1/27 Rosa AMPS 478 +6 240 +9 409 PMPS 489 +2 450

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi April!

Just something to throw out there while we have time to discuss it....With Rosa still hanging out in those high numbers, it might be worth considering putting her on the "fast track". Occasionally we'll suggest fast tracking for cats that are staying high too long, and I think she may be one to benefit from it

Fast tracking is just increasing every 4 cycles instead of every 6 until you start to get some better numbers

Hopefully some of the others will check in during the day and offer an opinion on the idea

You test enough that I think it'd be safe for you to try
 
Thanks - I did wonder about that but then I wasn't sure if she's bouncing as I'm getting the occasional lower number. If that was the case, might I not make it worse by increasing more often?
 
Come on down Rosa - how about at least some yellow today?

I'd stick to this dose for 6 cycles and then evaluate. The "fast track" that Chris mentioned is only for kitties stuck in high numbers, and Rosa got down to blue at the last dose. Rosa is just bouncy. She'll probably need another increase, but give this dose a chance first.
 
Yellow would be nice! I think she will need a dose increase, but my concern was that if she's bouncing and I don't give the bounce a chance to settle she could finish up missing her optimal dose. I'll go with the 6 cycles and see where she's at then and take it from there. Thank you.
 
Thank you - that does make sense. So, reading from that, I keep the dose as it is for another 2 cycles unless I start seeing a consistent nadir in the blue zone or better. If she's still coming in above that, then I increase the dose.
 
I'd give her 6 cycles and see what nadirs you get - we can see that little miss Rosa isn't staying very long in good numbers when she gets there. The 240 at +6 today looks like she might be clearing a bounce. You might want to get another test around +9ish and see if she's lower. That information might be helpful when you get to pmps.
 
Thank you - I'll try that. She always did like to be a little difficult :P Clearly she's decided not to co-operate consistently with her dose just yet! She does seem to bounce any time she gets a yellow number. I suppose it's to be expected as she was so very high to begin with. As she's had a few more numbers in the pink and red zones in between the yellows the last few days I'm hoping she'll start to bounce less as her body gets used to the BG being at a lower level. She does seem to have gained back just a little of the weight she'd lost in the last month or two over the last few days - I can still feel her spine under her fur, but it seems to have just a tiny bit more covering on it now and she's definitely a little happier in herself since starting the treatment. I can always tell when she's having a good day because she really doesn't quite see the point in me testing her when she's feeling 'just fine, thanks' though she does still let me do it.
 
OK Rosa...if you can just stop there and stay just that little bit under 500 for me I'll take it. You don't need to bounce all the way back up and that number's close to this morning's pre-shot.
 
Good to hear she's feeling better! that matters!

with the rest of your tests, it now looks like that 240 wasn't a bounce clearing, but that was just her nadir for this cycle. No black today - that's a good thing!
 
It does. Even our housemate said tonight that she's got more light in her eyes the last couple of days. :)

I think it must have been - looks like the bounce might have cleared last night. I need to try and get a +4 from her tomorrow as that was her lowest point on her curve day (maybe she knew if the numbers were off that day the vet would insist on seeing her again!) to make sure I'm not missing a lower point just that bit earlier in the cycle. I'm happy with no black - it hasn't happened much so far so with any luck her evening shot will start to kick in and keep her out of the black for a whole day.
 
i usually tell people to think of the spreadsheet as a jigsaw puzzle. if you have a sprinkling of tests all across the ss, you can see pretty clearly what's going on. if people only have preshots, or only have +6 because they think that the nadir is always then, then it's like we have a stripe in the jigsaw puzzle. or just edge pieces - you get what i mean. you don't necessarily need more tests, just mix it up when you get them. something early in the cycle one day, later in the cycle another time. You're already doing a good job of getting tests at different times, i'm just explaining.

We have had plenty of cats that have early nadirs with their lowest numbers around +3 or so. Cats like to keep us guessing. :smuggrin:

i think the night of 1/25 she may have gone lower and when she was at amps 279 yesterday morning, she was on her way back up. Look how she went straight up the rest of that day - 279 - 328 - 500 - HI - HI. the fact that she went straight up from amps til last night screams bounce from something the night before. Cats don't have to go low to bounce, just lower than their body has gotten accustomed to. She might've only gotten to 220 during those late night 1/25 hours and that could've been enough to trigger a new bounce.

Does that make sense?
 
That does make sense, thank you. And yes, I'm trying to test at different times most days. I'm just thinking maybe another +4 tomorrow as that seemed to be her nadir on the curve day (though of course I could have missed it by an hour either way). +4 at night is doable some days, but not every day as that takes us to after 1am so it really depends on how tired I am - sometimes it's +2 and straight to bed. I'm just interested to see if she is a bit lower before her +6. And of course with all those HI's, even the 300's must have seemed very low to her body right now.

And yes, she'll keep me guessing if she can - she never has liked to be predictable!! I'm sitting here very happy at the moment because in spite of all the tests she's just climbed up on my lap for a snuggle so apparently she forgives me for poking her with needles a few times every day! :D Though her favorite post-test treat has turned out not to be food at all, but to be cuddled and told how brave she is - if she can sit on my lap for the test and then cuddle afterwards, she's a happy kitty. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top