RochellenTiggs
Member Since 2017
Hello please advise this morning he is 182 pre shot was told not to shot or feed and post for advice
Last edited:
If you are able to run a curve, which NEEDS to be done, then I'd suggest shooting .5
BUT, please wait another few minutes. I'm NOT the one to be giving dosing advice. Please add "Dosing advice please" in your title (I have to leave you here to get ready for work)
I had someone comment on last nights post following up into this am we did shoot at 8 am it's 8:57 now and I will monitor and do a +2 BG and a +4 and a + 6 to monitor him and insulin and what it's doingIf you stay home and monitor you can shoot now. I think we are in different time zones and I'm not sure what time it was your time when you last posted.
Excellent! Great shooting, Rochelle!!!!!!View attachment 28685View attachment 28685
Let's see where he is at +2. We might need to do a +3 if he's dropping quickly. That's a very good AMPS for having skipped a shot.
Now would be a good time to change the subject line to:
5/31 Jelly Belly AMPS xxxxx
The xxxx is the number you actually shot. If I understand your first post, the 182 was actually his +11 that you took at 7 a.m. You should have tested again right before you shot at 8 which would have been his AMPS.
He also ate a bit so that's done and will test at +4 and +6 so I think I am following tried to update spreadsheet and title properly let me know I did it right ?Good so far!
SS looks fine. If you want to streamline your thread title you can remove "@8 am" and ".75 unit". We're in many different time zones so we gauge time strictly as hours after a dose (the way you wrote "+2 324")) and we see the dose on the SS when we view it. When we scan the thread titles we're looking at the BG numbers to see how they look and whether someone's heading for trouble because the numbers are low.He also ate a bit so that's done and will test at +4 and +6 so I think I am following tried to update spreadsheet and title properly let me know I did it right ?
Ok awesome I am following I feel and more confident today with the instructions and + testsSS looks fine. If you want to streamline your thread title you can remove "@8 am" and ".75 unit". We're in many different time zones so we gauge time strictly as hours after a dose (the way you wrote "+2 324")) and we see the dose on the SS when we view it. When we scan the thread titles we're looking at the BG numbers to see how they look and whether someone's heading for trouble because the numbers are low.
That's great! I promise - this DOES get easier!Ok awesome I am following I feel and more confident today with the instructions and + tests

Ok I hope so I appreciate all the advice and help and people watching out for us or I would be giving up it's been a tough game to get through but with support and understanding I am getting there.That great! I promise - this DOES get easier!![]()
Ok I hope so I appreciate all the advice and help and people watching out for us or I would be giving up it's been a tough game to get through but with support and understanding I am getting there.

.4Great photo! He looks so sweeet and he's so lucky to have you.
Good job on the subject line, too! Looks like he decided to head up quickly. It makes me wonder if the 182 was perhaps a bad test which can and does happen to everyone. Sometimes it's a bad strip, sometimes it's not enough blood.
If you ever get a number that just doesn't seem to "fit" or you get a really low number, then retest.
You are doing great and I'm glad you are feeling a bit more confident!
BTW, If he's still high yellow or pink at +4, why don't you give him a break. If you feel you want more data, you can test him at +7 but if he's still up at +4, you could even wait until +10. Then you won't need a +11....just the PMPS. Sound good and make sense?
I know his ears were a little sore so it's ok to give him a break if he's still up there in BG.
He's 15.3 or 274 at +4 so what's the next thing still kris schedule ?
I am at yellow 274 and was planning a +6 and then wasn't sure what afternoon and evening would be and when I should fed next if I am taking food away at 6 for pmbg and then potentially a .74 unit I wanna get good data so we can have a plan of attack for feeding and dosing and before I start school![]()
Thanks I love this little snuggle butt and I wanna help him truly I do just a slow learner
Here is the schedule Kris made which I have updated:He's 15.3 or 274 at +4 so what's the next thing still kris schedule ?
- feed breakfast - DONE!
- 0.75u of insulin - DONE!
- give a bit more food if he'll eat then take it away - DONE
- wait until +2 to test but don't give any food - DONE
- post +2 and update SS - DONE
- give another snack if he'll eat then take food away - DONE
- wait until +4 to test again but don't give any food - DONE
- post +4 and update SS - DONE
- give another snack and then remove food - not done yet
Yes I can do that and check back with you all then thanks for me and Jelly we appreciate it so muchHere is the schedule Kris made which I have updated:
So, yes...go ahead and follow her schedule and feed a LC snack. Let's test at +7 ok?
I think Kris's schedule idea (@Kris & Teasel) works really well for you and was a good suggestion. So let's continue it and start a new one for this afternoon through PMPS.Yes I can do that and check back with you all then thanks for me and Jelly we appreciate it so much
I left the house to do shopping because you told me give ear break and test +7 sorryI think Kris's schedule idea (@Kris & Teasel) works really well for you and was a good suggestion. So let's continue it and start a new one for this afternoon through PMPS.
1. Test at +4, post to SS and condo, feed snack/pick up food....DONE
2. Test at +7, post to SS and condo...not done
3. Test at +10, post to SS and condo. Make sure all food is picked up....not done
4. Test 15 minutes before PMPS so you can post for help if he is below 11. DON'T FEED if he's below 150 until you get advice. If he is above 150, feed and shoot 0.75u...not done.
How does that schedule look for you?
You're fine and no need to apologize...you got the +4 and +7 is still plenty of time away. You are on target!!!I left the house to do shopping because you told me give ear break and test +7 sorry
I had to run out to pick up my kids but I'm on the way back should I test when I get homeWell that little stinker! We gave him a bit too much latitude, didn’t we? He’s still at a safe number.
