?? 03/05 MERLIN +2 Delayed PMPS 72/ up from 57 / Shoot regular dose?

Steve & Merlin

Member Since 2019
Merlin is dropping fast and I am coming up on his PMPS and dosing. I think he will be below 50 for his PMPS. I'm trying to figure out what to do for his next dose. If I give him nothing, he has shown he could shoot over 500. The last time he was below 50 (see chart), he had no clinical symptoms of hyperglycemia and responded well to two small feeding of FF gravy food. Any suggestions?
 
Don’t shoot if below 50. Wait and see where he is in an hour. Paws crossed he levels off or goes up.

Are you following TR (Tight Regulation) or SLGS (Start Low Go Slow method) for dosing? He may have earned a dose reduction already.
 
Thanks for the reply. His PMPS is 63 so he may be rising now. I have elected to delay the shot an hour or two (I have no issues with the consequently shifted shot schedule) to see where he is then and decide to either give a full dose or a reduced (-0.25) dose. He is still so bouncy, I'm not sure he has earned a reduced dose. I was thinking of a one time reduction to be conservative in his next dose if he doesn't rise to the occasion. But I know shooting late is also the same as reducing the dose, but I'm not sure by how much. I would like to do TR. I think him being an older cat, he would see better benefit from it than SLGS. But if his BG don't allow the tighter regulation, I will go with SLGS. I'm retired so I can accommodate a rigorous testing protocol and Merlin doesn't care a wit about ear sticks.
 
Not sure why, but I was not seeing any posts in my previous thread after the 3rd one until today. I did not have alerts.

To answer a question in a previous post I didn't see until now: Since Merlin responded very well and quickly when he went to 36 (no clinical signs) and I fed him small doses of FF gravy food, I feel ok shooting in the 50's if he is rising. I presume a full dose? I have a feeling his optimum dose is around 1.5, but he needs time to stabilize and show which way to take any dose adjustment.

I would like to stay with this dose today and not vary it unless I have to. I need more cycles at this dose for info and let him have time on it. I will test in 30 minutes and see where he is. If he is still rising (his last BG was 63 and rising), I want to give him his full regular dose. Does that seem OK?
 
Merlin's 2 hour delayed PMPS is now 72. It has been rising slowly for the last couple of hours. I plan on giving him his regular dose (1.5u) and watching closely. Any comments?
 
I would reduce his dose by 0.25 units. You said you are following SLGS which reduces when you get a below 90 number. Plus you had a couple previous reduced shots recently, so the 1.5 unit dose hasn’t even built up yet. 1.5 units is too much insulin. With SLGS, you either skip or delay until he goes above 90.
 
I wanted to push TR, but maybe he needs to get more stable before doing that.
I just did his PS for the shot in 2 minutes and it was 77 He only went up 5 points in an hour.
I will reduce the dose by 0.25 and then monitor closely.
 
Doing TR means an all low carb wet or raw diet, plus getting at least two tests per cycle, the preshot plus one other. You do test enough.

Your shot tomorrow AM will be 12 hours after this one. You can move the shot time back by 15 minutes a cycle, or 1/2 hour once a day.
 
Merlin has always been 100% wet low carb food.

Rigorous testing is not a problem. I would be doing it anyway even with SLGS as I want the data to better understand his responses and variability. At least I don't have any other medical issues that could be issues. So his responses should be true Merlin and not influenced by infections etc.
I will keep the current new schedule and establish 1.25 as his new dose and hold it until I know where to go next. I am going to keep pushing 100ml subq fluids once a day until I'm sure he is drinking enough on his own. I'm thinking I can probably stop by Friday as he seems to be responding well.I will keep posting updates on his spreadsheet.

Thanks very much for your helping me. I've decided my vet is not much help.
I watched your video. It was a wonderful tribute to a sweet loving companion.
 
Back
Top