05/15 Boomer AMPS 128 +3 79 +6 76 PMBG 68 +3 74, wildlife picture

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 128 shooting 1.5u (in prep for being away tomorrow).

Boomer left about half of his +6 fuds but ate everything else. He snuggled with me a couple of times last night.

Allen ate well overnight.

Yesterday DH and I went to a store called "Wild Birds Unlimited". I figured that they could help me figure out how to keep the squirrels out of my feeder. They have squirrel-proof feeders and cages that cover the feeders which will allow small birds in but not squirrels or large birds. But the easiest solution seemed to be the seed....apparently squirrels don't like safflower seed. So we're trying this out!

Today's wildlife photo is of a Black Throated Green Warbler found at Point Pelee last week. This bird was another "first" for DH and I. I've had a lot of "firsts" this year so far including two just yesterday at one of our local parks!
 

Attachments

  • Black-Throated Green Warbler.jpg
    Black-Throated Green Warbler.jpg
    163.5 KB · Views: 70
Nice start for Boomer and nice on the snuggles. Glad Allen ate well. It will be interesting to see if the different seed keeps the squirrels away. Beautiful picture.
 
The instructions from "Wild Birds Unlimited" was to feed half new seed and half old seed for a day or two so that the birds got used to the new seed. So I filled the feeder half and half yesterday. DH told me the squirrel was hanging on the feeder this morning. When I went out I could see the squirrel had discarded the safflower seed and had only eaten the other one.
 
Good news on the food front for the boys.

Love the bird pictures! I wonder if the birds know something we don't, we have discovered a few new birds to our feeders at work, some we can't identify either.
 
Good news on the food front for the boys.

Love the bird pictures! I wonder if the birds know something we don't, we have discovered a few new birds to our feeders at work, some we can't identify either.
Right now they're migrating through this area heading north. I'm not sure how many of these "new" birds are here all season or whether they're just visiting.
 
Following your adventure with the squirrels with interest, Judy :) Changing up the seed is how we got rid of pesky cowbirds here . Will keep the safflower in mind :)
 
Following your adventure with the squirrels with interest, Judy :) Changing up the seed is how we got rid of pesky cowbirds here . Will keep the safflower in mind :)
I have a couple of cowbirds hanging around too. Luckily the starlings haven't shown up yet; they will empty my feeder in 30 minutes!
 
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 128 shooting 1.5u (in prep for being away tomorrow).

Boomer left about half of his +6 fuds but ate everything else. He snuggled with me a couple of times last night.

Allen ate well overnight.

Yesterday DH and I went to a store called "Wild Birds Unlimited". I figured that they could help me figure out how to keep the squirrels out of my feeder. They have squirrel-proof feeders and cages that cover the feeders which will allow small birds in but not squirrels or large birds. But the easiest solution seemed to be the seed....apparently squirrels don't like safflower seed. So we're trying this out!

Today's wildlife photo is of a Black Throated Green Warbler found at Point Pelee last week. This bird was another "first" for DH and I. I've had a lot of "firsts" this year so far including two just yesterday at one of our local parks!
Beautiful bird, hope the safflower seeds work.
 
Oh geez Boomer PMBG 68 no shot. The dose had been left at the reduced amount of 1.5 so that Beans could go away tomorrow. And look what he does. MAN. So no shot given tonight so that the depot can drain.
 
Sorry, why no shot? Might have been better just to skip tomorrow morning instead.

Squirrels here are onto the "squirrel proof" feeders. :mad: They have their tricks. Maybe the seed is the ticket.
 
Squirrels here are onto the "squirrel proof" feeders. :mad: They have their tricks. Maybe the seed is the ticket.
Yes I've tried two different squirrel-proof feeders. They managed to figure them out. So far the birds aren't eating the seed either though I was assured that most birds love it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top