05/08/2020 Salem Amps 191

Tina and Salem

Member Since 2019
Good Morning !
Salems a little high this morning . I reduce just a few drops when he was increased to 3 units after hitting those 40s . Maybe I reduced too much . Seems like when he was between dosages before with 1.75-2 units . He’s doing the same with 2.75 units and 3 units . 195 . He does great during the day but he must be eating too much . Its hard to try to reduce his food . He looks at me like I’m crazy when I do that or we skip a snack or two . I been feeding the other cats dry food in my daughters old room since she gotten married . I can use that room for feedings . Seems Jojo may have a urinary tract infection . I hope no blockage . There is stuff in the stores for that at walmart . Is that good for cats UTIs ? He keep sitting in the litter box and when he’s out a see a tiny trickle of pee . Any experience with utis fie cats ? I hope it’s no blockage . Maybe the dry food is no good for him ? But he wasn’t wanting the canned food anymore . I noticed him not wanting to eat lately . Any suggestions . Besides the vet . I know vinegar is a natural antibiotic . But if you put it in their drinking water they smell it and won’t drink it but I know I can rub in his fur it’s good for fleas but he has no fleas but it will work to get him to lick it and that way he can get the vinegar inside for the uti . I know I drink it . It helps my utis ?

Have a blessed day ! Prayers for everyone !
 
Last edited:
I hope Salem slides back down. You can buy D-Mannose for a UTI. I buy capsules and break them up or you can buy it as a loose power and add 1/4 tsp in food a couple times a day. Sending prayers for Jojo.
 
Oh yeah you mentioned that for humans too . Thanks so cats can use too ? That’s great . I went running all day trying to find him something . No luck being poor is terrible . I wish I could just take him to the vets office . I saw this new thing it’s called Uva Ursi Leaf It’s also for humans and can be used on cats too . It says it can control bleeding pain and inflammation too . Two great things to help humans UTI’s and cats ! On amazon they had some for cats but it was $43 plus tax and shipping . This was only $7.26 at Walmart.com but it says it’s not coming til May 20 ! That’s awhile for Jojo I know how he feels it’s no fun . Thanks ! I guess I just keep giving him vinegar til it comes . Do you have to order that stuff you are talking about online too ? Or is it available in stores ? It’s getting harder to order online now and it’s taking twice as long now . I just hope he has no blockage . That can be dangerous . My daughter laughs at me says mana how you know Jojos got a uti ? Did he tell you ? Lol . I told her you learn to watch these cats since they can not talk to you . I have seen him try to go several times a day just sitting there he’s going number 2 just he sits there and he’s trying to go but you see hardly any pee . Yes jessica Jojo told me I hurt I can’t go pee pee mama ! Lol .
I read you can express a cats bladder so they can go pee pee . It’s between the rib and hip that you can press to help them pee but you gotta know what you are doing ! I’m feeling bad again too . I feel like I got one too .and my blood pressure is still kinda weird and I got these allergies that won’t go away . Or a cold .
 
Last edited:
I just hope he has no blockage. I have seen him try to go several times a day just sitting there he’s going number 2 just he sits there and he’s trying to go but you see hardly any pee.

If he's straining and not getting out very much pee, that's very serious. Please watch him closely this weekend.

I hope you feel better, too. Is your blood pressure still low?

I'm going to try to tag a couple of people, they have more experience than me -
@Marje and Gracie
@Bron and Sheba
 
Is JoJo actually doing any pee at all when he squats. Can you see any come out?.
How long has he been like this?
Is he drinking water?
How long have you had him on fry food.? Is it only recently?
 
If he's straining and not getting out very much pee, that's very serious. Please watch him closely this weekend.

I hope you feel better, too. Is your blood pressure still low?

I'm going to try to tag a couple of people, they have more experience than me -
@Marje and Gracie
@Bron and Sheba
Thanks I was able to get him some vinegar into his hc food and a little gabapentin I scrapped off I had from my meds . He’s feeling better this morning . And he’s got more urine coming out diffentlty. Yes he had just started eating some dry food the beginning of the week then I noticed him always in the litter box this last two days since late Wednesday when he kept coming back to the litter box . I watched him when he got up he had urine coming out but little at first but now he’s peeing more this morning . We expressed his bladder . We got some pee out for him . We watched a video on you tube about expressing the bladder . It worked ! I had read about expressing the bladder before and we tried it last night late . He’s not meowing anymore only his normal meowing . When he’s talking to you lol . He’s my starving kitty I brought home from work . He’s a character . He’s full of energy and he’s never been sick so i new something wasn’t right the way he was acting the last couple of days . So I think we got it early . He wasn’t straining but he would sit there for about 40-50 seconds . I ordered some herbs for cats that helps bleeding, inflammation and is suppose to be very good . HomeoPet . But I’m diffently keeping a close eye on him . But he’s much better this morning .

