1/25 Eddie AMPS/111, +7/76, PMPS/97, +5/64

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Eddie's 1/20 Condo

Yesterday: AMPS/119, +1/121, +2/102, +3/64, +4/61, +7/68, +9/88, +10/101, PMPS/119, +1/111, +2/80, +3/63, +4/71, +6/79, +7/90, +9/108
Today: AMPS/111, +1/128, +2/109, +3/113, +6/84, +7/76, +9/101, +10/83, PMPS/97, +1/136, +2/122, +3/103, +5/64, +6/69

Hi LL,

It's been a few days since I posted an Eddie condo, but I have been popping in to read, and I'm so terribly saddened by the losses of Cobb, Booger, and Tiki. cat_wings>o

I also see lots of new kitties and beans in LL, which is exciting! Hopefully many of them will have short stays here. :D

Eddie's been trucking along with lovely numbers. I've been feeding a small snack at +6. I can't tell for certain whether it's helping, but it doesn't seem to be hurting. He's started to have an earlier nadir again at around +3 generally, with lots of numbers in the 50's. It occurred to me that maybe I've been unintentionally preventing a reduction by continuing to feed his normal +3 meal, which has kept him from going under 50. On this low dose, it seems like it doesn't have quite enough oomph to push Eddie under 50, and Eddie's body is doing what it should by keeping him above 50. I tried an experiment the other night by withholding his +3 meal after a number in the low 50's to see if he would go under 50, but he didn't. So, we keep doing what we've been doing.

Question: Can I get some clarification on what exactly the rules are for reductions for normal numbers for a week? Here's why I ask....except for his +1's, which sometimes reflect a small food spike, and sometimes don't, Eddie's been in normal numbers for the last 5 days...IF you assume that the top end of the normal range is 120. His pre-shots still are more blue than green, but I do think there is a tiny bit of bouncing going on. Thoughts on this? On a side note...who'd have thought I'd ever have to learn the rules for reductions based on normal numbers this former roller-coaster kitty?! :woot:

Any other insight or things I'm not seeing? I can't believe I'm saying this, but I think it might be more nerve-wracking dealing with these wonderful numbers than when Eddie was hitting every color in the rainbow every day.

Have a good day everyone and hugs and vines for all who are in need of them.
 
Last edited:
You could always stop testing at +1 - hahahahaha kidding!

I never got to do a reduction based on normal numbers so I'm not sure. I suggest you add the question to your subject line to get the right eyes. My guess would be not to mess with a good thing just yet - but that is just my guess - his spreadsheet looks gorgeous :D
 
I can't believe I'm saying this, but I think it might be more nerve-wracking dealing with these wonderful numbers than when Eddie was hitting every color in the rainbow every day.

I completely understand what you mean, Jen. I was a basket case in the reds and pinks, but I went off the deep end when we finally hit consistent greens. The high and low ranges each bring with them their own unique set of worries. :nailbiting:

It was always my understanding that under 120 was considered the upper limit of the normal range. I know Eddie has had a few numbers above that, and I'm not sure how the protocol would address those instances. My two cents' would be to follow your instincts. You understand Eddie so well, and you have to trust that knowledge. If you reduced, would you take it down to .4mm?

Have a great night!
Shelly

(P.S. Jersey is still keeping me on my toes. In case you missed her 1/21 condo, it was here.)
 
Hi Shelly! Thanks for stopping by! :woot::woot::woot:

I did see Jersey's condo. :cool: I'm so glad to read she's still trying to do you in. If she weren't, I'd be concerned. Did she actually almost manage to purchase a $500 bike? I kept meaning to post back on her condo to clarify how exactly that happened.
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif


It seems like there's a few different versions of what "normal" is supposed to be floating around here, but I know there's one that basically says "mostly" normal numbers. I don't know what "mostly" means. Should he be lower overall?? I'm half kidding but half serious about skipping the +1's. I mean, seems kind of silly that an SS with no +1 tests that shows no food spikes would be interpreted as "normal" where Eddie's would not be "normal" since he food spikes at +1. I'm probably reading into it too much, but I fret since each time he's gone down in dose lately, his numbers have further improved. I'd not want to miss taking him down and hold a dose longer than he needs it. And, he's just not going below 50 anymore since I suspect his pancreas is doing what it's supposed to to keep him pretty even keeled. KWIM?

He'd still have to go two more days if I assumed that his last 5 days are "normal" before a reduction, but if I did, you are correct...it would be a 1/8u (0.2mm) reduction down from 0.375u (0.6mm) to 0.25u (0.4mm).
 
