05/21 Kitten AMPS 409; +9.5 329; PMPS 263; +1.5 306; +3.5 328; +5 319

KittenTheCat

Member Since 2020
I haven't been able to find the time to post daily but here’s my previous post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...94-5-436-8-405-pmps-360-3-361-6-5-292.229493/

Trying to do TR and had increased Kittens lantus to 2.00 on 05/19. How long should I hold this? It says 3 cycles minimum, her #s aren’t good but I wonder if Kitten experienced a “bounce” 05/20 so her BG may start coming down? How can you tell if a cat is in a bounce or just still experiencing high numbers?

I am feeding kitten snacks at +2.5 and +6.5 in AM/PM. I know people say feeding times depends on the cat but I can’t tell if these are doing her any favours in regards to BG#s.

Any suggestions or advice would be much appreciated!
 
I think Kitten needs an increase in dose. The TR protocol says to increase the dose by 0.25 units after 6 consecutive cycles if the nadirs are greater than 200 but less than 300. You have nadirs in the 200s in 4 of the last 6 cycles.
With the feeding during the cycle, I would try feeding the second snack you are giving at +6.5 a bit earlier. Say at +5 as it is better to feed during the first half of the cycle when the insulin is strongest. Feeding in the second half of the cycle can shorten the duration of the insulin. See if that help at all along with the increase in dose.
Just need to confirm you have SLGS in your signature and TR in the SS.
Which is correct? Can you change either the SS or the signature to the correct method please. Thanks!
If you are doing SLGS you can’t increase yet.
 
I think Kitten needs an increase in dose. The TR protocol says to increase the dose by 0.25 units after 6 consecutive cycles if the nadirs are greater than 200 but less than 300. You have nadirs in the 200s in 4 of the last 6 cycles.
With the feeding during the cycle, I would try feeding the second snack you are giving at +6.5 a bit earlier. Say at +5 as it is better to feed during the first half of the cycle when the insulin is strongest. Feeding in the second half of the cycle can shorten the duration of the insulin. See if that help at all along with the increase in dose.
Just need to confirm you have SLGS in your signature and TR in the SS.
Which is correct? Can you change either the SS or the signature to the correct method please. Thanks!
If you are doing SLGS you can’t increase yet.
Thank you. I switched her snack to 5+ and I have corrected my signature. I increased this AM to 2.25
05/22 AMPS 437; +6.5 356 - couldn’t get a +3 reading as work at home has been crazy. Was in 3.5 hrs of meetings this morning
 
Thank you. I switched her snack to 5+ and I have corrected my signature. I increased this AM to 2.25
05/22 AMPS 437; +6.5 356 - couldn’t get a +3 reading as work at home has been crazy. Was in 3.5 hrs of meetings this morning
Fingers crossed the dose increase reduces the BG. It takes a few cycles for the depot to fill and you see the full effect of the increase.
 
Back
Top