? 07/01 Martini stuck in a rut? Advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

SMM

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...1-7-9-4-5-13-1-would-appreciate-input.179364/
Happy Canada Day to my fellow Canucks!

We seem to be stuck in a rut. 1.5 units was too high, I was told by the low #'s she was giving me.
Horrid syringes for measuring (the company did send me a box of new ones which are a bit better, but still off the norm). Oddly enough, the day before the company sent them, I bought a new box and they are perfect as in the past.
We get a few days of blues up and down, then a few of yellows up and down. I'm thankful there are not too many pinks.
Do I stay on 1.25? I know I need patience, I'm just afraid I'm not helping her enough. Am I proceeding correctly?

Thank you and prayers for all the kitties.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...1-7-9-4-5-13-1-would-appreciate-input.179364/
Happy Canada Day to my fellow Canucks!

We seem to be stuck in a rut. 1.5 units was too high, I was told by the low #'s she was giving me.
Horrid syringes for measuring (the company did send me a box of new ones which are a bit better, but still off the norm). Oddly enough, the day before the company sent them, I bought a new box and they are perfect as in the past.
We get a few days of blues up and down, then a few of yellows up and down. I'm thankful there are not too many pinks.
Do I stay on 1.25? I know I need patience, I'm just afraid I'm not helping her enough. Am I proceeding correctly?

Thank you and prayers for all the kitties.
In my opinion, the dose needs to be increased. I see you're doing SLGS and that calls for a reduction if she drops under 90 as she did on June 10. However, that was then and this is now. You haven't seen any green since. Let's see what the pros think. :)

Happy Canada Day from this Canuck! :smuggrin:
 
  • Like
Reactions: SMM
It's really important to get at least one before bed test in at night. Otherwise you're really missing 1/2 the picture & especially since you caught those greens in a PM cycle last time. Many kitties do go lower at night With SLGS if most nadirs are between 90-150 then you hold the dose and Martini is in that rage. With the tests you have it looks like there is room to increase but if you do please be sure to get a few more tests in. Hope you have an enjoyable Canada Day.
 
Thank you Kris and Karen.
Sorry to be so obtuse in this. Ok for example, I do more night tests (have a problem with getting up! ;) ) and the numbers are in the green @ 90's? This means she's getting too much insulin I believe, so I decrease? Since I may have missed lower greens, does this also mean I have been giving her too much insulin and that's why we are in a rut? Still trying to understand this complicated disease.
Thank you!
 
Since I may have missed lower greens, does this also mean I have been giving her too much insulin and that's why we are in a rut
It's just hard to say without the data. Sometimes too much insulin can look like not enough if they are going lower. He does appear to be pretty flat but again, I'm hesitant to say for sure without at least 1 night time test. You can see back on 6/17 he made it to 112 at PM +8 and by AMPS he was back up to 207. The general guideline for SLGS is hold the dose for 7 days and do a curve before adjusting the dose unless they go under 90 during that timeframe then you reduce. I'm not a fan of just doing curves but rather trying to get a couple tests in each cycle tells the better story. Reason being is that if you do a curve on what might be a bounce day it gives false info.

If it were me honestly, I'd hold the 1.25 for a few more cycles and try to get some additional tests in. If you're getting numbers between 90 & 150 then just hold the dose.
 
Thanks Karen. I will make an effort to test her at night. I'm pretty much asleep +5 or +6 after she eats as I'm so used to getting up for work very early. I will hold but that leads me to my next question, sorry! ;) does this mean I will be holding this dose forever (ie between 90-150) unless she ever goes down at some point?
 
Thanks Bobbie, Bitite is my nickname from childhood, it's really Sandy. :)
 
does this mean I will be holding this dose forever (ie between 90-150) unless she ever goes down at some point
Some will eventually lower the reduction point to under 50 if they start to not hold reductions taken bellow 90. Just 1 before bed test, say +2 one night, +3 another or a +4 another etc. Mixing it up helps put the "jigsaw" together. A good indicator is a +2 test. If the +2 is lower then preshot then it indicates the cycle could be active and warrants another test. I'm not on the board consistently anymore but keep asking questions. It's how we all learned.
 
Thank you so much. I hope no one gets sick or angry at all my 'weirdo' questions. :banghead: I will definitely do more testing PMPS.

Rereading you comment on 'some will eventually lower.." and I cannot really understand exactly what you meant. If you're still on, can you pretty please clarify for me? :)
 
Rereading you comment on 'some will eventually lower.." and I cannot really understand exactly what you meant.
I think Karen means that the dose reduction BG level is lowered from 90 - the guideline for SLGS - to a lower number. She said below 50. Some people might choose another higher number to try - eg. 70. The reason is to prevent a lowering of the dose too soon - ie., at a relatively high BG. You would look for lower BG numbers before deciding a dose reduction is called for.
 
all my 'weirdo' questions
No such thing and pretty sure we all asked the same or even weirder questions in the beginning and guess what....we all still ask questions even after being around for a while! :p:p

Rereading you comment on 'some will eventually lower
What Kris said above. Have you read the stickies at the top the page? They are very informative. After joining all I did is read the stickies, and read them again and again all the way to the end of my Doodles dance.
 
Happy Canada Day to you too.

I would hold the dose for now, and try to keep shooting a consistent dose. I see some skinny 1.25 unit doses in there recently. It could be that if you kept shooting the full 1.25 units, the nadirs would come down a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top