? 04/10 Cleo AMPS=202 +6=46 +6.3=57 +6.6=78 +7=87 +11=171 PMPS=221 +1=292 +5=82 +9=57put C. in danger

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Last condo

04/09 Recap
AMPS=445
+6=434
PMPS=322
+2=315
+4=476

04/08 Recap
AMPS=298
+6=106
+7=60
+10=222
AMPS=385
+4=412

Yesterday was a bouncing day, so today, when I saw that amps was 202, put in the feeder some lc food with higher carbs (5.6%).
When dh went home (+6) she was under 50 (46) so I told him to give a drop of honey and test again. He tested every 20 minutes and gave her some food before to leave. He actually gave her too much food and naturally she ate all, but more is better than less.

At PM shot I hurted her, so I extracted the syringe and put it in again. Maybe some insulin got lost.
This evening I have to go out, but I probably will be at home before +6. Do you think I have to leave her some higher carbs food? I have to reduce the dose as she went under 50?

Have a very good afternoon and evening!!! :D:D:D:D:D
 
Yes. She earned a reduction. Congrats! I would see where she is before you leave. If I think Max might drop too much while I am out I give him some mc before I leave and depending on whether he eats it leave out a little more. Have fun!
 
Well done by DH on handling that low number! I'm glad he was able to be home then. Good luck with the reduction.

I'd get a test before you go out, and if it looks like she might not be bouncing, I'd leave extra food as Elise suggests.
 
I'm back home. Now it is +6 and she has 82. I gave her normal dose because I did it before your answer without thinking :banghead:. Is it so bad?
Sometimes I'm such a bad mama bean, I have only four strips until tomorrow:banghead::(. When am I supposed to test again? In one hour or can I wait more?
 
One hour should be OK. She earned a reduction today, you can always carb her up to abort the cycle.
 
Looking at your spreadsheet, Delia. Is this PM+6 with the 82, not yet entered on her spreadsheet? I'd say you could wait an hour. Usually in the 80's that works. 82 is a fine number, but it's hard to tell, though, 'cuz we don't know if that 82 is a rising or a dropping number or a surf. And I can't tell by your spreadsheet how her evening patterns go.

Four strips. I guess I'd wait an hour. She will probably bounce or at least begin rising naturally. But we don't know.

Wish I were more experienced and could offer more definitive advice.

Interesting how we wish for low numbers and then when we get them, :nailbiting:.

If you're really worried, put some sort of note in your subject line to gather more focused eyes than mine!

Oh, and Delia. Never a bad mamma bean. Never!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Thanks Wendy and Marilyn.
Yes, I'm a bad mamma bean! I fell asleep while setting the alarm. I don't know how it was possible. I woke up 3 hours later at +9 and she was 57. Sure she went low from 82. I put my little Cleo in danger. how could I? Now she is making biscuits on my belly. I gave her some drops of honey to bring her a little up.

If she has gone low, which can this cause? Which consequences could have my irresponsibility? Is she risking something else even now that she is over 50?

If you want to tell me that I am a very bad person, I deserve it. I can't believe I put at risk Cleo's life. There is something I have to check to be sure I didn't hurt her?
 
Last edited:
No way you are a bad momma! :bighug:If she is making biscuits on your belly she is feeling fine. Normal cat range includes the 40's and we've seen some OTJ cats go to the high 30's. We don't like cats on insulin to hang around there, because there is no room to go down. This document lists the hypo symptoms. Do you see any of those? Cleo could very well have been surfing. Next time you see her in the 50's late in the cycle, you are probably OK with just feeding her low carb food. The insulin should be starting to wear off by then and doesn't need higher carbs.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug: These things happen to everyone, no point beating yourself up about it, everything turned out ok :) but Delia please don't let yourself get so low on strips again. Very important to keep plenty on hand.

And I think you are a great mamma bean look how worried you are, Cleo is very well loved :)
 
Hi Delia, your post caught my eye and I just wanted to reply. Please don't say you are a bad mamma bean, if you were, you wouldn't be on this forum in the first place.
You are here because you love her and want to do the very best for Cleo, and you are. Hang in there, you are doing great.
 
You're human. You needed sleep. It happens. Forgive yourself, please.
Your description sounds like she is OK.
 
Delia, please don't feel bad. It sounds as though Cleo is just fine and, please believe me, so many of us have done the same thing. I did it myself just a few days ago - I got as far as setting the alarm but then slept right through it! As Cleo is fine this morning, there's no harm done. Be happy that she's OK and accept that sometimes you're just too tired to keep going - you do have to sleep and the late nights and early mornings this condition dictates are tough on us beans! :bighug:
 
i think everyone here has done that. Or in exhaustion turned off the alarm instead of getting up. Cleo is fine, you're fine too. no worries.

In fact, Cleo is looking awesome. Something has clicked and that little girl has been green for almost 24 hrs! That's fantastic! I'd run out quick and get some test strips right now if you can.

You did fine shooting this morning - she's in normal numbers but you have plenty of experience to handle this. She may just surf along. But i'd still run get the strips now.

:D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top