07/07 Mačka still in the reds, blacks and purples with 2 units but PM +3 174???

Penelope and Mačka

Member Since 2019
Hello dear forum members,

I am not sure what to do here. After talking to my vet, I increased Macka's dose to 2 units three days ago. For a day, he was in the yellows and it felt great! But now he's back to his old high numbers and I am desperate and in panic again (while he is down). Vet said I should stick to the 2 units for a week. What do you all think?

He has cleared his UTI, no more antibiotics. No ketones. We did a kidney panel and he's totally fine. He eats 4 times a day (AM and PM normal meals, and 2 mini meals at noon and 4pm, plus a little something around 2am when I wake up to check on him). He might still have a pancreatitis (?) but he eats just fine.

I am still wondering if I feed him too much, or if the Tiki cat Stix treats are an issue? (only 9 calories per stick).

Thank you!
 
Here is the link to your previous post, which we include for continuity and so people can see the history. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-increasing-dose-to-1-75.216313/#post-2399570

An alternative to following what your vet says for dosing is to follow one of the two dosing methods we use here. Take a look at the Sticky Note on dosing methods and see if one would suit you. Tight regulation requires feeding only low carb wet or raw food, and testing at least four times a day. The Start Low Go Slow method can be followed if you can’t test as often, and requires holding each dose one week. TR allows faster increases, but only if you have the tests to say it is safe to increase sooner.

Looks to me like Macka is bouncing from the low yellows or possible blues from the night of the 4th. Bounces can take six cycles to resolve, so I would expect better numbers tonight or tomorrow during the day.

Are you weighing him regularly? That will tell you if you are feeding him too much. How many calories a day is he getting? As for the treats, it’s the carbs, not the calories that makes a difference in blood sugar. Some treats, like Temptations, are high carb and should be avoided. Have you tried pure meat or freeze dried meat treats?

Try not to fret over the high numbers. As you safely increase to a good dose, the numbers will get better. Regulation is a process. The saying here is that it’s a marathon, not a sprint. Macka is still on a relatively low dose,
 
Hi @Wendy&Neko ,

I do not weight him as we do not have a scale but 3 days ago at the vet he weighted 12 pounds, same as 3 weeks ago, so I assume he is stable, although he could maybe lose just a tiny little fat.
I am aware of the two methods, and not sure where I am at. Sometimes I can test during the day, but other times I am at work all day, so I can't be consistant. In addition, at the end of the week I have surgery so I won't be able to test/shoot anything for a few days (my husband will help of course, but he will not test as much).

My vet was telling me that the bouncing effect was very rare in cats, however on this forum it looks like all cats are bouncing at some point. Is my vet missing something? Regardless she's great and encourages me to home test.

We have another cat at home who is not happy with the new situation (Macka was brought from France a month ago). As a result there is a lot of fighting and intimidation, and I worry that it could influence Macka's numbers. We try to keep them separate but we can't do it all the time.

I try not to panic too much when he gets high numbers but I can see he becomes less like himself and down and I worry so much about his little body. He's already weak on his hind legs and can't jump anymore. He's always lying on the side, I can see how tired he is :(
He gets a B12 pill now though.

Oh and I do not give him real meat, but I do give him salmon once in a while.
 
Last edited:
Almost all newly diagnosed cats bounce. And many, like my girl, for years after that. It’s especially common if kitty has been untreated and in high numbers for a while, such as Macka was. His body has gotten used to higher numbers as normal. Nothing to be done but increase safely and be patient. Perhaps you should stick with SLGS for now, and switch later when you are able to test more. It is fine to switch dosing methods as your circumstances change or you feel more comfortable switching.
 
I like Wendy's suggestions.

As for getting the two cats acquainted, are you familiar with Feliway? It's a pheromone based preparation that you can buy in several forms that helps to reduce stress. They make a diffuser. The link is for one diffuser and refill. Depending on the size of your place, you may need more than one.
 
Looks to me like Macka is bouncing from the low yellows or possible blues from the night of the 4th. Bounces can take six cycles to resolve, so I would expect better numbers tonight or tomorrow during the day.

I tested at PMPS +3 and he's at 174. Now I'm very scared to go to bed. What should I do? I just fed him 1/4 can of FF classic. Should I give him food with some carbs?
 
Can you set an alarm for a couple of hours? Without a preshot test, it’s hard to know how much he has dropped tonight to know if that is a significant drop. Even a test in an hour will tell you if he is dropping fast.

You can also leave out some food with some carbs. I wouldn’t do high carbs yet.

Sorry I can’t stay up with you. Bedtime here.
 
OK, I'm staying awake and will test at +4 and +5. If numbers keep on dropping, I will give him food and set up my alarm.

I am wondering if stopping the pill pockets (w/ corn syrup) played a role in the blue number? He stopped taking his pills for the UTI two days ago. Apart from that, he ate a little less today, I mainly let him eat what he wanted without encouraging him to eat more (too much). I also maybe gave him a little less tiki stix treat.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top