09/06 Ivana AMPS=283, +6=295, +7=299, +10=344, PMPS=313

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Ivana (GA)

Member Since 2015
First time posting in this forum :-)

This morning's pre-meal test went relatively smoothly, seeing it's only Ivana's second day of having her ears poked. We are getting into a routine of doing things reasonably the same each time, but still tweaking things here and there dependent on her mood and how co-operative she is being at that time. It was hubby's first time of giving her shot in her side, and she didn't mind at all.

Hubby is not doing as well at the testing though - if he can't do it right the first time he thinks he is failing her and me and the world is going to collapse. I think he just needs more time to process the diagnosis and what it means for us and our life, and then he'll be fine.
 
Here's your Post from Welcome to the group

Remind DH that as you poke more, new capillaries will grow and it'll become easier and easier. I think I could just look at China's ears and they'd bleed for me!

Generally, we say to try 3 times...if it doesn't happen, take a break and try again in 10-15 minutes...give yourself and Ivana a break and just try again!

Also, it can help to quickly poke twice in the same spot (well as close as possible)...then "massage" the ear to get a blood droplet (and you'll find that it really doesn't take as much as we think it does to get a good test too)

YEAH for DH's success with the shot!! Good going DH!!
 
Oh oops, I didn't think to link to that intro post - thanks! Yes he is much better than me at the shots, so between us we've got her covered. We will probably get into a routine of me testing and him shooting, seeing that I'm home more than him anyway. Just as long as we each know how to do the other's 'job' if we need to.
 
Just did a +10 and got 19.1/344. This is the highest we've seen it, do I need to do anything? She's due for her PM shot in 2 hrs.
 
Hi Tara,
Welcome to the L and L forum.
Did you get the food info from the thread on the intro page?
No you don't need to do anything about the higher reading....just document it. It is normal for the numbers to be a bit all over the place, especially in the beginning.
Darryn, don't be too hard on yourself. You are only a couple of days into the testing and I think you are doing really well.
Yay for giving her shot in her side.....well done.
 
Yes I got that, thankyou so much. I know we don't know what's 'normal' for Ivana yet, but that big number was a bit scary. Will keep on doing what we're doing!
 
Looks like Ivana is having a bounce from those beautiful greens yesterday. Nothing to worry about its perfectly normal. Her body has got used to being in higher numbers so it didn't recognise those greens as normal and has responded as if her BG was too low. It shows her liver is working well but be warned that bounces can last for up to 6 cycles (3 days) so don't be concerned about it or get tempted to raise the dose if she stays high for a bit longer.

So nice that you and hubby are both on board with this :) he should give himself a break on not getting the tests immediately though, afterall he's not a woman ;) the main thing is for him not to get stressed about it. If the bean gets stressed the kitty is likely to get stressed too and then things can get harder. Most people have a bit of trouble to start with so he is in good company.

Welcome aboard :cat:
 
Yes......Serryn beat me to it...looks like Ivana is bouncing from those lovely green numbers yesterday. All normal for a diabetic cat.
 
Thankyou both, it's good to know it's nothing to worry about, and we'll know to be prepared to see more in the next couple of days.
 
Serryn is very experienced and another Aussie...she lives in WA. She gave you sound advice.
Bouncing can be very frustrating....Sheba loves to bounce! .........but there is nothing you can do about it except wait it out.
 
Wonderful to see some more Aussies here! (Well not really, but you know what I mean.)

Question for you Bron: Yesterday when Ivana was at 3.8 and we gave her a bit of carb food to raise her up a little, was that so her body wouldn't be 'tricked' into thinking it was too low as Serryn said?
 
Wonderful to see some more Aussies here! (Well not really, but you know what I mean.)

Question for you Bron: Yesterday when Ivana was at 3.8 and we gave her a bit of carb food to raise her up a little, was that so her body wouldn't be 'tricked' into thinking it was too low as Serryn said?

Not really........what Serryn was saying is that when diabetic cats have been in higher than normal numbers for a while, their bodies get used to the higher numbers. Then when we give them insulin and their body responds by dropping the blood sugar .....if the blood sugar drops lower than what they 'think' is normal .....even though it is a safe or normal number.......the body says......emergency! and dumps glycogen into the system which then 'saves ' them, but pushes the blood sugar high for to up to three days. (That is a very simple explanation of what happens with bouncing)

The reason I wanted to give Ivana a teaspoon of carb food to bring her up a bit was because we had no data on her numbers, so had no idea where she had come from as far as numbers go (except the 4.3 (77) the hour before).....and I did not want you to leave and go home with Ivana when there was the possibility she could have dropped further.
When you get to know her a bit better ....as far as how she reacts with the numbers and insulin.......when she has a number like 3.8 (68) you will know where she has come from and how fast or slow she is dropping and often we give them a teaspoon of low carb food so they will do what we call 'surf in the greens' safely..........that is they will stay in the 4.0 to 6.0 approx range which is the healing of the pancreas range of numbers for a few hours.
Hope I explained that OK. That was a good question....keep asking them...that is how we all learn:)
 
Welcome to Lantus and Lev Land!

If I may, a minor correction to Bron's post. the hormone that's released during a bounce is glucagon, not glycogen. Both the liver and pancreas release hormones in response to numbers that a kitty's body assumes are too low, if the numbers drop fast, or if the drop is sizable (e.g., from 500s to the 200s). Any of these situations can result in a bounce. It's helpful to keep in mind that bounces happen not only because numbers drop below 100 or below 50.

Given that you've seen numbers below 100, getting pre-shot tests will be important. If you do get pre-shot numbers that are lower than 150, please post and ask for help. Until you've accumulated more test data and get comfortable managing lower numbers, we're here to help and to walk you through the process.

If no one has already suggested it, please take a look at the sticky notes at the top of the Board. They will provide you with an overwhelming amount of information about feline diabetes, Lantus, and this Board.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top