my blood pressure is a little higher thanks ! I felt bad yesterday but much better this morning too ! It stayed low for two days but it’s coming up . I have some antibiotics for humans will that help Jojo ? I know vinegar works as a natural antibiotic I have these utis myself a lot . And I have used vinegar on bella My other cat for a skin condition it worked .
 
Last edited:
I would be careful about how much Gabapentin you give. We lost a kitty here a couple of nights ago from too much Gabapentin.

It sounds more like idiopathic Cystitis to me more than a UTI or blockage.
Also swapping over to dry food may be playing a part. I’m not sure why you swapped to the dry food but I would be swapping to wet food. Dry food is very bad for cats. It has only 7%moisture compared to 87% moisture in canned food and cats need lots of moisture, especially ones with bladder or kidney issues.
Here is a link to feline idiopathic cystitis or FLUTD
http://www.pethealthnetwork.com/cat...conditions-a-z/feline-idiopathic-cystitis-fic
 
Oh yes I scrapped very little of the gabapentin into the food . I used a knife and scrapped into his canned food about four little scraps of it into the food only enough to dust his food in a tiny spot Jojo always eats canned food since Salems been diabetic . I learned like you said dry food is bad especially for older cats but he wasn’t eating very much Of it . He only ate very little because I noticed he wasn’t eating very much so I had some left from last year and gave him some . two days of dry very little but enough to start this up . He’s wee wee is red and he’s licking himself . He’s exposed himself since yesterday . Thanks
 
Last edited:
It does sound just like it ! Thanks for that link . I certainly cleaning always the litter boxes I cnt stand a dirty litter box but I did take away one litter box because of issues of providing enough litter for Three boxes . I do the same thing when I have the uti except lick myself lol :kiss::kiss::kiss: but I do go constantly peeing very little ! Like Jojo is doing ! Its so painful and your bladder feels full all the time ! I can’t wait til this stuff comes . I’m diffentky not letting him eat the dry food again . I guess I need different flavors of the can food . I have three flavors but I think they are tired of those three flavors . I buy the meaty pate 9 lives for them all . I wonder if I can give him those pills I take that make you pee orange . It certainly reliefs the pain . And the feeling of having to go all the time . But if I dnt hear the advise of a vet say I can I’m not giving him any of those .
 
I agree with Bron that I would not give the gabapentin. I would also not give vinegar.

Having had a kitty with sterile interstitial cystitis, this does sound like it. It usually goes away within a week even if untreated but D-Mannose, as Carla suggested, is helpful. You absolutely want to be sure that he is peeing when he squats even if it is only a small amount. If he doesn’t, then he needs to see a vet. Blockages are more common in male cats than female and can be life threatening quickly. I’d also ditch the dry. He needs food with lots of liquid so I’d give him canned and add some water to it.
 
He is urinating . He only had dry a few times . Very little . He Wouldn’t eat he’s usual canned food at all . Won’t eat nothing else . So anything was better than nothing . May have started before dry food but think it didn’t help none . Also he loves treats . Think treats may not h ave helped any also . He likes the catnip I think in the treats . Lol . He’s doing much better . Watching him closely . He was peeing but very little in the beginning . He’s peeing more now . He was Sleeping a lot today but also drinking a lot of water . A good thing to help flush the bacteria out . I keep a clean litter box so that wasn’t any problem . I hate a stinky litter box . Lol .. with as strong as their urine is its a wondering they dnt have more . This is the first time I have ever seen him have anything. He’s a very friendly lovable kitty baby ...salems buddy . :cat: They fight sometimes but usually starts off playing then fighting lol . They watch out for each other . When ones sick the other worries . He can be very mischievous Sometimes too !
He loves to jump Up In your arms . All you gotta do is pat your chest he jumps straight up to you ! Its hard to believe he was a starving kitty I found at work .

Thanks !

296310BD-5E82-4872-855F-403295B42DA3.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 296310BD-5E82-4872-855F-403295B42DA3.jpeg
    296310BD-5E82-4872-855F-403295B42DA3.jpeg
    50.1 KB · Views: 62
Last edited:
Back
Top