02/21 Gizmo PMPS=202+1=208, +2=211, +3=161, +5=204, +11=187

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
02/22 +11=73

Well after only about 3 1/2 hours of sleep - here we are.

He didn't come up stairs immediately when I got up so I came down and got him (not unusual and he may have if I had waited like I usually do). Tested (+11) and then he used the litter box and drank some water.

+11 tested with alternate meter/strips. AMPS (AMBG?) was tested with "normal/everyday" meter and strips (just checking - :))

Ate all of his fuds (appx 1 1/2-2oz) - gave him only Fowl Ball with NOTHING else in it. No enzymes, no B-12, no potassium. Same with the +2.5, +4.5 and +6.5 bowls. I did add about little water in each to keep it from drying out.

He ate all except just a shred or two around the edges. Ate with enthusiasm. Finished in about 5-8 min (normal time).

No shot this morning. I sure hope I don't regret it but I can't shoot this low and go to work - especially with questionable appy.

I don't know what to think of this but it sure has me out of whack and discombobulated.

Do I have anything to worry about with the depot today? Or can I go to work and not worry about him going hypo?
 
:eek:

What are you doing Gizmo?! He will get back on track from the skipped shot. I am sure you feel out of sorts....that would make me a bit crazy as well.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Wow, Gizmo Since you didn't shoot and he ate a of his food, you should be today today while working. You usually check him before you leave and if any doubt the numbers are continuing to go down, give him a litte MC food. Otherwise , if he is surfing along just leave his usual LC food.

ETA Sorry about all the typos, my keyboard is acting up again :eek:
 
Last edited:
:eek:

What are you doing Gizmo?! He will get back on track from the skipped shot. I am sure you feel out of sorts....that would make me a bit crazy as well.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
He wouldn't come up last night either. I just don't know what to make of all this. He has been under 100 for 10 hours.:blackeye:
 
Congrats on the reduction but Gizmo no need for such dramatics buddy. Hope his appy is better today Lizzie. It seems he goes between 1.25u and 1u which is common. Hope you get some rest tonight.
 
Wonder if the recent dental is changing things?
I have not idea. I wouldn't think just a cleaning would do anything - ??

I am no sure what is going on with his appetite - I know he isn't as hungry of food driven at lower numbers. Not sure if it is a panc flare (as he is eating and does NOT seem nauseated - no yowling, no lip licking) - not sure about pain - maybe - but where and why? I am not smart enough but I would think his numbers would be high(er) if there was significant pain or if it was a pancreatitis flare.

I think the limping may have been from the catheter from the dental. Not noticing it today.

^^just think "out loud" and putting stuff out there.

I am terrified to shoot this low with the off appetite and being the work week. I am just going to wait and see what his BG is when I get home.

Can anyone give me any advise?

Just yesterday morning I ordered the Canna Companion (Cannabis) to have JIC. Maybe I jinxed myself. :banghead:

When I tested him (+6) I found myself hoping for 200's - how crazy is that? o_O:(
 
Can anyone give me any advise
I'm sorry, but no help here from me. I would also think if there was pain his numbers would be high. Hopefully someone else will have more insight. I do know, that you should never underestimate the power of the depot (meaning it can carry them along for longer than expected) regardless of the size dose they are on.
 
Point is the depot can be keeping his numbers lower than you expected. ETA sometimes the following cycle will be affected more from the skipped shot
Ok, that is what I thought you meant. Whew - not quite ready for the funny farm yet but I think hubby is planning on driving me there soon.

I am not sure what to even put in the subject line to try and get advise - lol "Help, need advise - my cat is normal" :eek::confused:
 
Unbelievable his cycle today with no shot. I would also think that if it were a p'titis flare that he would be in higher numbers

Did you recently change his food or anything like that?

You will probably be able to shoot tonight as he is on the rise and as long as his appy is good.
 
Did you recently change his food or anything like that?
No. Though he is only getting the Fowl Ball (4%) due to my fear of tummy issues. (last night and today). But that is his "primary" food that I mix others into 2/1 ratio. The other food (Wellness Core Beef, Venison & Lamb) is 5% carb.

Last night after PS test he wasn't interested in eating. Walked away. This was the start of it all. I quick grabbed the fall back (FF T&G) and he ate 1 1/2-2 tablespoons of it so I shot him. Then I dumped all the regular food (mix) and replaced with just FB with NOTHING else (supplements, digestive enzymes,etc). He ate this morning good. Acted hungry and ate his regular amount that he would at shot time. I have him a bit more FB at +2.5, +4.5 and +6.55 than he normally gets of the mixture because FB is lower in calories.

Will be interesting to see if he ends the cycle in yellow or pink.
I really thought he would be yellow when I ran home @ +6. IDK, I just don't know.

What is Canna Companion?
https://cannacompanionusa.com/

It is Hemp (cannabis without the "high" properties). I got it JIC for pancreatitis. Gizmo doesn't do well on the pain meds so I thought I would try this. Sure wish I had it already so I could see if it would boost his appy - tracking shows it will be delivered Friday. This "brand" was developed by vets.
 
https://cannacompanionusa.com/

Does your state have to be one of the medical marijuana states?
No. No restrictions because it has minimal THC.

