1/2 Hyde AMPS 162 +4.25 55 +4.75 66 +5.5 54 +6 60 +8.5 48 +9 70 +11 83 PMPS 90 +2 189 +4 178 +6 159

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Hyde (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday she has a yellow/blue day. I could get used to these days!! I think I am testing her more because I like the lovely numbers.

Tried to talk myself into get a +2 or +3 this AM but when I woke up at +3, Hyde was purring in bed with us and I took that for a good number!

Question for the IAA cats, is this what it looks like when the insulin resistance breaks? I am afraid that the antibodies will mount a counter-attack and she will go back to the really crappy numbers again.

Vines to all in need
 
What an amazing switch in readings from all the high numbers. For a change you are having to worry about low numbers!!! Hopefully Hyde will settle into the better range soon. Stay safe Hyde!
 
+5.5 54

Fed her some more LC

Now that she has had 2 days in the last 3 in the 50's, does that earn her a reduction? If so, how much?

NOTE- HYDE IS A SPECIAL DOSE KITTY - SHE HAS 2 HIGH DOSE CONDITIONS. DO NOT FOLLOW HER DOSE HISTORY OR DOSING INSTRUCTIONS.
 
Awesome cycle again! Love it! :cool::D

Question for the IAA cats, is this what it looks like when the insulin resistance breaks? I am afraid that the antibodies will mount a counter-attack and she will go back to the really crappy numbers again.
Neko was on Lantus when her resistance broke. Her SS didn't look this pretty at the time. She was still really bouncy, dropping from red to green and zooming back to just pink if I was lucky. I think Cobb was a better example. He switched to Lev on 8/7/14. Starting the end of that month, he start getting repeat visits to green on the same dose. That's the clue that IAA were starting to fade. Shortly after that, Suzanne stopped using R and the reductions began.

The same thing happened with Neko. With the resistance in play, we'd be lucky to see a second visit to green at a dose and it would be higher that the first, then I'd lose the greens so we'd have to increase. Then we started seeing more greens, and multiple cycles with green on a dose, then the green would go lower and the reductions began.

When the reductions begin, it can become rather fast and furious. After Neko started getting her first reductions at 50, I switched to 70 from 50 as the reduction point. It gave me a bit of a buffer. This is where you have to decide what makes sense for you and Hyde. TR says 50 as a reduction point, SLGS says 90. With IAA you do want to be a bit more aggressive, but with the large depot and you away most of the work day, you also need a number you are comfortable with that will keep Hyde safe. If you reduce too early, you might get uglier numbers and have to go back up. But that's not such a bad thing.
 
Everyone said greens are addictive....and they so are! Great to see her doing so well and hope the resistance is breaking.
 
Reduction earned. If you haven't broken out the high carb yet, I would do so, a couple tsp. And test again in 30 minutes.

Up please sweetie!
 
Those are some mighty fine numbers there ! :D:D:D:cool:
Question for the IAA cats, is this what it looks like when the insulin resistance breaks? I am afraid that the antibodies will mount a counter-attack and she will go back to the really crappy numbers again.
It's natural to feel afraid that the nice numbers wont last however when IAA breaks it breaks.
Should the numbers go up after IAA breaks other factors like acro or an infection of some sort should be considered and investigated.

BTW, what is Hydes IAA %?

It could be breaking so in the interest of saftey you have to err on the side of caution, crappy numbers be dammed. Depot action can be very strong.

I can only speak about my experience with BK, who was only IAA - no acro. He is FIV+ and I don't know what role, if any that played in the whole thing.

His BG took a turn in October of 2008. He was getting 13.5u Lantus and I was using a good bit of R. The first thing I noticed was he needed less and less R. I figured we had just reached a good L dose.

10/23/2008 - BK had a (what turned out to be benign) lump removed.
Green started appearing...and the red started to disappear.
Then we went for 4 whole days with no R - That was his first decrease.
11/03/2008 - PM+11.75 was 47! :eek: I knew something was shifting - shot my first BCS 7u and BK had his first Lantus decrease of .5u to 13u. :D

Now back when he had the lump removed, the vet took a good look inside his mouth. there was a rotted remnant of a broken tooth that the vet removed with little effort. However she referred me to a veterinary dental specialist because his teeth and gums where in a state that was far beyond her abilities to handle, particularly with FD in the picture. So the appointment was made for early December.

By the time the dental rolled around we wobbled back up to 13.5uL, then down to 13.25u (my first experience pulling .25u into a syringe).
All kinds of greens and blues were now on the scene.

12/08/2008 BK has his first dental. 8 or so extractions - all resorptive lesions. 10 days of ABs followed.

After the ABs were finished, the "free fall" began and I learned about sleep deprivation.
01/04/2009 he had his first taste of HC - nearly 1 year after dx.
It was 2 solid months of around the clock craziness - stalled shots, BCS shots, skipped shots, BCSs becoming the new dose... from 13.25uL to 3.0uL.
It was like trying to rein in wild horses while going down a steep hill.
It was flying by the seat of our pants.

