04/12 - Zokni - PMPS 157 - +1: 171

Zsofi & Zokni

Member Since 2020
Hi,

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-3-171-6-240-pmps-277-2-245-what-next.228187/

Zokni is back in the blues today, so I'll wait a few days to see how to handle his insulin that was decreased from 3U to 1U.
This and the wet food, it's really "magically" helping him with his appetite and litter habits.
I'm not sure how to handle responding to comment's on yesterday's thread (I read the sticky notes and understand one should always start a new thread) + the time difference in Europe, which makes me see them only the following day.
So @Nan & Amber (GA), I really appreciate your advice, and I'll be back with more questions once he is fully eating a wet diet and has many more days of numbers to analyze.
 
Hello and welcome. If you are still feeding some dry food, then you have to use the SLGS dosing method. Could you put "SLGS" in your signature? It'll help us help you so not everyone has to go back and look at previous threads to find that out.

As far as responding to comments in a previous post, first go to that post with the comments, highlight the comment you want to reply to. A little "reply" bubble should show up, click on it. That will create a new post in the old thread, with that comment quoted. Then copy the content from the old thread to today's thread in a new post and comment on that. Since you did a "reply" it contains a quote from the person who posted, and they may get an alert, depending on how their alert preferences are set up.

The blues look pretty good for such a dose reduction. In this time, you are still depleting the old 3 units depot (which can take 4-6 cycles) plus building up the new 1 unit depot. So it's a little hard to say exactly how the 1 unit is doing on it's own. In the mean time, those blues are a good place to be.
 
Hi,
Thanks for the tips on replying to old threads!
Could you put "SLGS" in your signature? .
Yes, done!

I checked his numbers at PMPS he was 157. One hour later he is 171. I know the no shot limit is 200. I don't think I can poke any more today, this last one was a struggle.
Should I do the shot?
 
Sorry no one got back to you in time.

Next time you get numbers like these, you could consider shooting, but it's what you're comfortable with, and not being sure you can monitor tonight is a really good reason to hesitate!

We use 200 as the initial no-shoot number, but the idea is to gradually move that down as you gather more data and get more used to Zokni's patterns. You don't yet have very much data to work with, though, so even though the second test was encouraging and 171 is reasonably high, I don't think I would have encouraged you to shoot on a night when you wouldn't be able to do much monitoring.

It would be good to get at least one more test tonight, if Zokni will let you (maybe after a little break!). At least he's enjoying the food switch!
 
On this forum, we use 150 as the "stop, don't feed, and post for help" number. At that time, change the subject on your first post to say something like "help - do I shoot" and change the prefix to a "?". Whether you shoot depends on your comfort level, meaning what data you have so far on shooting lower numbers, your ability to monitor for several hours, and ability to control the numbers with high carb food and plenty of test strips. Other options are to delay without feeding until he gets to a number you feel comfortable shooting, and shooting a smaller dose. Eventually, once you have the experience and data to do so, you can shoot lower numbers.
 
Back
Top