1/28 George AMPS 87 +1.5 44 +2.66 33 PMPS 255 +1.5 298

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gill & George

Member Since 2015
Morning all,:coffee::coffee::coffee:

Vines and hugs go out to those who need them.

recap
amps 139:cool: +1 116:cool: +3.5 97:D +7 140:cool: +9.25 125:cool:
pmps 147:cool: +2 174:cool: +3 137:cool: +4 116:cool:

Yesterdays Post


Yesterday was an encouraging day even if he was running a little higher than I wanted, he was still in blue and as Wendy pointed out his depot is probably still sorting itself out, in any case it meant that I could enjoy a nice walk out without worrying too much.:)

Good nights sleep, but got an early morning call, George woke at 6am and was super purry and snuggly, but kept pawing me in the face as soon as I stopped giving him scritches if I dosed off:rolleyes: So that 87 didn't really surprise me! He gets very cuddly when he is in green:D

Nice to see a lower AMPS again, it's the first one since the holiday break and also the first one on this 1.75 dose :D:D Keeping paws crossed that this dose continues to be a good one for him.

Need to pop out to town later on this morning, hope I can manage to slip out, though it's not critical that I do, so we shall have to wait and see how he does in the early part of this cycle.
 
I really didn't expect that he has been snoozing peacefully since his Breakfast, usually if he drops he will come and beg for food, he woke up and came to sit on my ap for his test when I called hims so not lethargic at al
44@+1.5

given two tsp of hc 13% checking at +2
should I give more big guns carbs, its pretty early in the cycle?
 
Wait to see where he is at +2, but be ready! Looks like he's on a mission!
That's what I decided to do, he does seem to be on a shark hunt mission!!!:eek:
+2 42
Given 2 tsp HC 21% (extra :coffee::coffee::coffee: for the bean)
Have some 30% will give that if he doesn't show signs of coming up in 15 min, we haven't even hit his onset yet usually more around +3

testing again @ 2.25
 
Good call. The drop has slowed a bit, but I think you're in for a long night. