? 1/27 PMPS 239, +2 229, +3.2 219, +7 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

Not sure what is going on with Ozzy's cycles. The last two he had nice blues and greens but a pink PS last night and then his cycle today is all yellow so far.

What is he bouncing from (when)? Or do you think the .5U is too little. He did have a few back to back reductions. He is on his 10th cycle of .5U and is in the yellows but yesterday he had some good numbers on this dose.

Thoughts???
 
He could be bouncing up from yesterday-- he's seen a lot of blues and greens lately, but that doesn't mean his body is entirely used to them yet. How does he seem to be feeling today?
 
Sorry I missed your tag yesterday.

It looks to me like yesterday's a.m. cycle ended in yellow and pink numbers due to lack of duration, not a bounce. He came back down again last night when his shot onset. That large drop between PMPS and +2 likely triggered a bounce today.
 
Ozzy is going to the vet today. I am a little nervous for him.

I know I should expect his BG to raise from Vet Stress. When should it come back down if this is what influences a higher number?
 
It looks to me like yesterday's a.m. cycle ended in yellow and pink numbers due to lack of duration, not a bounce. He came back down again last night when his shot onset. That large drop between PMPS and +2 likely triggered a bounce today.
Ok, I did give him a skinny .5U yesterday so maybe that's what caused the lack of duration.
 
At the vet's today, this is my agenda of topics to discuss are:
  • request a geriatric blood panel with super chem, CBC, thyroid, and specfPL
  • ask about the anemia on the 12/5 lab- what could cause that?
  • Discuss recent elevated liver enzymes
  • discuss lumpy kidneys shown on last ultra sound- what should we be concerned for/looking out for
  • discuss pancreatitis and elevated precision PL (thus request for specfPL test)- what should we be concerned for/looking out for
  • Discuss vomiting/loose stools
  • Discuss diet
  • Discus insulin dosing on lantus and TR protocol
  • discuss recent DKA hx
Anything else we should be thinking of???
 
He could be bouncing up from yesterday-- he's seen a lot of blues and greens lately, but that doesn't mean his body is entirely used to them yet. How does he seem to be feeling today?
I haven't noticed him acting very different yet. It's the afternoon here and usually he is sleepy and lazy now and like to sunbathe through the window-so that's what he is doing. His appetite is great.
 
At the vet's today, this is my agenda of topics to discuss are:
  • request a geriatric blood panel with super chem, CBC, thyroid, and specfPL
  • ask about the anemia on the 12/5 lab- what could cause that?
  • Discuss recent elevated liver enzymes
  • discuss lumpy kidneys shown on last ultra sound- what should we be concerned for/looking out for
  • discuss pancreatitis and elevated precision PL (thus request for specfPL test)- what should we be concerned for/looking out for
  • Discuss vomiting/loose stools
  • Discuss diet
  • Discus insulin dosing on lantus and TR protocol
  • discuss recent DKA hx
Anything else we should be thinking of???
Looks good but you might not hear what you want to on the insulin dosing, lantus, and TR protocol. Be prepared for them to tell you that you are shooting too low and he should not be at those green numbers. Be sure they know you are using a human meter which may not mean much to them. I hope you have found a FD savvy vet but just be prepared. The first time I saw a specialist about Gracie’s dosing, she told me I was killing her and she didn’t need insulin. She’d never been below 90 mg/dL on a human meter. I tried to reduce the dose instead of stop insulin (which is what she suggested) and her BG skyrocketed just as they told me here that it would do.

Good luck!!! (I do think the anemia might have been DKA related but good to get it from the vet). Also...the specfPL is an add on...it’s not part of a geriatric panel.
 
Neko was one of those that dove at the vet. Good luck with the visit. You might want to discuss meds to have on your shelf for when he needs something. Typically they go off late at night or the weekend. :rolleyes: Neko's vet had a list of meds I could get anytime on her file, so I didn't need a vet visit.
 
