wouldn't even let me apply pressure afterwards so it's going to bruise. I can't give him his evening dose without testing but I can't test him now. I don't know what to do.
 
It takes time and patience to get into the swing of this testing business. My Luci was a real hard case - she didn't want to be held, touched, the whole nine yards. It took two of us to test and every time it was a battle of wills. I'd end up a sweaty, exhausted mess and so was Luci - she was irritated and upset - so after getting some tips on here about just putting her in the testing place and petting her and giving her a treat - then just put her down - oh...so it wasn't always about a poke?

That's right...sometimes I'd just pet her up and tell her how great she was...and feed her a little treat...and off she'd go...and I started doing that several times a day - I didn't get a test...

I think the first time I poked her five times without getting any blood and when I did get it, the drop went on the floor! It was a disaster...

Needless to say it takes time and patience...and lots of loving and soft words...and singing songs and treats...lots of treats. If LilTurkey associates every time you're coming around it's a poke and this 'torture' session...he won't respond well...you gotta make it more fun...and yes, it's a lot of work and effort...but I told Luci - that although I didn't like doing this to her, it was going to save her life so we had to do it...and here we are today - two years later..now she purrs through the tests...

I'd hold off on the dose until you can get a test...try a few sessions in the next little while of petting and treats while on the testing location - no pokes...maybe at some point you can get a test in...
 
I'm giving him treats but I think he's tired of it and sore. His other ear can't be used because of the solar dermatitis so it's solely the one. Should I skip his shot tonight then if I can't get a test? I worry about being able to get his morning dose in him tomorrow.
 
I was so nervous my first time. With testing and poking with the needles. I was always scared of needles. Molly could sense my stress and would be stressed with me. Now it's easier and she's more relaxed. I heat up a rice sock in the microwave just luke warm. Place it on her ear and test her that way. I give her treats after her poke with the needle. Freeze dried of course, It gets easier over time with the testing and the needle. Welcome to the forum :)
 
I was so nervous my first time. With testing and poking with the needles. I was always scared of needles. Molly could sense my stress and would be stressed with me. Now it's easier and she's more relaxed. I heat up a rice sock in the microwave just luke warm. Place it on her ear and test her that way. I give her treats after her poke with the needle. Freeze dried of course, It gets easier over time with the testing and the needle. Welcome to the forum :)
Thank you for the encouragement. I try to stay calm, warm the sock, give the treats but he's had it with the testing now. In the beginning it didn't bother him as much and I feel like I was getting blood easier. I'm able to poke but when I massage to get more blood is when he hates it. I may try again in a bit but then his shot will be late regardless if I can even get it at all.
 
Thank you for the encouragement. I try to stay calm, warm the sock, give the treats but he's had it with the testing now. In the beginning it didn't bother him as much and I feel like I was getting blood easier. I'm able to poke but when I massage to get more blood is when he hates it. I may try again in a bit but then his shot will be late regardless if I can even get it at all.
Molly was like that in the beginning too. She wouldn't sit still. So I grabbed a blanket and wrapped it around her. So she couldn't move and tested her that way. Maybe try that see if that helps
 
He did so well today on his first shot, and you are testing for ketones. Go ahead and give it another try for the pre-shot test, if it doesn't happen, it doesn't happen.

I think it's perfectly fine to skip the shot tonight and start up again in the morning if you have to, better that than stressing him out even more.
 
No blanket but I managed to get a test done. 426 not sure if that's from stress and also because I let him eat his food since he was hungry or if it's incorrect. I've never seen it that high before. Will it be okay if I give his shot now?
 
Wait... is this your usual shot time, or are you really off-schedule now? If it's more than an hour or so late, you could consider skipping anyway, and just giving both of you a break for a while. And yes, that number was likely partially due to stress. Poor little guy!

No matter what, I'd take it easy with him tonight. These first few days are tricky-- your relationship with your kitty will survive, no matter what, but it's good to take all the breaks and go as slow as you have to in order to decrease the stress all around.
 
Wait... is this your usual shot time, or are you really off-schedule now? If it's more than an hour or so late, you could consider skipping anyway, and just giving both of you a break for a while. And yes, that number was likely partially due to stress. Poor little guy!

No matter what, I'd take it easy with him tonight. These first few days are tricky-- your relationship with your kitty will survive, no matter what, but it's good to take all the breaks and go as slow as you have to in order to decrease the stress all around.
I agree. It was about an hour late. Today is his first day of insulin though. Not the best way to start a first day, already being off schedule.
 
Back
Top