? 09/24 - Dweezil AMPS 468

Status
Not open for further replies.

monty_dweezil (GA)

Member Since 2014
I think finally all the bouncing and greenery and blues are done, and we're going to have to raise the dose a little.

Advice? Maybe incease from (estimated) 1.2 to 1.4. And HOLD the dose for 3 cycles. Then of course he'll be at the cattery for 5 days and it'll all go out the window.
 
Interestingly, his numbers today went down late and are still hovering even 4 hours after his PM dose was due. They keep going up and down slightly. I need to know he will keep going up on his own before giving a dose.

Edit - after his smaller later dose, he has now gone a little higher but has stayed much the same.

Just as we finally got to the end of 3 days of the same AM and PM dose, his nadir is so late it changes the routine!
 
Last edited:
I would have given him his dose when you saw the 288 at PMPS (even if it was a BCS because you were uncomfortable). Really, the 288 was a fine number to shoot and he was rising after the 252 at +11. Maybe, he would have had a nice blue surf, if you had shot on time, but who knows.. Are you going to give him his morning dose 5 hours later, now?
 
The blood sugar going down at the end of the cycle is not a reason to delay the shot. Perhaps if it had been green you might have delayed a bit. Now that you've delayed - which acts like a decrease, and given a smaller dose, you've interrupted the cycle count at 1.2 units. You need to hold a dose at least 6 cycles, and you held for 5. The new cycle count at 1.2 units starts tomorrow morning.

Here is a great post Libby did on debunking some Lantus myth's, including the one on not shooting a dropping number.
We tell newbies they are safe to shoot anything over 200. You now have enough data you are no longer in that category.
 
Well, since he's going to the cattery in 3 days, any cycle will be disrupted anyway, annoyingly.

At his normal PMPS number, it was a fine number but even though he had a bit of food, he still went lower and then still 2 hours later he had gone even lower. Not TOO low, but I was still nervous.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top