20170127_150441.jpg
 
Ozzy is at the vet now and so super scared. cried his eyes out whole way here.
Oh! That is just the worst, it breaks your heart. I have a civvie like that, by the time she gets to the vet she's almost catatonic-- makes the exam easy because she's so limp and passive, but I almost prefer super-feisty Amber's behavior (even if the vet techs wince when they see she's on the schedule!).

Poor Ozzy-- it'll be done soon, dude! Then you'll get to go home!
 
They prescribe lantus here and are very experienced with it (as opposed to my other vet)!! I feel like I am at the right place right now. Still waiting to be seen
 
For my scaredy cat, I spray the inside of the carrier with Feliway and give a couple drops of Rescue Remedy the morning before we go. It really improved Neko's blood pressure readings when I did that.

Poor lil Ozzy. Hate it when they shiver. :(
 
put the feliway plug in in his carrier but didbt seem to help. Guess if you're scared, you're scared. Going to run a full panel on him so really glad we are here. Won't have results until tomorrow sometime. Vet was pressing on his pancreas and he kinda sniffed out kind of hard. Not sure if it was painful or if he just didn't like him pushing on his tum tum.
 
ozzy has a hot spot on back. vet prescribimg him topical tx with steriods and antibiotics but its topical. is that ok to give? I thought I read somewhere steriods are not good with diabetics.

Also prescribing him pepcid. She said thats the only thing to help with the stomach acid issues. I know most are not a fan of that here. Wonder why he is getting acid tummy.
 
We are back from the vets. Ozzy did so well at the vets that she commented on how good he was being during his exam. It appears he is about the same weight so he hasn't really gained/or lost weight in the last 6 weeks.

I tested Ozzy's BG right before we left and it was 246 at +8. Tested him again right when we got home (a little over an hour later) and it was 241 @ +9.5. I was a little surprised it didn't bounce up crazy. I realized that Ozzy is more scared of the car ride than anything. Poor kitty.

I talked with the vet a little more about TR and asked if she knew about it/has heard of it and she said once at a seminar but didn't really know about it. I asked her how they treat with lantus at her practice and what their protocol was. She said that they usually start their kitties on 1 unit and then do a BG curve a week later and adjust the dose accordingly. I asked her if any of her patients home test and she said no. She was really surprised that we home test and how frequently we do it. I didn't bring Ozzy's SS because I was not able to print it out, but I might have shocked her a little with it so maybe it is a good thing.

We will have more answers tomorrow after Ozzy's blood work comes in.

He came straight home and ran to his food bowl for his missed 3pm snack. He was always a little nervous eater. o_O

So we will know more tomorrow.....
 
Maybe she will be one of those vets that doesn't mind learning. I would definitely take or send her a copy of the protocol. If you have her email you could send it that way.

A lot of kitties are more upset by the car ride than the vet. Both of my boys were that way.
 
The only issue I have with the R/R study is that the test sample of diabetic cats was so small. If I recall correctly, it was like 30 something cats but the results were amazing. I really wish someone else would repeat the study with a larger sample of cats (hundreds or more) as I think this would help be more convincing. Just saying....:eek:
 
I tested Ozzy's BG right before we left and it was 246 at +8. Tested him again right when we got home (a little over an hour later) and it was 241 @ +9.5. I was a little surprised it didn't bounce up crazy.
Didn't think about it till just now, but maybe that feliaway did work and that's why his BG never shot up. Hmmm..
 
The only issue I have with the R/R study is that the test sample of diabetic cats was so small. If I recall correctly, it was like 30 something cats but the results were amazing. I really wish someone else would repeat the study with a larger sample of cats (hundreds or more) as I think this would help be more convincing. Just saying....:eek:
I believe it was more like 50 and yes, as a scientist, I agree it’s a small sample size and it wasn’t really a scientifically designed research experiment. So, flaws? Yes. But it works for many, many cats. It isn’t the only method out there but I’ve read about many and it’s the one I liked and had the most faith in.