Why don’t you feed him two tsp of LC food and retest in 30 minutes? you can even give him one temptation.
Let's not worry about dose for tonight right this minute. There's still a lot of cycle left.
I'm home and it's +10 should I test it or too late and dosing advice tonight ?I had to run out to pick up my kids but I'm on the way back should I test when I get home
No - a test right now is good info to see where he's heading. If you can do one ASAP and post right away that would be great.I'm home and it's +10 should I test it or too late and dosing advice tonight ?
just tested updated spread sheet 128 currentlyNo - a test right now is good info to see where he's heading. If you can do one ASAP and post right away that would be great.
what are my next steps?just tested updated spread sheet 128 currently
Nice number but we want him high enough in 2 hours for you to be able to give him insulin. Give him about a tablespoon of high carb food that has gravy in it. Test again at +11.just tested updated spread sheet 128 currently
Ok i'm not supposed to take food away for two hours before the next test but rather give food this timeNice number but we want him high enough in 2 hours for you to be able to give him insulin. Give him about a tablespoon of high carb food that has gravy in it. Test again at +11.
If you give this high carb snack now and he eats it all right away, it'll be 2 hours until his shot time. Also, this is a bit of a special situation so it's OK to bend the rule as we're doing. The goal is to steer his BG to a point where it will be high enough so you don't have to skip a dose tonight.Ok i'm not supposed to take food away for two hours before the next test but rather give food this time
Ok updated spreadsheet and feed some gravy food will test at 6 which will be +10 because he was given shoot at 8 and the first test was 6:55 and he was too low to shot so unsure how to make that change in sheetNice number but we want him high enough in 2 hours for you to be able to give him insulin. Give him about a tablespoon of high carb food that has gravy in it. Test again at +11.
Yes I am great with this and want a plan and dosing schedule working for my school schedule but more important I want to keep Jelly safeIf you give this high carb snack now and he eats it all right away, it'll be 2 hours until his shot time. Also, this is a bit of a special situation so it's OK to bend the rule as we're doing. The goal is to steer his BG to a point where it will be high enough so you don't have to skip a dose tonight.
You won't be doing this all the time. The plan is to get a routine in place that allows you to leave for school on June 5th and not have to worry about JB. Are you OK with this?
OK so the +11 is 148 i feel like what do i do? dont wanna pj partyIf you give this high carb snack now and he eats it all right away, it'll be 2 hours until his shot time. Also, this is a bit of a special situation so it's OK to bend the rule as we're doing. The goal is to steer his BG to a point where it will be high enough so you don't have to skip a dose tonight.
You won't be doing this all the time. The plan is to get a routine in place that allows you to leave for school on June 5th and not have to worry about JB. Are you OK with this?
I'm not sure what the thinking is behind giving one tablespoon of hc snack when jelly is 128 at +10,Nice number but we want him high enough in 2 hours for you to be able to give him insulin. Give him about a tablespoon of high carb food that has gravy in it. Test again at +11.
He's heading up and will likely be higher by preshot. Try not to worry.OK so the +11 is 148 i feel like what do i do? dont wanna pj party![]()
well should i fed more?I'm not sure what the thinking is behind giving one tablespoon of hc snack when jelly is 128 at +10,
He was 77@+7 so that tells us that his BG was coming up on its own. Remember that we are getting to the end of the cycle theres less insulin around so if you are going to steer, a LC snack (1teaspoonmor 2) will likely do the trick, though in this particular case I probably wouldn't have bothered steering as his BG was heading up anyway.
He's heading up and will likely be higher by preshot. Try not to worry.
No I wouldn't at this stage.well should i fed more?
OK. He's doing something we call surfing and it's a good thing. You have one more hour until his preshot test. Leave him alone until then, test at that time and post here. We might tell you to stall if the number is lower than you're comfortable with.OK so the +11 is 148 i feel like what do i do? dont wanna pj party![]()
@Gill & George : Marje and I have been working on a plan to get him high enough for Rochelle to shoot. Even though a blue is not the least bit scary to experienced folks, she has no experience dosing below 200. Yes, it's not the standard thing to do but we're trying to get things sorted before Rochelle has to start school on June 5th and will be away all day. Doesn't make sense unless you know the back story.I'm not sure what the thinking is behind giving one tablespoon of hc snack when jelly is 128 at +10,
He was 77@+7 so that tells us that his BG was coming up on its own. Remember that we are getting to the end of the cycle theres less insulin around so if you are going to steer, a LC snack (1teaspoonmor 2) will likely do the trick, though in this particular case I probably wouldn't have bothered steering as his BG was heading up anyway.
He's heading up and will likely be higher by preshot. Try not to worry.
ok Kris should i fed more or what is the idea now? 45 minutes till supposed to be shot time>?OK. He's doing something we call surfing and it's a good thing. You have one more hour until his preshot test.
@Gill & George : Marje and I have been working on a plan to get him high enough for Rochelle to shoot. Even though a blue is not the least bit scary to experienced folks, she has no experience dosing below 200. Yes, it's not the standard thing to do but we're trying to get things sorted before Rochelle has to start school on June 5th and will be away all day. Doesn't make sense unless you know the back story.![]()
This is confusing me? was i not supposed to be feeding snacks??? if i dont he drops way to lowJust to expand o. The above comment.
He's not at a dangerous number, he's heading up, and it'll be less confusing if the ps you get is not food influenced.
I'm afraid I won't be around for that, 2am here so I'm hitting the sack.
ok Kris should i fed more or what is the idea now? 45 minutes till supposed to be shot time>?