? 02/25/18 Squallie AMPS 47-70, +1.30/79, +3/62, +5/71, +9/80, +11/69, PMPS 71, + 2/84, + 5/89

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Squalliesmom, Feb 25, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Yesterday

    Squallie's first AMPS test today was 47. I immediately tested his other ear, thinking I had a bad strip or something; that test was 54. I don't know what to do. Obviously I can't shoot him at those levels - do I bring him up and pass on the shot or do I stall and see if he'll come up enough to shoot? It seems like his nadir gets closer and closer to the 12-hr mark every time I test him!
     
    Tracey&Jones (GA) likes this.
  2. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I would stall and if it comes up, shoot. Are you able to monitor and have all the goodies on hand?
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  3. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Yes, I can monitor and I have some higher-carb foods. I am waiting on his appy meds to get here, though, so I can't guarantee he'll eat. I am stalling right now and will test again in about 10 minutes. yesterday morning I had to stall for 1 1/2 hrs!
     
  4. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Have you thought about giving him a reduction if you haven't been able to shoot on time due to low numbers? I know he's a long time diabetic, but I don't know what his count is at for being under 50.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  5. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Yes, I was just discussing this a few days ago and decided to leave him at status quo for the time being, but I'm thinking a reduction is in order now. I have to stall at every PS now!
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  6. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I agree. You can always take it back up. Squallie seems to be saying he wants less juice. He has been in all greens, too.
     
    Squalliesmom and Beth 73 like this.
  7. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Thoughts and prayers for Squallie and you, Lucy :bighug: That you will know exactly what to do :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  8. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Beth!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  9. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Squallie is doing amazing - except for the low number @ PS :D. Not a bad problem to have :p
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  10. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Squallie playing with your bean so early isn't nice. But a reduction is good, so your forgiven.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  11. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I just tested him again and got 49. I think it's going to be a pass on the shot this morning, I don't think he's going to come up enough for me to shoot, at least in a reasonable length of time. Based on his recent history, since he hasn't come up at all yet, he probably wouldn't be high enough to shoot for at least a couple of hours.
     
  12. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I think I would pass on this shot if not coming up. Definitely a reduction after this. Is Squallie a bouncy kitty?
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  13. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Paula. He used to bounce a bit, but since he's been in these low numbers he doesn't seem to bounce as much, or at least it doesn't last as long.
     
  14. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Little to no bouncing is good. Soon maybe a trial coming up :D
     
  15. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Well, I just checked him one last time and he's up to 70 now, so I think I'll go ahead and shoot a reduced dose and see how he does with that.

    I wish!!! I don't think he'll ever go into remission, he's a long-term diabetic and he's still getting a good bit of the juice. But never say never, right???:D
     
  16. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Never say never when it comes to cats.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  17. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Fabulous looking SS though! :smuggrin:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’d reduce. JMHO. :D
     
    Shoeskitty-GA and Squalliesmom like this.
  19. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Kris! :bighug:
     
  20. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks! I did, Elise, I dropped him down to 1.75U. He's been running so low at every PS, it's crazy, and having to stall every time doesn't make good sense. :bighug:
     
    tiffmaxee and Shoeskitty-GA like this.
  21. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Well, it's earned him a reduction, so I guess that's a good thing, lol!:D:bighug:
     
  22. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    And now you don't have to ponder to reduce or not, he made the decision for you! :p

    Looking amazing, Squallie! :D:D:D:D
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  23. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Is he a late nadir kitty? How do you find that to manage? Silver is getting increasingly hard as his preshot is low then he rises during day nadirs around +10
     
  24. MJW

    MJW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Squallie does have a beautiful green spreadsheet. Good luck with the reduction.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  25. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks! Yum's spreadsheet looks pretty good, too! Nice job! :bighug:
     
  26. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    He's never been a late-nadir kitty before; his was usually a fairly early nadir, actually, with a major "dawn phenomenon" of higher numbers. I don't know what has changed to make his nadir so late (or early?), but it has not been easy to manage. Over the last several days I have had to stall repeatedly at both AMPS and PMPS.
     
    Juliet likes this.
  27. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks Stacy!
    I love Asia's picture, her face is so adorable! :bighug::cat::bighug:
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  28. MJW

    MJW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    The cabergoline seems to be working on her acromegaly. We are so lucky.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  29. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Yes Silver never used to be late either.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  30. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Congrats on the reduction. Even if it was a rather rude way to wake up. :eek: Neko used to like throwing me the odd 40's at AMPS, but I could always wait 15-20 minutes and she'd come up on her own.

    Do you might modifying the SS, to show the actual time you shot. So you could do something like 49@+12/49@12.x - those could go in the +11 cell. Then do 70@+12.75, or whatever it was, in the PMPS cell. That's so we can see how much you had to stall.

    I loved having a later nadir cat, seldom had to worry about her being low mid cycle when I wasn't around to monitor.
     
    Squalliesmom and Stacy & Asia like this.
  31. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Hi Wendy, thanks for the advice! What should I do about the rest of the days' entries? For example, do I use +1.30 for his first test, since that's how long it was from his shot, or do I use +2.30, which is what it would be if he'd gotten his shot on time?
     
  32. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Good idea to reduce. Congrats! Even Sienne (@Sienne and Gabby (GA) ), who tested Gabby a lot, wouldn't shoot a PS number under 50.

    Yo Deputy Squallie, the shark nets are OK. You didn't have to check them this morning!
    ~ LagoonMeister Rusty
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  33. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I don't want to shoot anything under 70, even that makes me nervous :nailbiting:!
     
  34. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Congrats on the reducie. I hope Squallie keeps surfing safely for you.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  35. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Carla! :D:bighug:
     
  36. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    For the rest of the entries, just enter them the way you have, whatever length of time after the shot that they are.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  37. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Okay, thanks! :bighug:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page