06/05/18 Squallie dental consult results No AMPS, +3.30/129, PMPS 107, +2/97, +5/72

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Squalliesmom, Jun 5, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    No AMPS today, we had to leave at the crack of dawn to get to the dentist's office so he got no insulin this AM. I tested him when we got home and he was at 129 @+3.30, not really that bad considering he was under a lot of stress and spent too much time in the car. Even with the AC going full blast, he started to pant badly and his sides were heaving; he scares me when he does that! He is extremely sensitive to heat.

    Okay, dental report. I liked this dentist better than the last one we had a consult with. He sees no problem with Squallie's age being a factor, says most of his patients are senior cats and he has protocols just for them. He would like me to have an echo done before the dental, but left it up to me (even tho' it's and extra $550, I would want it done). He couldn't hear Squallie's heart murmur today, but that's not uncommon for Squall. He'll need to have all his teeth except his little tiny front ones removed, about 2 - 2 1/2 hours in surgery. Poor baby, I got a really good look inside his mouth while he was there - so much angry-looking redness! I am amazed he still eats at all.

    So that's the good news, pretty much. The bad news...$3,500. + for the final bill, not counting the $140 just for the 15 minute consult today! However, I do like this guy and I have a good feeling about him. He is still very young, and I don't think he's gotten to the point where every cat is just a routine job; I think he really sees each cat as an individual and genuinely cares about their well-being. I think he will take good care of my sweet baby boy. I also really liked his nurse and the rest of his staff. So unless I call and cancel, he is scheduled for an echo on the 12th and the dental on the 15th. I am terrified. But my Bear badly needs relief for his poor mouth.
     
  2. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Oh, Lucy, sounds like good vets and good plan . I am terrified with and for you but I’m sure Squallie bear will do fantastic . Going to be praying ahead of time for successful dental and Squallie ( and his momma) to come thru with flying colors :bighug:❤️:bighug:❤️
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  3. Shoeskitty-GA

    Shoeskitty-GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    So glad that you found this vet Lucy!!!
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  4. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    I'm so glad you found a dentist you like! We hear so many bad stories about awful and clueless vets... it's good to hear about the good ones! That is definitely a hefty price tag, but considering the look of Squall's mouth, I think he'll feel so much better after it's done. Just out of curiosity, is there any concern about the removal of almost all of his teeth? Or would it not matter as long as he eats wet food? I'm not super familiar with kitty dental issues and I have a picture of a kitty with dentures in my head, haha. :cat: I'll be thinking about you two next week!! :bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  5. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Beth! :bighug:❤️:bighug:
     
  6. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I am too, Sandi, I really feel good about this guy - good enough to trust him with my sweet Squallie. :bighug:❤️:bighug:
     
    Shoeskitty-GA likes this.
  7. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm glad the consult went well and the vet thinks it will help Squallie. Sending prayers all goes well and calming prayers for you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  8. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I like the image of kitty dentures, lol! Oddly, cats seem to do very well without teeth. There's no real concern for removing them all, except to get all the roots out and get it done as quickly as possible! And he already eats super-mushy senior food, so that won't be a problem. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  9. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thank you, Carla, especially for the calming prayers for me - I'm a wreck, worrying about making this decision. But I have to try to get him some relief, I can't let him go on with his mouth so sore, it just breaks my heart. I know it hurts him, but he's so good about it, he doesn't really fuss. I don't want to lose him to something so treatable as FORLS, even if it breaks the bank doing it. :bighug:❤️:bighug:
     
    Shoeskitty-GA likes this.
  10. Beenie (GA)

    Beenie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    :bighug:So glad you found a vet you’re comfortable with. It’s so important.
    My civvie Ming needs another dental and had one less than a year ago. I knew it but IM confirmed this week at a follow up. Suggested a board certified dentist and I actually found one in CT. There is one at AMC in NYC but travel wise it’ll run the same amount of time in the car so I opted for CT and prices will be less to. Do some kitties need dentals so soon?
    I’m sure Squallie will feel tons better after the dental. Hope you feel better now that it’s scheduled. I know any anesthesia is scary for our kitties but they’ll be just fine:bighug::bighug:
    Tons of dental vines for your boy:cat:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  11. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Loads of vines and prayers for a good echo and smooth dental extractions. Glad you are comfortable with the specialist and staff that is important.

    You may have seen my post a few weeks ago about my 15 month old kitten having full mouth extractions for Stomatitis. His recovery was a little rough and longer then most. I think he’s just a sensitive little dude and I’m neurotic so that likely didn’t help lol.

    Lots of :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  12. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Michelle! Glad to know you’ve found a dentist, too. Hope yours is cheaper than mine, lol! They know they’ve got us over a barrel, that’s for sure. But whatever it takes to keep our babies safe and happy, right? Good dental vines for Ming, too! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  13. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Karen! I did indeed see your post, I felt so sorry for your poor little boy, so young to be having so much pain and trouble! I am definitely neurotic when it comes to Squallie’s well-being, so I completely get that part of it! What made your boy’s recovery difficult? Just so I know everything I should be looking out for! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  14. PussCatPrince - GA

    PussCatPrince - GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Evening L.

    Ty had all his gnashers out about 18/24 months ago. He recovered well & was more than able to gum up all sorts of food be it hard , soft , good , bad. It just got a bit ....erms....messy at times for my old gent. ..:oops: . Recovery was fine.

    I will look it up in the next day or so. I have been ----- otherwise.
     
    HWright, Beth 73 and Squalliesmom like this.
  15. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thank you, M. I understand otherwise. Many (((hugs))). :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  16. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Pure speculation here. Being kept for 2 nights, the feeding tube and certainly he doesn't do well on bupe. When the tube came out 6 days later, we stopped the bupe and switched to Onsior which he's done well on in the past, it got better. Most cats do well on Bupe :rolleyes: There's a Feline Stomatitis group on Facebook where FME is common and most cats go home same day or next day and very few had a feeding tube. Most kitties on there go back to eating within a day or so. Leo's doing fine now, eats his raw pretty good and plays more then ever so I know he feels much better.
     
  17. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    That is great to hear Karen.
     
  18. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    I know that feeling...Jones goes in on Friday, for maybe 2 extractions and cleaning. With all his issues I am terrified, that said I think you and I have both done the cost benefit analysis and think overall our boys will be way better health wise when done.

    Early dental vines for you and Squallie.
     
  19. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Sending tons of good dental vines for Jones. I have no doubt that our boys will be better off with clean/no teeth!Dental pain is the worst!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  20. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Early vines sent to you and Squallie.
     
  21. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Paula! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Olive & Paula likes this.
  22. HWright

    HWright Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Dental vines for Squallie’s adventure next week and speedy recovery, too, Lucy! ❤️❤️❤️

    @Tracey&Jones: and dental vines and speedy recovery for Jones, too, for the big day on Friday, too!❤️❤️❤️

    @Beenie (GA): same, too for Ming! ❤️❤️❤️
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page