? 1/28 Blaze amps 144 +2.75 88 PMPS 156 +2 55 +2.75 50 +3.5 77 +4 84(Does 50 earn reduction?)

+2.75 is 88 and I’m leaving for work soon:facepalm:
Gave him some higher MC and put some in the auto feeder on top of the Lc snacks too.
 
I see Blaze is keeping you on your toes. Glad he let you get some sleep last night. Sending prayers for you and your family. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
He sure is!:facepalm:

I didn’t sleep too well last night, even though I was exhausted from the funeral. I’m going to work today, DH took the day off from work so I’ll have him keep an eye on Blaze since he’s already in the lagoon this morning.
 
+2.75 is 50. So this earns a reduction?


Under TR, for a new diabetic I believe so.
Unless you are on a modified TR for those that don't hold reductions well. Some are taking reductions for 3x under (50). You were at 0.5 units over a week, so I don't think that holding reductions is a problem.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ng-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/

Someone with more experience might be able to be let you know if/when you might need to adjust your reductions so you don't run out of "space" for them with your dosing. Not much room behind 0.25 units to shave anything off.
 
Under TR, for a new diabetic I believe so.
Unless you are on a modified TR for those that don't hold reductions well. Some are taking reductions for 3x under (50). You were at 0.5 units over a week, so I don't think that holding reductions is a problem.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ng-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/

Someone with more experience might be able to be let you know if/when you might need to adjust your reductions so you don't run out of "space" for them with your dosing. Not much room behind 0.25 units to shave anything off.
We have been at this since August 2019 so we are definitely still in the newly diabetic category. Blaze has been doing pretty good holding reductions so with this 50 tonight, we will take the reduction and start with 0.25U tomorrow morning. I know some people do the 3x under 50 before a reduction, but I think that’s people with more experience, right? And for kitties who don’t hold reductions well?

I guess we will see how 0.25U works out for Blaze, if we have to go back up the dosing ladder, then we do. But he earned the reduction so I will give it a try! I figured Blaze was working on a reduction with last nights lows and then that 55 at +2 tonight :facepalm:
 
Now that I’m re-reading the “earring reductions” sticky, it says they earn a reduction under 50, so does the 50 tonight not actually earn a reduction?
 
Last edited:
The more I read, the more I’m thinking this 50 BG tonight does not earn a reduction. I think it’s 49 and lower that earns a reduction on TR. Hopefully someone responds before amps tomorrow, but I’m thinking we stay at 0.5U until Blaze is under 50. It’s confusing though because I fed him 20% at +2 when he was at 55 and again at +2.75 when he was at 50, so I’m sure if I hadn’t given him 20%, he would have dropped below 50 and earned the reduction. But I guess it doesn’t matter?
 
The more I read, the more I’m thinking this 50 BG tonight does not earn a reduction. I think it’s 49 and lower that earns a reduction on TR. Hopefully someone responds before amps tomorrow, but I’m thinking we stay at 0.5U until Blaze is under 50. It’s confusing though because I fed him 20% at +2 when he was at 55 and again at +2.75 when he was at 50, so I’m sure if I hadn’t given him 20%, he would have dropped below 50 and earned the reduction. But I guess it doesn’t matter?

I like that better :) Gives Blaze more time in these nicer numbers.
Sounds good !
I try no to think about what they " might have" done and just use the data I have. Otherwise, I'll drive myself mad.
 
You are correct, we look for under 50 fore newly diagnosed diabetics. The higher carb may have slowed him down, but a kitty will usually find the 40’s if they really want a reduction. I don’t think you’ll have a long wait.
 
Back
Top