02/24 Tinka 63 +11.5, 67 +12, 76 +12.5/PMPS (LC meal), 63 +1.5 (HC), 77 +2.5, 86 +3.5, 94 +5 (LC)

Status
Not open for further replies.

TanyaG

Member Since 2016
Hi all, Tinka has been surfing the lagoon all afternoon. Her +11 is 63 and she seems to be staying around the same or dropping a bit. I'll retest in 10 mins to see if she's staying same, up or down. If she is the same thats low to shoot. The lowest I've done is 74 and that required honey at +1 and +2. I can monitor and have plenty supplies, but ideally not a pj party as I really need sleep. I don't want to skip a dose though. Should I do a reduced shot? Thank you!

Previous condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...8-4-5-2tsp-lc-honey-77-6-99-7-94-8-lc.173597/
 
You can always delay without feeding for an extra half hour to see if she comes up more. The problem with a reduced shot is that the depot may heavily influence the cycle and there may still be some 2.5 unit depot there.
 
You can always delay without feeding for an extra half hour to see if she comes up more. The problem with a reduced shot is that the depot may heavily influence the cycle and there may still be some 2.5 unit depot there.
Thanks Wendy I will test in about 8 mins which will be +12 and then wait another 30 mins then till +12.5 to see if she's coming up or down. The surfing values today all required LC treats at each test to keep her up. I'm surprised to be seeing such low values again as we took a dose reduction yesterday AM to 2.25 but I guess that could be because the depot may still be full from the 2.5 units.
 
We just took her +12 and she's pretty much the same at 67. DH didn't know we were stalling so gave her a little LC treat but its literally just a small piece of freeze dried duck so hopefully that wont influence the next BG too much. I'll test again at +12.5 and report back. If she's the same what would you suggest? Thank you!
 
FD treats should be OK. The decision about what or if to shot depends on how tired you are feeling. The 60's are perfectly shootable, but you'll have to ask Tinka if she is planning an active cycle. :cat:
 
FD treats should be OK. The decision about what or if to shot depends on how tired you are feeling. The 60's are perfectly shootable, but you'll have to ask Tinka if she is planning an active cycle. :cat:
Thanks Wendy :) Her +12.5 / PMPS is now 76. Does that count as going up or staying the same? I'm feeding her now. We'll shoot in 5 mins. So I did a reduced dose of 2u of the 19th Feb and we did use a little honey to curve but cycle didn't seem too active. Do you think doing another reduced dose of 2u would be helpfu or does that have a negative effect on days after? If need be a can shoot the full dose.
 
I'd shoot the full dose but you have to do what you feel comfortable doing. A reduced dose won't guarantee a less active cycle though.
 
I'd shoot the full dose but you have to do what you feel comfortable doing. A reduced dose won't guarantee a less active cycle though.
Thank you for the info :) I'm just a bit concerned as she's not finished her dinner now as she's had a few LC treats every hours all afternoon so she's not very hungry which means it'll be difficult getting more LC or HC food into her if I need to on this cycle. We decided to take a slight dose reduction to 2u. Not sure if that'll make much difference. I'll monitor her closely and if she doesn't pick up or drops at +1 or +2 then maybe I'll give her a tsp LC with a drop honey to try curve her. Hopefully it won't be an all nighter but hey she loves to surf the lagoon at all hours so i'll just need to be prepared for what comes our way I guess. I'll monitor till she's safe even if it does mean a late one :)
 
She will be fine. If she won't eat hc if needed you can put some honey on her gums. If she drops she will likely be hungry. I hope she surfs nicely.
 
She will be fine. If she won't eat hc if needed you can put some honey on her gums. If she drops she will likely be hungry. I hope she surfs nicely.
Thank you for this info it's really helpful to know:) Just going to get a +1 test in now.
 
So her +1.5 was 63 even though we fed her a LC meal after PMPS before shooting. We did a slightly reduced dose of 2u. At +1.5 we fed her 1 tsp LC with a drop of honey to help curve her. Then+2.5 is 77 so a little bump. Will get a +3.5 in 20 mins. Lets hope she goes up a bit more.
 
She's staying pretty safe. Is she eating the LC you're giving her?
Thanks Tricia thank you sorry I'm only seeing your msg now. Forum was pretty quite earlier so I wasn't on those last few hours. Yes Tinka ate about 3/4 of her dinner and then she ate the 1 tsp with a drop honey at +1.5. Then I didn't feed her till +5 and she ate dinner but a smaller portion than usual but she finished it. It was def all those e tea LC treats this aftern to help her surg that must hv filled her up.

I waited till +5 so that I could get 2 non food influenced tests and she was stable then up to 94 at +5 so fed her after that. So hopefully she'll be stable for the rest of the night. I'm just awake now and checked on her at +7 but I'm too exhausted to take her downstairs for another BG and she was stable and in the 90's when I did my final test earlier at +5. I just gave her 2 treats to keep her going, hopefully she'll be safe for the rest of the Eve and hopefully less lagoon surfing tmrw so mama can get sum rest ;) Good night thank you for your help!
 
hopefully less lagoon surfing tmrw so mama can get sum rest ;)
You know you'll be disappointed if she doesn't surf tomorrow LOL
Great run in green for her, and good job manipulating her curve.

She came up and surfed pretty easy, with that little drop of honey.
Are you going take her back up to the 2.25? ie was the 2u a BCS?(Never mind I see you've noted it as a BCS in your remarks on ss)
As she didn't earn the reduction and came up easy, I would be tempted to stick with the 2.25, I'm sure that she will let you know soon enough if that's too much for her.
:D:D:D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top