1/21 Sarge AMPS 299 +1.75 321 +10 299/291 (new meter/old meter after rice)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alison & Sarge

Member Since 2014
So, am scratching my head. Sarge was sliding down the dosing scale and doing great. Now we are wallowing in pink and yellow again. I am hoping that an increase back to 1.0U sets him straight. If I am thinking about it right I can do that tonight. Right?

I am suspicious that his brewer's yeast may be responsible. I don't know if it should be a suspect but it's kind of suspicious that I started putting his Cosequin in brewer's yeast again (he wasn't getting enough of it mixed in his food) and hours later his BG spiked. Hasn't really come down yet. I stopped giving him his Cosequin in BY yesterday and I just hope I get another chance at blue mornings and green days again soon. I had used brewer's yeast to hide his Cosequin in the past but it was when we were fighting to get regulated so maybe it had a negative impact and I didn't know. My only other suspect is the taste of FF Seafood Feast I have been adding to his food to get him to eat the 3% Turkey & Giblets. He was starting to get bored. Supposedly both flavors are 3% so it shouldn't matter.

Maybe it's just a failed reduction and a return to 1.0U will set it straight. I don't known, maybe sometimes you never really know what the change was. I would love to though because then I could fix it! I hate feeling like I did something to muck up our progress.

1/19 condo
 
Bumping up your post, Alison. I don't have experience with the brewer's yeast, so I'm not sure what type of effect it would have on the numbers or how long the effect might last. Sorry I can't help you on that one.

Hope we can get some more eyes on your questions!
 
Since I can't answer your questions, bumping is the least I can do. ;)

And don't beat yourself up.....the higher numbers might not have anything to do with the yeast. Sarge will get back on track in no time. :bighug:
 
Thanks :) I am trying hard not to kick myself. Especially since I don't know what's at play here. I returned to 1.0U tonight. Paws crossed the slight bump will do the trick after a few cycles.
 
Here's something I found on Brewer's Yeast from one company.

"100 grams of dry yeast contain 40-50 grams of complete, quality protein, enriched with group B vitamins and microelements, about
2 grams of fat and about 6 grams of carbohydrates."

so to roughly estimate:
40*3.5 = 140; 140/178 = 78.6 % calories from protein, using 40 grams
2 * 8.5 = 17; 17 / 178 = 9.6 % calories from fat
6 * 3.5 = 21; 21 / 178 = 11.8 % calories from carbohydrate
Total calories = 178
 
Good call on the increase Alison. It does look like a failed reduction to me. On your SS on the PM of the 19th, did you shoot a slightly smaller dose?

I've seen some people put supplements/meds in a little bit of all meat babyfood. The Beechnut chicken/turkey is just pure meat and most kitties think it's a treat. My civie is getting one capsule of Cosequin and it doesn't need much food to mix it in, as long as you are adding water.
 
Wow. I did a bunch of homework before I started hiding Sarge's Cosquin in BY and I still didn't realize that it had 6% calories from carbs. I will have to see what he thinks of all meat babyfood. Something tells me it will be a hit and a great thing to have in my "arsenal." I did do an ever so slight reduction on the 19th. Sarge had been sliding down the dosage scale so fast that high mornings had become my clue that he was beginning to go lowish somewhere in his cycle. I just had to try it to see if his morning improved. This time though it looks like we are dealing with a failed reduction. Fingers crossed 1.0U and retiring the BY does the trick. Thanks so much guys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top