06/26 Shmee AMPS 136, +5 69, +5.5 64, +6 67, +7 66, PMPS 123, +2 136, +4 144

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Amanda & Shmee, Jun 25, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Previous condo

    Hi everyone,
    Its a little past midnight so I figured I should just start his new thread.
    Yay for his reduction :) Quick question. Just to be sure, reductions are by .25 even after 5 units, correct?

    Thanks for everything :cat:
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2018
    Tracey&Jones (GA) likes this.
  2. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Busy night :D:D:D...Reductions are in .5u increments just as increases are by .5u.
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Good catch tonight. :eek::D I would try a 0.5 unit reduction first. Over time you will learn what works for Shmee. I found I got better mileage with smaller reductions if Neko was just in the 40's. And depending on circumstances. With high dose kitties there can be times you have to be aggressive in the reductions. For example, IAA breaking, an acromegaly treatment like cabergoline or SRT kicking in.
     
  4. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Thanks, I thought it was .5 too until I saw @chrisb3127 did Jags reductions by .25, so I re-read the sticky and it only says reductions by .25. But if you are both saying .5 then I will try 6.5U tomorrow. I really do not want to fail a reduction... I am so nervous!
     
  5. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    +6.25 = 93
    Going to bed :smuggrin:
     
  6. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    AMPS 136
    Shot 6.5U
     
  7. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    I never did like the phrase "failed reduction" it sounds like somehow you made a huge irreversible mistake :rolleyes:. Doses go up and down, and this is just your first reduction. I'm glad Wendy came by, she gave a good explanation. Good luck with the reducie.
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  8. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Oh really? I thought we weren't supposed to be seeing much up and down dosing :blackeye: I guess that is what the term failed reduction meant in my mind. Thanks for that info, I will keep it in the back of my mind for the future. I know now that he might be going up again :(
     
  9. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Well not like every day up and down lol, but over time, like weeks and months, yes.
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  10. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Ok yes I understand, I was just under the impression that they should be increased, then holding, then reductions (with maybe an increase again once in a blue moon). I thought this should be the beginning to great things for him, coming down the dosing ladder. I really hope that is the case.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  11. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    It may very well be, only Shmee knows what he's got planned, you just have to let him lead and see how it goes. I was told a long time ago that this isn't a sprint, it's a marathon, I used to be so disappointed when we got down to lower doses, then we just had to go back up again. I just don't sweat it so much anymore.

    I'm sorry I don't recall... did you ever get any tests for high dose conditions for Shmee?
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  12. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    I actually just got the tests done last Wednesday. So the results should be here by Thursday, hopefully.
    And honestly I am going to try my very best to roll with this but I cannot imagine doing this dance the rest of his life. I NEED remission. Haha.. I know we all do but I am going crazy. I am used to being outside a lot more, being able to go camping, road trips... my boyfriend and I aren't going on our annual anniversary trip anymore because of this (and its our five year..), and most of all I won Disney World tickets so I have a long trip planned for September of next year..... if he isn't in remission by then (knocks on wood) I really do not know what I am going to do. I really hate to complain, there are SO many people on this forum that have it worse than I do and I know that. I love my Shmee and I am grateful for his health so far. Just venting. haha
     
  13. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    :bighug::bighug: I empathize, it takes very special people to do what we do. We all need to vent now and again, with others who understand what we're going through. I've had a few vent sessions myself, especially early on :p. Give it a bit more time, things have a way of working out, you'll get better at reading Shmee's patterns, and finding some balance for yourself. Dealing with FD doesn't have to be all-consuming ;).
     
    Sonia & Leo and Amanda & Shmee like this.
  14. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Shmee was a little drama butt for you last night! I hope he starts leveling out for you soon. :bighug:
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  15. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    I completely feel your pain Amanda. My husband and I would go on a trip every year for our anniversary. We got married last year, and Lou was diagnosed 3 weeks before our wedding. :facepalm: We haven't had our honeymoon yet, and we are just starting to plan other things out of the house. I know that remission is now a pipe dream, and I've accepted that. However, sometimes I feel like I would do anything to get him regulated. Ultimately it just takes time to get used to the whole process and accept that things are different. Even so, I've had plenty of times where I've just broken down wondering if I shouldn't just put him to sleep because he can't be happy like this... And then my sweet boy jumps on the couch and cuddles with me, or gives me one of his patented head bonks, and I know we're doing the right thing. :cat:

    We are right there with you and your BF. Our 1st wedding anniversary (7th as a couple) is on Sunday and we've decided to do a staycation with a day trip to the casino and fun attractions around town instead of a day or two away at a B&B. We have a mini family reunion in August and I'm starting to look into options for a pet sitter or bring him with us so we can go and not worry. We are working up to that honeymoon, one way or another! Also I think we both had our kitties tested for those high dose conditions on the same day, so hopefully we'll both find out by Friday!

