1/21 - Wally: AMPS: 325, +6 419, PMPS: 501 ...feeling depressed from lack of results :(

Wally & Stefano

Member Since 2018
Prev. post
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-19-wally-amps-399-6-432-pmps-415-upside-down.209647/

As by subject there're moments I really feel depressed and worried.... especially today's Blue Monday that in our case was red and black....

When he gives us the impression that things are improving then he shows the worst of his numbers :(

Today was a day without a nadir.... where is nadir gone? Did you see it? Did Wally eat his nadir? ...I know I am going crazy


Wish you a happy Blue Monday :arghh:
 
Today was cycle six after the bounce. Hopefully that means you will see some action tonight as the bounce goes away. Some cats also end their bounce by going high before they go low.

Adding onto Kris’s comments, you are seeing more pink preshots now too. Progress is being made, you WILL get there. :bighug:
 
This is a Journey. It takes time & a LOT of Patience :) Wally's body needs to get used to the insulin. He's only been on Lantus insulin for 3 weeks! Insulin is a Hormone & it's very powerful. Baby steps. He'll get better as his body adjusts.

Have you read the yellow sticky notes? The more you learn the easier it will be. Read everything! You need to pick out the method you want to follow with the Insulin. TR ( tight regulation) or SLGS (start low go slow) when you read about it & decide, you'll need to add it to your information .
The people that advise you will want to know.

We have all been new & felt just like you do! It's kinda scary & frustrating! And Yes we have all felt "crazy" also! (i still do :joyful:) I've been here for nearly a year & My cat Ravan still "bounces" into high #'s. ECID (each cat is different) Some just take longer to get regulated.

Something that I learned in Yoga. When you get upset,take a very slow,deep breath thru your nose ,count to 5 slowly. Exhale thru your nose slowly ,count to 6. Do that at least 5 times & it will help you to feel calmer.(Everyone breathes too fast!)

Check out some SS (spreadsheets) you can learn a lot reading other threads.Most of all BE PATIENT! When you stress out your Kitty feels it & it affects him also:(

It will get easier!:):bighug:

You have 2 very experienced people advising you Kris & Wendy :)
 
Stefano, you have been doing great, following Wendy's advice every step of the way!

You are so funny. I giggled when you asked if Wally ate his Nadir. :)

Yesterday's AM Cycle Wally's Nadir was +8.

Bear's Nadir has moved around recently too.

Wally is one of my favorite Kitties. I had a Russian Blue once, his name was Bond, (James Bond). I named him after the charming, TV Movie Spy.

You are not alone in this struggle. Wally is improving, just slowly.

Have you had a chance to look into those high dose conditions yet?


Thank you for your kindness yesterday, it helped my day be brighter. :bighug:
 
His Depot might be the reason.

I just read an interesting article about Depots.

I will try to find it again and share it with you.
 
Stefano, I know exactly how it feels to have a cat in the high numbers and not seeming to want to move to better blood sugar numbers. Trust me, seen it with a lot of other cats too, but for each one, there is a dose out there that will bring better numbers,
 
Ugh, I feel you. I got really freaked out when Max started to develop neuropathy. I was like "these numbers need to come down now!!", but it was taking forever and with blacks and reds all over the place. I just upped him to 5.5 units last shot; I'm curious to see what his +2 will be!
 
I'm confused about Wally. He seemed so low before the insulin, then as soon as you started, he shoots sky high?? Possible simojiy effect? Somebody please explain.
 
I'm confused about Wally. He seemed so low before the insulin, then as soon as you started, he shoots sky high?? Possible simojiy effect? Somebody please explain.

In november he was hospitalized with high ketones and high BG. We brought him home with regular BG and low ketones....
I think his BG was down to normal number because they used a fast acting insuline
 
Possible somogyi effect? Somebody please explain.

"somogyii" should never had been mentioned on the board, ever. Back in the '30s. there was a doctor named Michael Somogyii who did an experiment on six human patients. Back in the day when nobody knew much about diabetes. And his "conclusions" resulted in what is called the "somogyii effect" as an explanation for consistently high urine glucose readings, which he theorized were caused by excess insulin. The "theory" was never proved, and in today's medical community it is largely discounted. The effect has never been studied on cats in a laboratory environment. It has never been duplicated in humans, actually, because most in the diabetic medical community don't believe it exists. There's a really good discussion about it found here:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/somogyi-and-bounces.138412/
 
Low before the insulin, then as soon as you started, he shoots sky high??
His body is getting accustomed to the insulin. Insulin is a powerful Hormone & each cat will react a bit differently to its effects & will take time to adjust.
 
"somogyii" should never had been mentioned on the board, ever. Back in the '30s. there was a doctor named Michael Somogyii who did an experiment on six human patients. Back in the day when nobody knew much about diabetes. And his "conclusions" resulted in what is called the "somogyii effect" as an explanation for consistently high urine glucose readings, which he theorized were caused by excess insulin. The "theory" was never proved, and in today's medical community it is largely discounted. The effect has never been studied on cats in a laboratory environment. It has never been duplicated in humans, actually, because most in the diabetic medical community don't believe it exists. There's a really good discussion about it found here:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/somogyi-and-bounces.138412/
It seems to me like the Somojyi effect is what you guys call "bouncing", when extra insulin is introduced, BG levels drop, and the body compensates because it isn't used to such low numbers. No?
 
I don't see a post yet for today, so responding on yesterdays.
He did climb all day ... missed opportunity to see blue / green!!!
Probably not green, but blue a definite possibility.
I'm confused about Wally. He seemed so low before the insulin, then as soon as you started, he shoots sky high?? Possible simojiy effect? Somebody please explain.
Not symogyi, don't get me started on that one. Symogyi is not bouncing but more to do with an overdose condition. I suggested last night that Stefano get a later test because Wally was dropping fast. There was a chance he went lower last night than he was used to. Both those lower than used to numbers and fast drops can cause bounces. That's what today was, a bounce.
 
So I admit I am the person that mentioned Somogyi.

(I will not debate it with others.) I will leave debate to the scientists and doctors. I am not so foolish to think I am qualified with the necessary education to debunk or agree.

This is where I read about it.

This is from the 2018 American Animal Hospitalization Association=AAHA
https://www.aaha.org/guidelines/diabetes_guidelines/blood_glucose_curve.aspx

This is the website homepage
https://www.aaha.org/guidelines/diabetes_guidelines/default.aspx

Information and knowledge should be shared not restricted and this website does have some good information.
 
Back
Top