Hemp is Legal
While medical marijuana is legal in over 20 states, it’s important to remember that regardless of its health benefits, possession is illegal in much of the country––even for use as a pet supplement. Hemp, on the other hand, is completely legal to possess in the entire country, and our supplements are no different. Canna Companion is classified as an animal health product and does not have high concentrations of phytocannabinoids (naturally-occurring cannabinoids found in plants).
Hemp is a wonderful way to introduce the benefits of cannabis to your pet. Rather than using a medical or recreational marijuana product, full of undisclosed amounts of THC and CBD, our hemp supplements are developed by veterinarians removing the guesswork. Ultimately, the entire plant is beneficial and using it can only help support your pet’s overall health and wellbeing.
 
Lizzie, could he just be 'bored' of the Fowl Ball? You say you are only feeding that.
A couple of months ago, Georges fud delivery went astray, and I only had one flavour/brand of his usual fuds, so he ended up having the same food, for all his meals for about a week. As the days went on, he became less interested in his food, and I was starting to worry, this is a cat that eats like there's no tomorrow, fortunately his new fuds arrived, I opened a new variety and he ate it with gusto.
So wondering if it could be a similar thing for Giz if you've restricted his food choices.
 
Lizzie, could he just be 'bored' of the Fowl Ball
He was getting a mixture of FB and Wellness (2 different Wellness') - then I figured out one of the Wellness' was too high in carbs (Wellness Healthy Indulgence Turkey & Duck) so I eliminated that option and he has only been getting the mixture of FB and Wellness Core - but that has just been over the past week or so. He ate the FB by itself last night and today - he ate the FF T&G for about two years with no change - he really has never been a picky eater except when he is having a panc. flare.

I have been mixing 2-6oz cans of FB with 1-5.5oz Wellness Core - that makes food for two days (or 4 cycles). It is kept in the refrig until fed.

I am really, really limited to what foods he can have (LC/low phos).

The only thing I can think that might have turned him off was the added potassium but Marge said she hadn't ever know that to be the case with any other cats. I only gave it two him twice - and then discontinued because this all started. I try and not change too many things at the same time.
 
I have to also find low phos foods, we have 3 varieties, which we rotate, it's a major pain in the backside to find LC and low P.
The food that he went off was actually his favorite, I'm giving him a bit of a rest from it for now in the hope he will grow to like it again.
:rolleyes:

I hope you can figure it out.
 
Ok, +11.5 206

Appy questionable - what do I do? He didn't eat any of his +6.5. Ate 6 FD snacks sometime after noon.
I'd see how he eats dinner personally. If you're tired from not much sleep last night and worried about appy you can shoot a BCS to get some insulin into him. Of course you'll still need to monitor a bit. Or of course you can shoot the new dose of 1u.
 
I'd see how he eats dinner personally. If you're tired from not much sleep last night and worried about appy you can shoot a BCS to get some insulin into him. Of course you'll still need to monitor a bit. Or of course you can shoot the new dose of 1u.

What would be BCS? 0.5u?
 
Well the skip will have drained the depot somewhat.
But I can see how having a kitty whose not hungry might be nerve wracking.
I would probably be inclined to take the reduction and shoot the 1u tonight.
Perhaps put his pm food down, see if he tucks into it, and make a decision based on that. If he is still not eating at pmps then perhaps a BCS would be safer.

Just a thought have you got any higher P food lying about that he would go crazy for? Just in case you need it for later.
 
Well the skip will have drained the depot somewhat.
But I can see how having a kitty whose not hungry might be nerve wracking.
I would probably be inclined to take the reduction and shoot the 1u tonight.
Perhaps put his pm food down, see if he tucks into it, and make a decision based on that. If he is still not eating at pmps then perhaps a BCS would be safer.

Just a thought have you got any higher P food lying about that he would go crazy for? Just in case you need it for later.
I have the proverbial pet store supply of food - lol.

Should I give Mirts?
 
does he appear dehydrated? Would that cause his appy to be off or maybe it's the low potassium?
Dehydration is a possibility, not so much the potassium. Low potassium is more likely to cause weakness.

With the skip today, there's a good chance Gizmo's numbers will continue to rise tonight. But you have to be able to monitor in case they don't. The decision to BCS or not is based on how you feel. :bighug:
 
Ok, I am totally screwed up.

+11.5 was 206
Shot was 30 min late so technically +12.5 (5:00pm my time).
Shot 0.75U

I grabbed a FF Fish and Shrimp Feast and enticed him back to the bowls with it and then added a teaspoon and mixed it in really good. He ate almost all of it. I added a teaspoon of the FF F&S to each bowl for the rest of this cycle.

I have no idea how much calories are in the FF F&S of phosphorus either but I think it is low on both.
 
He was drinking water from his bowls this morning and the first food I put down tonight he licked all the water/juice from it but didn't eat much of the actual food.

Does NOT appear nauseated. He is not 100% but is not hiding or acting like much pain either (currently not meatloafed). His potassium is low and that is why I started to give him the suplement and then this started. I am NOT sure that the potassium (added to his food for two cycles) did not start this but Marje said it shouldn't but ECID.
 
According to Tanya's latest list, the FF Flaked Fish and Shrimp is 2.45 on the phosphorus. You want under 1.0. :blackeye: But at least it got him to eat.

Neko never noticed the potassioum gluconate I added to her food. And she was becoming very picky at that point.
 
The stuff I gave came from the vet, so I'm not sure the brand. It also came with it's own scoop but the dose sounds similar. I gave one small scoop per cycle.
 
Putting this in perspective.

Last night +2 165
Tonight +2 211

That is only a 48 point difference with one NO shot in between. He spent 10 consecutive hours under 100 last night into this morning.
 
Did not eat any of the 2.5 snack - I don't know if I should try and force it or wait and see if he will need MC/HC food.

+3 161
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top