    Many hugs! :bighug::bighug:
     
    Sonia & Leo and Amanda & Shmee like this.
  16. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Thank you so much Amanda. Wow three weeks before your wedding!? I can't imagine that stress. It will be nice to go and have fun on your day trip. A much needed break I'm sure! I hope you have a great time :)
     
    Amanda and a Loudogg likes this.
  17. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    +5 69
    He just ate the rest of his +3 meal, testing again in 30 mins.
    Hm maybe I should make him a medium carb mixture to try and get him to surf before he goes to low.. This is him still reacting to the 7U dose correct? If he gets down below 50 I would not take another reduction? I feel like I have seen that back to back reductions are not recommended?
     
  18. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I feel for you on both fronts. Reductions not holding and no trips (but this part doesn't bother me much). Olive was coming down nicely holding the .5 reductions. Now she isn't so doing the .25 reductions and I think we need to start the below 50 three times.

    As far as going away, if you really plan you could take him with you. My hubby doesn't like to travel so we don't go anywhere much. He traveled for 9 yrs to work in NJ. He's done with it. My big trip is to the grocery store that is just a bit further away, when I can go by myself. Take my time, stop for DD iced tea (swear they are the best) and sometimes I splurge and stop at Gertrude Hawks chocolate factory for a candy bar.
     
  19. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    +5 was 11:30am, gave him a MC mixture of 1/2 tsp HC and 1 tsp LC by 11:50am, tested again at 12pm (+5.5).
    +5.5 64
    Testing again in 30 mins to see if the MC mixture starts to kick in.
     
  20. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    It is frustrating that's for sure. My brothers grandparents that own the little motel on the beach we go to for our anniversary actually told us to bring him. Which was a super nice offer, but I cannot imagine doing that. He hates car rides and I would worry about him being back at the room alone all day... he is a scardy cat and clingy, so I would be nervous he would be freaking out in there. I hope Olive comes around with her reductions!
     
  21. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    +6 67, gave him his regular +7 meal of a 1/2 can early, ate 1/4 of it.
    +7 66, was napping and didn't want to eat, so gave MC mixture of 1/2 tsp HC gravy with the other 1/4 can of his LC.
    Testing again in one hour.
    I have to leave after work for about two hours (starting at +9), so I hope he behaves for DH.

    Did I do the right thing by giving him MC mixtures?
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2018
    Christie & Maverick likes this.
  22. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    +2 136, hopefully I will be able to get some sleep tonight.
     
  23. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    I think you did a great job with feeding MC mixtures earlier, that kept Shmee surfing quite nicely. PMPS and +2 are still fairly close, you usually feed at +3? Maybe check one more reading around +4 if you can, then you can assess if more carbs are needed. Nice day :D:cool:
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  24. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Thank you :) Yes he got his last meal at +3, and has eaten about half of that. I was thinking a +4 test too, I am so happy his shot times are earlier in the day now so I can get more tests in before bed. :smuggrin: And setting alarms for +5's and 6's aren't as bad anymore, that used to like 3am before I moved his shot times up to 6am/pm. o_O
     
    Christie & Maverick likes this.
  25. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    This has me worried also since all I seem to be doing lately is no shots and reductions and yet Leo is still in the lowish numbers. Another no shot tonight and I was thinking of another reduction in the morning. Not sure what's going on. This should be good right? Why am I so uneasy?
     
  26. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    +4 144, I think I am going to set an alarm for a +9, just in case he decides to go up and then start coming back down.

    I understand being uneasy, it is nerve-wracking trying to figure out if every move we make is the right one. Leos numbers seem to be doing great so maybe he is just coming down the dosing ladder fast? I am totally new to reductions as well, I am getting anxious just thinking about it.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  27. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Neko used to freak out for the 10 minute trip to the vet. I was terrified to go anywhere with her. But, when we decided to drive to Fort Collins (no choice at that point), we discovered that she complained for the first 1/2-1 hour, then settled down. With the help of Feliway spray in the carrier and Rescue Remedy for pets. Take along a Feliway plug in for the hotel room. And a familar bed, toys and scratch post that smells like home. I bet he just sleeps most of the day. Isn't that what he does at home anyway? :p We've had people with diabetic cats go camping, rent RV's, or do hotel camping. It's all doable with a little preparation. A hotel really feels a lot more like home if you have your cat snuggling on the bed with you. :cat:
    With most cats you see variation in dose. Don't get attached to any one dose. Instead, strive for good blood sugar numbers. Cats without high dose conditions can hit a breakthrough dose that turns it around, but not all. Cat's with high dose conditions have other things at play. Neko's "good dose" or one that gave her nadirs in the 60-70's and most of the time under renal threshold, varied from 8.75 units to 0.5 units to 7.0 units to 0.25 units, over the space of several years. Sometimes she hung onto a good dose for several months.
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page