09/13 Ivana AMPS=338, +2=311, +5=293, PMPS=292, +2=326, +4=335

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Ivana (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's post

I think we're getting into the swing of things. Getting up at 6am isn't my idea of a fun Sunday morning, but Ivana made it easy by coming right over to me for her test (she has quickly learned what the treat box means), and apart from me smearing the first blood drop due to her moving towards said treat box we did pretty well with both the AMPS and +2 tests this morning. She is also so patient when hubby does the injections.

Curve day was going to be Tuesday, but I've pushed it back to be 1 week after reducing the dose. Should I count the missed doses in that week, or do the curve 1 week after she's had every shot?
 
When you go to put the test strip onto the drop of blood, try putting your little finger (the one that is holding the strip), against the closest finger on your other hand which is holding the ear. ....so the hands are "joined".
That way......if Ivana moves your hands should both move together and you shouldn't smear the blood.

I think after about 3 or 4 days the depot should be filled after the missed shot so I don't think it would be necessary to wait a week ..........but I could be wrong so see what others say.

Ivana is a quick learner with the treats....so cute
 
Don't think you need to wait the full week. I would stick with Tuesday.

We usually test on the clothes washer in the laundry room, right off the kitchen. Hyde will come to the door but she will not come all the way in. I have to scoop her up for her test. Cats can be real creatures of habit!:rolleyes::rolleyes:
 
I know you and DH are still thinking on whether you should "officially" go on TR and I still think you could do it safely. You test enough to keep him safe and you wouldn't have to hold a dose that isn't working well on Ivana for a whole week

Getting her into better numbers sooner rather than later will give her the best chance at remission....or just becoming tightly controlled

If you're still not quite ready, I think you could still re-access earlier than a week since you DO test enough
 
The guidelines from SLGS say:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours
Note
: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
I think it means that you would have the same dose, every 12 hours for that week before increasing a dose.

With Tight Regulation, you want at least 6 consecutive cycles, so at least 3 days after skipping a shot before deciding to increase the dose.

Whatever dosing method you're using, I would want at least those 6 consecutive cycles before increasing the dose because you want the depot to be stabilized after the skipped shot before you decide to increase.
 
I know you and DH are still thinking on whether you should "officially" go on TR and I still think you could do it safely. You test enough to keep him safe and you wouldn't have to hold a dose that isn't working well on Ivana for a whole week
I actually haven't properly spoken to hubby about it yet. Unfortunately he's had a bit of trouble dealing with Ivana's diagnosis and what it means for her and for us, and he hasn't been in a proper decision-making frame of mind. He's doing better these last few days though, and I think having more data about what Ivana's body is doing is helping. I would really like to do TR - I've printed out the journal paper it's based on to read, and will tell hubby that it's the next step (won't even give him the option haha). I worked out on another thread that as long as we can do a AMPS, +2, PMPS, +2, then bedtime as a minimum, then it's all good. Most days one of us will be able to do more though. I have ordered an auto-feeder so will wait til that arrives in the next few days before officially starting, because at the moment it would be a bit more difficult to leave out carb food for her if she needs it. I'm still scared about shooting low numbers though, but I know we need to just do it. I don't want her to be getting yellows and pinks for a week.
 
Just had to share this photo I took of Ivana about 5mins before her +4 test was due. She'd been asleep on our bed for 2 hrs, then she wandered out of her own accord and plonked herself down right in front of her test basket :-)

2015-09-13 21.53.37.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top