1/14 Jonesy AMPS 137 - 1.5 u; +2 133; PMPS 169 1.5 u

Darcy and Jonesy

Member Since 2015
Jonesy had a good day yesterday, but, I was also home all day to watch him. (His numbers were high but he seemed happy)

I now have to work the rest of the week :( but I'm going to be a big girl, going to chant "shoot low to stay low", and I'm shot 1.5 even though it does make me nervous . . . (Breathe Darcy, breathe.....heeeheee)

(Off topic, what is a "blood ketone monitor" and where can I get one??? Just saw Triton's Mom's post, I sure hope he's okay :'( )

Yesterday's thread http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-13-jonesy-amps-384-shot-1-5-u-pmps-344-1-5-u.224248/
 
Good job shooting. If you're worried maybe leave some extra food out if you haven't already left for work. A blood ketone meter is like a blood glucose meter, but it measures ketones. You should be able to find one in any drug store.
 
I don't know if your schedule will allow it, but one thing that has helped me with Furball is getting a +10 or +11 test in the PM cycle so I know if she's going up or down at AMPS. That helps me know if I should leave extra food out for her when I have to work.
 
Good job shooting. If you're worried maybe leave some extra food out if you haven't already left for work. A blood ketone meter is like a blood glucose meter, but it measures ketones. You should be able to find one in any drug store.
Hi Carla, I do leave wet food out for him all day, plus cooked chicken. I've been leaving out a mixture of chicken baby food and water (about 50/50) I find that helps him to stay more hydrated as he's backed off on the water bowl. Yay! ;)
 
This post talks about ketones and DKA. If you look under the picture, there is a post on blood ketones meters, the Precision Xtra and Nova Max Plus are mentioned. Strips are pricy, but can be easier than catching urine for some cats.

Thanks Wendy! My guy was diagnosed just about 12 days ago, sadly, it was because he had ketones and spend three nights at the emergency vet :'( I have purchased the Ketostix, but he's sooooo good about my stealing his blood, I'm tempted to have a Ketone blood monitor on hand! Not sure how I'd stick a ketone stuck under his big butt, while peeing! heehee He's got a high sided litter box, so he may just "clam up" if I get in there with him! LOL

But it's good to know there is a monitor! Will look into that
 
Love the name of your kitty!

LOL! Thanks Tracey! You also have an epic cat name! He started off as Indiana Jones as he's a former feral. I figured he'd earned a tough guy name. But it was too long, and the more I got to know him, the Indiana dropped off and he became Jonesy . . . Jonesy Bones at times
 
LOL! Thanks Tracey! You also have an epic cat name! He started off as Indiana Jones as he's a former feral. I figured he'd earned a tough guy name. But it was too long, and the more I got to know him, the Indiana dropped off and he became Jonesy . . . Jonesy Bones at times

Yes, Jones was Grey Cat Jones and Jonesy when we cuddled.
 
Back
Top