It’s good her geriatric panel includes specfPL because most do not. Urine...yes....I forgot that it does include that. Paws crossed on the results.

I think I’ve linked the information on why pepcid is not a good idea. It’s up to you, though. Insofar as topical steroids....well, he’s already diabetic and you can adjust the dose. Unless it is in a spot that he can’t get to, he will lick it off and ingest it and his little buddy can as well if they bathe each other. It was topical steroids that put Gracie over the top and into FD. But, if he needs relief and you can’t find anything else, again, it’s your decision.

For hot spots, I like witch hazel and you can find it in Rejuva Spray which I have used for feline acne.
 
Vet asked me what Ozzy's BG numbers were today. I told her he was in good numbers yesterday but was on a bounce today...you should have seen me trying to explain what bouncing is... LOL!:woot::woot::woot:
 
Insofar as topical steroids....well, he’s already diabetic and you can adjust the dose. Unless it is in a spot that he can’t get to, he will lick it off and ingests it and his little buddy can as well if they bathe each other
This! Exactly! I haven't given it to him yet. I was waiting for feedback but seems stupid to give a topical steroid to a cat and think they won't lick it off. Of course it's in a place he can reach and lick, that's how he got the hot spot to begin with.:facepalm:o_O I usually just put Neosporin or aloe vera gel (from inside the plant I pick off in my garden) or just leave it alone and it goes away. I really wasn't even overly concerned with it TBH.
 
Hey Jo...been thinking about u and Ozzy today and now I see why ...what a busy day you've had :woot:. Praying all labs come back as good reports :bighug::) and that ur back is healed and strong :). Elmo said to tell Ozzy he is sorry he had to go in that box to the smelly place( aka vets:() but that he was very brace :cat::cat::cat:. Hugs to u and all your boys :bighug:
 
ey Jo...been thinking about u and Ozzy today and now I see why ...what a busy day you've had :woot:. Praying all labs come back as good reports :bighug::) and that ur back is healed and strong :). Elmo said to tell Ozzy he is sorry he had to go in that box to the smelly place( aka vets:() but that he was very brace :cat::cat::cat:. Hugs to u and all your boys :bighug:
Thanks Beth! You are so sweet. hugs n kisses to you and Elmo, too! How is he doing? Are you spot checking him or on a pokey break?
 
Oh Jo , it is both a relief and challenge to test less. Control freak that I am , I want to know :eek:. Elmo is a bit constipated which messes with his numbers which I don't like . I have about decided that I am done with commercial can food and ready to explore and switch to homemade but will have to wait cos going to St. Louis for my Mom's checkup and then bring her down here for a visit. But deciding and switching to homemade is priority number one .
 
Good for you!! They have kits that can help...just add to the raw food and mix. please keep us posted! Have you tried pumpkin to help with the constipation?
 
Good job being brave at the vet, Ozzy!!! I hope that the results are all good!
Taffy understands about the car ride. This is why we gave up on going to our favorite vet bcuz he is too far, so we go to the closest acceptable clinic. Taffy always pees, sometimes poops, and often vomits during the ride. At the vet, he is fine! They always love him, he is a good patient.
I bet Ozzy is super relieved to be back home!
Taffy got pretty stalled up at this dose, too after several reducies. I tried to stick it out, but we moved back up to .075u...Hoping you see some lower numbers this weekend.
Before you go to pepcid, do try the SEB + aloe before bed, and leave out plain snacks.
 
Just so you know, a flat yellow cycle or two often means an active one is coming. Good thing tomorrow is Saturday!
Oh geez...Ok, thanks for heads up. Guess be careful what you wish for, eh??

Bob just said something similar...said his depot is probably filling back up and he's going to go for another ride here soon. We actually didn't give him the last reduction he earned. He got 4 from Monday to Monday but we held the last one (fourth) and he has been on .5U for the last 11 cycles.

I wish he would just regulate/stabilize on a single dose so we could have some predictability. But I guess it's good he keeps coming down in dose and we are hopeful he will come off insulin altogether.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top