1/27 Scratches AMPS 170 +2 128..update from the highs she had this weekend. Thoughts?

Scratches123

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-amps-179-2-231-i-have-more-questions.224812/

Scratches had a rough weekend. Not sure why but her sugar was high all weekend and I did notice she was more mellow than she has been. I wondered if a dose increase was needed but I was told yesterday to be patient and see what her sugar was last night. Well, she's back in the blues now :) I'm just a little curious what I do if she is to stay in the blues? Do I leave the dose where it is? Or do I need to see greens also in order to leave the dose where it is and not increase? I'm sorry for all these questions all the time, I'm just trying to make sense of the TR protocol and it's really just easier for me to ask rather than re-read the protocol and try to understand it by myself. I've never felt worse about trying to learn something as I do about learning this. It's really hard! Usually i'm smart and I catch on to things really well but not this.

Anyway..My mom gave Scratches a new cat tower and that's where shes been perched almost all weekend. She loves it! She can jump right up there and jump down all on her own. Three months ago, she couldn't jump on my bed so I had to take my bed all apart and now I have it on the floor so she can get up there. So, it's really nice to see the change in her. We also started her on Zobaline around four days ago, idk how long that takes to get into kitties system but i'm sure that is working for her as well.

I hope everyone had a nice weekend!
 
Hopefully my reply will bring some eyes to your post. At any rate it'll bump you up;)
With TR you can increase every 3 days/6cycles if you're not seeing greens. One of the seasoned folks can take a look at your SS and make suggestions.
It takes time to get use to the different dosing methods. Don't fret...it'll become second nature before long. We all learn differently. If asking questions is how you learn best, then ask away. You're learning is the important thing:)
Maybe someone more experienced will be along soon.
Isn't it nice to see Scratches starting to get back to her old self. Glad she's enjoying the cat tower!:cat:
Have a great day!
 
She's in the green! She's at 62. I'm home on break. She's eating some pate (leftovers from this mornings breakfast and snack) and I will test her again in twenty to make sure she's rising a bit. I asked if I could come home one more time during the day to test her. I'll come home in an hour or two to test. She's at +5 now so she probably won't drop much lower (I hope). I can't stay here and watch her. The reduction number for TR is 50 correct? I swear this kitty is going to give me a heart attack..all weekend I wondered if I needed to increase. Now her sugar is 62. Haha. Jeeezzzzz!!!

Someone did mention they wondered if her high numbers this weekend were a bounce so now I'm thinking that maybe they were.
 
For long-term diabetic kitties it's 3 drops below 50 or 1 drop below 40. For newly diagnosed it's 1 drop below 50.

Sorry @Briere Fur Mom, the above isn't correct. First, Scratches was diagnosed in September of 2019. A "long term" diabetic is a cat that is more than a year post-diagnosis. Scratches still has about 8+ months before she's considered long term. A cat doesn't need to be long term to use the option for 3 drops into the 40 - 50 range to get a dose reduction. It's an option. Some people who have cats that bounce a great deal may use that method even if their cat is less than a year from diagnosis. Basically a long term diabetic cat who's caregiver is following TR waits until the numbers drop below 40.

Scratches' numbers fell below 68 which is the dose reduction point with an AT meter. You'll want to reduce Scratches dose to 0.25u this evening. Congrats!

As for the higher numbers over the weekend, any chance that Scratches found contraband?
 
with an AT meter.
Totally overlooked the meter. Thanks for correcting me.
Scratches still has about 8+ months before she's considered long term.
I never said Scratches was long-term diabetic. If that was how it was interpreted, my apologies. I was just articulating what I thought the reduction rules are. Apparently I need to revisit the dosing guidelines to refresh my memory.
A cat doesn't need to be long term to use the option for 3 drops into the 40 - 50 range to get a dose reduction.
I didn't know that. Unless you're referring to cats that don't hold reductions well. Is this in the TR dosing guidelines sticky that I totally overlooked?
Knowledge is power!

ETA: My apologies @Scratches123 for misinforming you. Thx goodness Sienne was around to give you correct info.:)
 
Last edited:
Scratches' numbers fell below 68 which is the dose reduction point with an AT meter. You'll want to reduce Scratches dose to 0.25u this evening. Congrats!
I am switching to the relion prime at some point this week. The strips came in, I'll go to my mother's and grab them when I can. I've had the meter for a bit when my alpha trak broke. I think dosing questions and posting here sugar will be easier for everyone to comment since most everyone has a human meter.
 
As for the higher numbers over the weekend, any chance that Scratches found contraband
I got these new treats on Thursday and gave her some Thursday and Friday. They're whole hearted brand whole filets. I got chicken, salmon, and tuna. They're one ounce packages. I gave her approx a third of the salmon one Thursday and a third Friday, if I remember correctly. I'm not sure I gave her any Saturday. And none since. Could this be the reason? There's no other ingredients in them. Also, I do have a dog who sometimes doesn't finish his meals but they HATE each other and Scratches rarely ever goes into the living room where his food is. Maybe she snuck some of his food, but I doubt it. I will put his food away from now on when I am sleeping and not home just in case
 
Back
Top