All of LL was in very high spirits - BK, the 'underdog', was clearly on a mission - it was downright miraculous.

Then around the end of February, pink started coming back on the scene. . .toward the end of April red came back, It was devastating.
Back up we gradually went...to 5.5u :arghh::banghead:

Then one day I saw him yawn one of those really big yawns...and I noticed red gums around a back molar...
Back to the dentist on 05/29/2009 for several more extractions. . .

and the rest is history:cool:


So, heads up.You may be entering the land of 'one shot at a time' or what @julie & punkin (ga) refer to as "dialing for doses"
After Neko started getting her first reductions at 50, I switched to 70 from 50 as the reduction point. It gave me a bit of a buffer. This is where you have to decide what makes sense for you and Hyde. TR says 50 as a reduction point, SLGS says 90. With IAA you do want to be a bit more aggressive, but with the large depot and you away most of the work day, you also need a number you are comfortable with that will keep Hyde safe. If you reduce too early, you might get uglier numbers and have to go back up. But that's not such a bad thing.
This is wise advice and speaks to the part I cant speak to - the acro.


IAA is self limiting - it will break one day so best to be prepared. Always have plenty of HC, strips, treats for the endless pokes. Know that thy cat will change and you need to learn to safely "go with the flow"

Plenty of folks here to help - :cool:
 
Did you give any high carb food, or did she come up on her own? Always good to note how much you gave of what when - useful for the next time.
 
Good to know you didn't need the big guns, at this point in the cycle. And probably don't need to worry too much about her numbers coming down with carbs wearing off.
 
very impressive! and how exciting to see Neko reaching a breakthrough and getting to green!

What are you thinking of for a dose this evening? The "dialing for doses" that Sandy referred is a bit of craziness. There is definitely some flying by the seat of your pants. When Punkin had the SRT done he was at 15.5u - he almost immediately dropped to 12u before we'd even gotten home from CSU, so the prospect of a decreasing need was front and center. My husband and I would stand there with the syringe and the insulin in hand, having a conversation about the pros and cons of what size shot to give next - which we fondly dubbed "dialing for doses."

Punkin didn't have iaa, so what worked for him might need to be tweaked for Hyde. I developed a few strategies - maybe something will help you, maybe someone else will have ideas, maybe you already have ideas - but here are some thoughts:

- if I wanted to interrupt a string of lower numbers, for example a dose reduction was earned and I didn't want more of the same in the next cycle because of depot action, we gave one 50% dose and returned to the new, reduced dose with the following shot. For you that would be 19u. Wendy found with Neko that a reduction of 30% was sufficient to accomplish an interruption, so that would be 27u.

- if I wanted the green numbers to continue, I'd consider reducing by 5%ish, so perhaps 36u. If I wanted the numbers to shift to blue, I'd consider reducing by 10%ish, so perhaps 34u.

It's all a bit of a crap shoot - with these high dose kitties you've got other factors to consider, but I thought the most important factor was the depot effect. High dose kitties have large depots - sometimes you can skip a shot without even noticing much effect. So, I'd always err on the side of conservative. Because I was always conscious of that big depot, I tended to lean on the 50% one time shot fairly regularly. It gave me the impression (hahaha) that I had some amount of control. You can always go back up. And you have R in your toolbox to help you if you reduce too far.

Good luck! And great job getting Hyde to this point, Anne. It's not for the faint of heart and some people can't bring themselves to get their high dose kitty to here - so well done.
 
+11 is 83.

I am thinking of doing a one time 50% shot and then reduce back to 34u. I don't mind the green surf while I am home but going back to work on Monday, I want to feel confident that she will not go too low when no one is home. She always has dry food available. We do not have an autofeeder because we would not know which of the 4 cats got the food when it opened.
 
What a pretty cycle today. I do agree that doing the half dose tonight was the right thing, especially if you didn't want to worry about an overfull depot tonight. It's always better to be conservative with dosing at first with high dose kitties. Over time you can refine your strategy.
 
It's always better to be conservative with dosing at first with high dose kitties. Over time you can refine your strategy.

I agree completely! For now, being conservative is the way to go. She's also pretty likely to bounce and you may be seeing the start of that. More numbers will tell whether that's what's happening with that +2.
 
:cool::cool::cool::cool::cool:
+2 189. Maybe I made the wrong choice. We may be breaking out the R tonight. But now we know for next time
Easy does it. You are in uncharted waters. No telling what the cycle may bring. Better a day too high than an hour too low.
Surprised not to see bounce (antijinx). She even sat on the couch with DH and Jekyll tonight!:joyful::p:joyful:
expect the unexpected
 
hmmm . . . i think the message is to be conservative in the morning as well.

Sandy & Wendy both have first hand iaa experience and it looks like their radars are up that perhaps the iaa is breaking.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top