02-19 Small Kitty amps 151 +2 360 +6 320 +10 279 pmps 214 +2 106 +3 160- Climb and Dive + Nature

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Good morning everyone,

Second day on Levemir this morning and what showed up on the meter was
beyond all I would have hoped. You were right, Levemir is getting in action
at the end of his cycle ! Can't believe that 1.5U brought a blue morning. If this
is the way to come it's going to be very encouraging. Small Kitty was straight
lined in pink last night, if he could be like that in the blue think healing will
start to set into action. Even ketone is going down, not yet at the typical 0.3
but still way better then 5.7 :).

Let's hope we finally found the answer and give some hope to those in trouble.

Wish you have a good Sunday.

Sébastien
 
Some shots from ride in nature yesterday :

Nature2.jpg

Jump squirrel :
Nature3.jpg


Nature.jpg
 
SK could have nadired at pmps, or maybe earlier, he may be on his way up now, but what a great start, good news on lower ketones too, heading in the right direction.:cool:

Remember that onset with Lev will be later than with Lantus so you might see his numbers rise in the early part of this mornings cycle, before they start to dip again once lev onsets +4 to +6 (for most cats, you'll need to determine SK patterns with lev)

Great pic of Jumping squirrel , love it.:)
 
Think we can forget straight lines, Small Kitty is still Small Kitty

Two hours after blue : 360 :(

Green or nothing policy will always come at heavy price with Small Kitty...
My vet marked a point in saying the deadly SS for the year is due to a dose
that is to high for comfort.

This bounce will last for the entire day, that's nothing to help learning in
getting back to normal range...

:(
.
 
Two hours after blue : 360 :(
With Lev, the shot you gave him is still not working, ie you haven't reached onset yet. There is still time for him to work the new juice.

Like Wendy said yesterday with her Neko, she found the drops would come later in the cycle after +5, I wonder if small kitty dropped lower last night somewhere between that last test and amps this morning.
 
Those photos are amazing -what kind of owl is that?
So happy to see Lev working - Murphy is bouncy on it as well
Very good news, Sébastien
 
Sebastian

This could be a bounce or a major food spike or a combination of both. For myself I find very little movement with Levemir until +4. Iwon't use Tuxie as an example because of his other health conditions but here is an example of what Maxie can do:

1/8/2017 AMPS 272 1.00 unit +3 337 +7 149 PMPS 180

It would be a good idea to do more testing today to see what sort of response SK is getting from the Levemir. :bighug::bighug:
 
Those photos are amazing -what kind of owl is that?
So happy to see Lev working - Murphy is bouncy on it as well
Very good news, Sébastien

That's a barred owl, a guy on ebird.org had posted he'd seen her the day before and shared the coordinates. Lucky she was still there yesterday. We walked for almost 4h to face her, was very happy :)

We had plenty of time to shoot, she stayed around where we were fore more then an hour before flying away.
 
You may want to rethink his feeding schedule too and add a snack/meal later in the cycle. Doodles is fed at preshot, +4 (onset is usually around +5) and he gets another meal on average at +8 or +8.5. His nadir 90% of the time is at preshot. Hope SK turns around later today. I recommend you testing as often as possible when time allows since during the week it's not possible.
 
You may want to rethink his feeding schedule too and add a snack/meal later in the cycle. Doodles is fed at preshot, +4 (onset is usually around +5) and he gets another meal on average at +8 or +8.5. His nadir 90% of the time is at preshot. Hope SK turns around later today. I recommend you testing as often as possible when time allows since during the week it's not possible.

That's very smart, with nadir pushed forward it will be the right time to balance the fall. I'll see
today how steep it is and balance the carb level.

Thanks :bighug::bighug::bighug:
.
 
Also want to make note that while most of the time onset happens later there are times that earlier tests are needed. It's way too early to say what SK's patterns will be on Levemir. You were smart to get that +2 this morning so good job.
 
I love your photos Sébastien!:) You have an amazing talent.

Come on Small Kitty, come on down the second half of the cycle and show your dad some prettier numbers. I loved that you were wearing your handsome blue suit this morning. It's time to put away your pink one and try on your blue again. :cat:
 
:( Small Kitty is definitively not on a hurry to get down :(

If he's going into blue at preshot it would definitively not meet the goal
of a straight liner insulin, for now at least :(.

Could the Lantus reserve have just worn out and there is a definitive need
for more fuel ? soon ?
.
 
No, he's bouncing from the drop last night most likely. I'd get a +9 though.

ETA: there is an adjustment period with changing insulins where yes, the Lantus depot will drain and the Levemir depot will fill. How long exactly...not real sure but my guess is 5-7 days.
 
Last edited:
Could the Lantus reserve have just worn out and there is a definitive need for more fuel ? soon ?
The patience pants you wore for Lantus will still work for Levemir. ;) On SLGS, you hold the dose if nadirs are below 150. This morning was very close. :cool: As Karen said, wait for the depot to stabilize to be all Levemir. It's not the full 7 days, but that's what SLGS suggests holding the dose. Unless the ketones go up (and thankfully seems to be the other way), I would hold.

You do have to change your way of thinking when you go to Levemir. Instead of a curve that goes down, often you'll get a curve that goes the other direction. At preshot the numbers may still go up for several hours, then after onset, which may be a little before mid cycle, the numbers turn around and go back down again. Sometimes to the lowest numbers at the following +12 or preshot. Sometimes even as late at +15. Not all cats have Lev cycles that look like that. It's your job in the next little while to learn what SK looks on Lev. What are his onset, nadir and duration on Lev?
 
Instead of a curve that goes down, often you'll get a curve that goes the other direction.
That is so strange to me o_Oo_Oo_O

On the other hand it will be good for the moral if I catch nadir on arrival from the office +
good numbers before leaving.
.
 
What are his onset, nadir and duration on Lev?

Was sleeping when it append, not sure how steep was the climb. Small Kitty is
usually using RATO (rocket assisted take off). Managing a minimum will kind a hard.
At least the altitude was not up to stratosphere.
.
 
Wonder if a small LC snack at +9 would've helped a bit to slow the descend to PMPS. As you learn Lev, playing with a later afternoon snacks at various times might be helpful.
 
Wonder if a small LC snack at +9 would've helped a bit to slow the descend to PMPS. As you learn Lev, playing with a later afternoon snacks at various times might be helpful.

Think it's going to be a must, he's diving right now. He'll touch green pretty soon.

Will let him go just to say we've seen green this year :)

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
.
 
I'd give him another LC snack to try and keep him surfing. Your title is missing the PMPS and is helpful to keep it easy to read by taking unnecessary comments out of the title
 
I would remove all the AM numbers and just put the PM ones up there. SK may have plans for you tonight.:coffee::coffee:
 
I would remove all the AM numbers and just put the PM ones up there. SK may have plans for you tonight.:coffee::coffee:

Sounds it's what is coming ahead. I'll fuel him once he reach green, can't stay awake until
midnight or I'll be messed up for the entire week..
.
 
I would get a +3 test, so you can see if it's a late nadir from the previous cycle or if you have to intervene early with carbs so you can get some sleep.
 
Depending on how things start to play out you may need to set alarms tonight. I've woken up to 20's & 30's at AMPS which is not fun. Surf safely SK.
 
Small Kitty is going back up but it's only +3, who knows how low he might go at
the second nadir (the one of last dose. When I break up deep sleep the recovery is not as
good when it's straight line. Regarding straight line, it's far from being the case with
Levemir, recovery is fast but the ups and downs will need to be managed by food.

I'll see.
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top