02/11-Freckles/Judy - , 59 +12, 61@+12.25, 67@PMPS , 101@+1, 113@+2, 126 @+3, 158 @+4, 178 @+5

Judy and Freckles

Member Since 2019
yesterday's post
Freckles came with me to the city today as there was no one home to test during the day. I was able to come home at lunch and test and she was at 74. She continues to drop during the 11th hour. Will test in 30 minutes before I shoot - may be posting for advice but will be revisiting @Wendy&Neko 's suggestion from Sunday before I do anything else.
 
Too late now, but next time, and Freckles likes to do this :rolleyes:, I would have given a snack at +9.25 to see of you could have put the brakes on her. Freckles, up please!
 
Shooting a reduced dose for HD kitties is always an option- we call it a BCS (big chicken sh*t) shot. Keep in mind that due to the slow action of Lantus the effects of a reduced dose will likely take hold in the following cycle not the current one.

If shooting late it’s not going to mess up your schedule ( next shot will have to be 12 hours later) you can stall some more.
 
Here ya go. :coffee::coffee::coffee:
balls_of_steel_2_95081.jpg
 
I am pretty sure I know what you will be doing tonight. Looking forward to that +1.
Yup... I'm in the city tonight as I was going to visit mom at the care home, but not tonight. She will understand.

I figure this is the best place to shoot a green as I'm not an hour away from the ER vet as usual, I have plenty of supplies and I can sleep in a bit tomorrow morning because I don't have the commute and DH is doing the chores tonight and tomorrow morning.

upload_2020-2-11_18-48-39.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-2-11_18-48-39.png
    upload_2020-2-11_18-48-39.png
    43.5 KB · Views: 181
Make sure to show long you stalled on the ss. It’s important data.
I liked to see it in the cell ( example below ) some folks put it in the remarks.

76AEC5EC-980D-4738-98BB-C88E56B6DE67.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 76AEC5EC-980D-4738-98BB-C88E56B6DE67.jpeg
    76AEC5EC-980D-4738-98BB-C88E56B6DE67.jpeg
    74.5 KB · Views: 77
Let’s see what Freckles does early on. Might yet be able to visit mom.

I did like Sandy on the SS.
 
Question- what does HD mean and can someone explain the depot again- like why will dose increases or decreases not be seen until the following cycle? I don’t think I’m understanding fully. Oh! And what does BCS mean (I know what it stands for but what does it mean?)
 
High dose cat (cat that is getting a higher dose of insulin)
the depot again- like why will dose increases or decreases not be seen until the following cycle?
The depot is like the extra storage shed for the insulin. When a dose is decreased, the extra in the depot will act as the regular dose until the extra is used up. That's how I understand it anyways. The depot is like the 'reserve'. So if you look at Freckles SS for February 9 pm, the depot is what kept Freckles in the blue for awhile and away from the reds and blacks - even though I skipped the shot.

BCS means the CG (caregiver) is not confident in giving the full dose when faced with lower numbers than what the CG is usually faced with.
 
Yes, let's hope for one of those 'flat' curves that Freckles has been notorious for!
Mimi’s a flat curving kitty too. They are hospital bed buddies - both got the betes around the same time. I hope she stays more in the blues so she can earn reducies! Or do we have to wait until they are actually below 50 before that happens? I have to check the stickies again
 
Same thing happened to me the first few times I shot green.stressed out mommabean, proud to have shot green, and fizzle. :rolleyes: Ah well, a nice set of blues.
 
Same thing happened to me the first few times I shot green.stressed out mommabean, proud to have shot green, and fizzle. :rolleyes: Ah well, a nice set of blues.
You bet! I will take blues any day! Oh well. We came out of the night with BOS! lmao

Thanks for your help and support.... once again...
 
I was glad to see Sandy too, she stepped in when I was busy out of the house. It takes a village....
 
Back
Top