Last edited:
Did she actually almost manage to purchase a $500 bike? I kept meaning to post back on her condo to clarify how exactly that happened.
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif

The cc company called and asked me if I had tried to make a $500 purchase from some bicycle shop, which I hadn't. Since Jersey had just rifled through the file cabinet again, I assumed it must be her. A bit of a stretch on my part, maybe. ;) (I'm going to have to go back and get the old smileys. These new ones still freak me out a little bit.)

I do know exactly what you mean, and I don't think you're over-thinking it at all. Like I said, you understand Eddie really well. Have you thought about doing a .1mm reduction to see if the numbers go down a bit more - even if it hasn't been a full 7 days in all "normal" numbers? I'm just brainstorming here....so take it for what it's worth. Hopefully others will chime in with their thoughts.

You might also take a peek at Blackie's ss if you haven't already. I know Angela was going to take a reduction for a week of "mostly" normal numbers. I haven't checked in yet to see how it's going. ECID, of course, but it might give you some additional info that would be helpful.
 
@Shelly & Jersey Thank you!!! :bighug:

The cc company called and asked me if I had tried to make a $500 purchase from some bicycle shop, which I hadn't.

Oh! Hahahahaha! I thought maybe she walked across your keyboard and accidentally placed an order for something. I could see her doing that though. Better not give her any ideas...;)

I agree on the smiley's. I sincerely miss the laughing one, and there just isn't a good substitute.
icon_lol.gif


Have you thought about doing a .1mm reduction to see if the numbers go down a bit more - even if it hasn't been a full 7 days in all "normal" numbers?

I hadn't considered that, but not a bad idea, just to "test the waters" so to speak? I lean towards waiting a the full 7 days with 120 or under except food spikes to try any reduction...

You might also take a peek at Blackie's ss if you haven't already.

Brilliant idea! I've been keeping an eye on Blackie's SS but mostly just for purposes of admiring all the green rather than seeing what Angela's using for criteria for a week in normal numbers. Maybe I'll do some forum searching and try to locate some other SS's where there's been a reduction based on normal numbers to get a better feel for what parameters are generally being used.
 
Last edited:
The keyboard thing would actually be less of a stretch, wouldn't it? Of course, I would never have a bicycle website pulled up because bicycles = exercise. And "exercise" & "Shelly" don't go together. Thus, Jersey must have gotten the credit card statement out of the file cabinet, pulled up the website by herself, and tried to make a purchase.

If you're doing a full 7 days of normal numbers, I don't know that you would necessarily want to take just a .1mm reduction. Wouldn't the standard reduction, per protocol, be .25 units (whatever that equates to on the calipers)? I hope other ss's can shed some light on a good course of action for Eddie.

Sorry I can't be of more help!
 
If you're doing a full 7 days of normal numbers, I don't know that you would necessarily want to take just a .1mm reduction. Wouldn't the standard reduction, per protocol, be .25 units (whatever that equates to on the calipers)?

Yeah, generally I think a quarter unit is what the protocol calls for, but Eddie's one of those tricky ones that seems to prefer smaller reductions. :cat: For the last few months, almost all of his reductions were 1/8 rather than a full quarter, although when he was dropping down in dose really fast in late November and December, sometimes I'd do the 1/8 reduction and then take another 1/8 reduction within one or two cycles later, just to keep up with him. :D
 
Wowza!!! I have an idea....don't test at +1 and then we won't see those spikes :) Just kidding.

Actually, I think I'd give it just a bit more time and see if a few of those numbers (not the food spike ones), come down just a little bit more and he's closer to 100 and/or under so the reduction will hold.
 
Thanks Wendy and Marje. Those SS's are helpful. Those kitties were more green (even ignoring the +1's ;)). I think he's a bit too high yet overall, so we'll keep on keeping on. :cool:
 
I'm glad you got your answer. About the +1 factor though I have to wonder if they matter since even a civvie would increase after eating.
 
I'm with Elise. I never test at +1. Of course, I'm not saying I'm smarter than anyone else - maybe just lazier! ;) Seriously, a +1 seems like it would only be useful if you really need an early read on where a kitty is going - if it's lower than PS, the cycle is probably going to be pretty active. Gosh, I don't usually get that technical. We're back to the lazy thing now.

Whatever you're doing, it's working wonderfully, Jen, and I think you should try to relax and not over analyze it. Eddie will let you know when he's ready for a reducie. Meanwhile, good job! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top