1/10 Cleo AMPS=213+3=279 +5=251+6=189+9=102+10=93+11=91+12=88 +12.5=95PMPS=117+1=197+3=208+5=274

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Hi!!!
Today is a good day! Cleo values are yellow and they became blue at nadir. She's had her eyes' visit and the doctor said she's ok, except a beginning of cataract to the left eye.
BG values didn't rise at the vet. When we came home, she was only 102.
Now she has big black eyes due to the drops that the doctor put in her eyes and she doesn't want to exit from her cat carrier. Maybe she wants to go back to the doctor? :cat:
 
Oh no! I have to go out for dinner! I cannot check Cleo and she will probably have green preshot. I don't want to skip insulin if this is my chance to shoot green.:(
 
I dont think I would shoot a dropping number like that, especially if you are going out to dinner. Did you get another test after the 88 pmps?
 
Delia, responding to bump this post up for more experienced eyes.

I can make no recommendations. In large part because Cleo's got so many moving parts. She came down into the greens a while ago, but then she had the eye issue and steroids which probably caused her numbers to go up to levels they wouldn't have gone without the influence of steroids.

Additionally, you don't have much experience with Cleo at green numbers at preshot so we don't know what her pattern might be.

I don't think we can predict where she'll go.

Speaking just for me. If I couldn't monitor, I'd skip or do a significantly reduced dose. Hey, sorta like an intentional fur shot.


OK, just saw that she's coming up. I'd still think about a reduced dose if you're going to be gone. Did she ever take the reduction from the 46 a week or so ago....

Marilyn and Polly
 
I agree with Marilyn. I wouldnt shoot if you cant monitor, and that 95 is only 6 points up from the pmps, so with meter variance, she may still drop some more.
 
I can't go out if I know she can be in danger. So I must decide if stay at home and shoot or skip. I fear that values become high again, if I skip insulin. But I am not confident in shooting this high dose after the reduction from the 46.
 
Last edited:
Ah, that's good. I still can't give advice. Know that stalling in itself is a reduction. If you're going to be home, I think I'd shoot. (Not advice, just what I'd do)

She is likely to bounce from these low numbers that she isn't used to. So expect higher numbers. That's o.k.

And that's why I would shoot. And monitor. If you're uncomfortable with the full dose, reduce a bit.

Your comfort, Cleo's safety. Find the mix.

She is making you work, isn't she?

Marilyn
 
With her numbers dropping since you stopped the steroids, you can either shoot a reduced dose, or skip the shot. If you shoot a reduced dose, the next shot should be 12 hours from now. Shoot only if you can monitor closely. If it were my cat, I would reduce to 1u..if you decide to shoot. You hold the syringe, so do what you decide you are comfortable doing.
 
Ok, Thank you very much for your help. Yes Marilyn, she is making me work, but fortunately there are you all.
I've shot 1u and stalled 1 hour. I have only kibble as high carbs food, but I've also honey. Naturally, I will stay at home, my friends are very sympathetic.
How can I go back at the usual insulin time?
 
If you can stay home and decide to shoot (and have all the supplies you need), and feel uncomfortable giving the regular dose, then you can give a BCS shot (one time reduced dose) just to get you through this cycle, and then go back to her regular dose next cycle (unless she earns a reduction by going below 50 tonight).

That's just my 2 cents.
My kitty used to go lower when he went to the vets.

ETA to answer your question, you can give the insulin 30 minutes earlier once per day, or give the insulin 15 minutes early each cycle. So, to get back on hour, it will take 2 days.
 
The easiest way for me to get back on track....15 minutes early each shot 'til I'm back to my regular shot time. The 30 minutes per day rule...once a day 30 minutes, twice a day 15 minutes. Whichever works best for you.

Cleo will be fine. Expect bounce numbers, though.

If she drops (I don't think she will, but if she does) a drop of honey. maybe mixed with a small spot of her regular food, will bring her up. It won't hang around as long as the kibble carbs.

Marilyn
 
I would get a +1 test or at least a +2, and post her numbers. Im planning on being home for awhile, so I will be watching. I think you will have several pairs of eyes on you:cat:. I think she will be fine, and I also think she will probably bounce, but hopefully you will see better numbers once it clears.
 
Thank you Dyana! Strange that the vet does this effect. I thought the opposite!
Cleo earned a reduction a week ago, but I increase the dose due to steroid needed for ear infection. Yesterday I stopped giving steroids. Which dose should I give tomorrow morning?
 
Thank you Dyana! Strange that the vet does this effect. I thought the opposite!
Cleo earned a reduction a week ago, but I increase the dose due to steroid needed for ear infection. Yesterday I stopped giving steroids. Which dose should I give tomorrow morning?
I think most cats do go higher during vet visits, but not all. J.D. almost always went lower, and if he did not go lower I think he was probably climbing up a bounce at the time.
Since you just stopped the steroids, I think if you want to try going back to the 1.25 unit dose tomorrow morning, I guess that would be okay. You can always go back up if that dose doesn't work. Let's see if you get any other opinions.
 
On second thought, you did just diminish the depot twice today, first by stalling and then second by giving the BCS dose, and she will probably be high in the morning. If you're going to be home tomorrow, you might want to just keep the 1.50 dose until she gets a number under 50. Once your kitty is high enough, I would go buy some high carb canned food, if she eats it okay. For J.D. I used the Grilled varieties of Fancy Feast for HC and the FF Medleys for MC. I always try to keep a few cans of each on hand at all times.
 
I agree with Dyana on sticking with the 1.5U dose until she goes under 50. Today was a lovely cycle - you want more cycles like that for her pancreas to heal. It looks like she is bouncing now.

Could you update your spreadsheet? In the PMPS column, put the 117 that you actually shot. In the +11 column, you can put the stalling numbers, so it's something like 91; 88@+12; 95@12.5. That way we know how much you stalled.
 
A rapid update: at +3 Cleo was 208. She ate at preshot and at +2. She is sleeping now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top