06/27 Roo: AMPS = 327 // PMPS = 187, +1 = 147, +2 = 98, +3 = 110, +4 = 136

Armish & Roo

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Back in the pinks this am, guess we're looking at a bounce? Giving 0.25U per the SLGS rules.

QQ - I'm a little confused on SLGS - should I have given a dose at all in the PM yesterday, or not? The borderline blues and greens freaked me out a little so I didn't know what to do.
 
I'm a little confused on SLGS
Hi, good morning Armish ;)
I’m not being a jerk... saw no one had responded to you so i will :); you are not being ignored... Id like to suggest you go back and read the sticky on dosing. I think you will find your answer :bighug:.
I am following TR so I can’t answer this for you :eek:.
Truly I am not a jerk, actually a pretty cool person :joyful:
 
Screenshot_20190627-095443_Samsung Internet.jpg
 
Thanks guys.

I think my main point of confusion was it says this: "If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately." So from that I understand why his dose this morning and going forward is 0.25U. But when it says immediately, would that have applied to that PM shot, like given him 0.25U instead of 0.5U after getting that reading, or did I correctly skip the shot? I also see two different no shoot numbers of 150 vs. 90 so that also confused me.

I think through my internal rambling I'm figuring out that not shooting was the correct decision, but I'm also so new to this that I would love a confirmation on that
 
So see if I got it right
At 8 he was 100
At 8:20 he was 104
At 8:30 he was 88 usual shooting time??
If so yes he would have to a no shot because under 90 and reduction at amps because of the under 90 at pmps
 
Just catching up as well - is there a reason that you didn't get another test after that 78 last night? It's quite possible Roo was still going down and if that was the case you would have wanted to know and give him some medium carb or even high carb food in order to avoid a hypo. Please get additional tests after a lower than normal number...just no way to know how far down he was headed...this is a time when you really want to be watchful - many cats get in too deep at times like this and need your help to get them turned around and going back in the other direction. Remember Lantus is a depot drug - and it builds up over time in their system - so even though you didn't give a shot - the Lantus depot may have been full and pushed him down throughout the evening.

Best of luck on getting him back into those lower numbers - I know they can really be frightening at first - but really that's what we're all aiming for... :)
 
He earned a reduction with that number below 90. With Lantus you shoot low to stay low, however with SLGS the low is a little bit higher than TR.

Your options - which one you choose is up to is Roo trending up or down, how well you feel you know your cat, if you have all the necessary supplies in case of a low number event, are able to stay with Roo to monitor and the advice given.

  1. Skip and start with the reduction the next morning.
  2. You could of took the reduction at PMPS - shoot 0.25u and monitor to see where he was headed.
  3. You could of shot .50u knowing that Roo would likely bounce and bounce up quite high. That would of entailed monitoring closely after - +1, +2, +3 - just to see where Roo was going to head. I wouldn't try this until you have been doing this for awhile.
Given that he was clearing a bounce and on a downward way and that you are still new to the FD dance, I think skipping was a great choice and is as the SLGS method is outlined. When I first started I followed SLGS exactly and as advised by the people here. I slowly started shooting lower numbers. I eventually had modified to reductions at 70, due to Jones' prednisolone and consulting with a few people here. Plus we were a year into the game.


Just a note - that 86 at PMPS +2 last night is not updated in your spreadsheet.

Congrats on the reduction! Hope Roo clears this bounce quickly.
 
Last edited:
I think my main point of confusion was it says this: "If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately." So from that I understand why his dose this morning and going forward is 0.25U. But when it says immediately, would that have applied to that PM shot, like given him 0.25U instead of 0.5U after getting that reading, or did I correctly skip the shot? I also see two different no shoot numbers of 150 vs. 90 so that also confused me.
The immediately in the first quote means, the next time you shot. ie. don't hold the old dose (0.5 units), but reduce the next time you shoot. As for the "no shoot" numbers, there are two parts in the SLGS on shooting lower than normal preshots. The first part follows the phrase "until you gather enough data to know how your cat will react" and that's where 150 is the no shoot number. The second part is after the "with experience", and that's where 90 is recommended as the no shoot. If you had wanted to shoot last night, you would have waited until his numbers came up on their own, high enough to shoot. But then your AM shot time would be 12 hours after that and not everyone want to delay their schedule that much. A skip was a good solution. Especially with less than two weeks of Lantus data. You are doing great. :bighug:
 
is there a reason that you didn't get another test after that 78 last night

I got a +2 and it was at 86, I forgot to update it in the spreadsheet!

Just a note - that 86 at PMPS +2 last night is not updated in your spreadsheet.

Thanks for the great advice, and the head's up! I updated it in the spreadsheet :)

A skip was a good solution. Especially with less than two weeks of Lantus data. You are doing great. :bighug:

Thank you so much! Hopefully he can clear the pinks and we can get some nice numbers again.
 
Back in the blue for this PM, and gave second new dose at 0.25U. He had a NASTYYYYYY liquidy poop earlier (took like 5 wet wipes to clean his butt up, he was not pleased o_O) so I added some pumpkin to his dinner.
 
Thanks guys.

I think my main point of confusion was it says this: "If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately." So from that I understand why his dose this morning and going forward is 0.25U. But when it says immediately, would that have applied to that PM shot, like given him 0.25U instead of 0.5U after getting that reading, or did I correctly skip the shot? I also see two different no shoot numbers of 150 vs. 90 so that also confused me.

I think through my internal rambling I'm figuring out that not shooting was the correct decision, but I'm also so new to this that I would love a confirmation on that

I read the SLGS sticky almost daily now that I’ve been seeing more blue. I think it depends on how sure you are about the effect of the insulin. Us SLGS people might be more risk-averse about dosing. I’m terrified of hitting green, but I see other people give insulin when their cat hits green, so who knows.
I have read (and experienced with Jackson) that cats are able to get healthy in yellows and blues, so I’m happy with that range. Other people may have remission as a goal. I don’t entirely know.
 
he should be safe tonight right?
I wouldn’t count on it. That’s a HUGE drop to +2. Give him a couple tsps of low carb and test again in an hour. The +2 test can be an indicator of what the cycle will look like. If the +2 is a lot lower than the preshot, it’s going to be an active cycle that needs more monitoring. A +2 that is about the same as preshot means a typical Lantus cycle with some downward movement. A higher +2 usually means a quiet cycle and good for sleeping. Note that I said “usually”. It works for most but not all cats, didn’t for mine. :rolleyes:
 
He's 110 at about +3, fed some Friskies about 40 mins ago and he's going up a bit. Do you think he's okay now? I can stay up if need be but it's been an exhausting work week so mama is having a bit of a rough night.
 
Back
Top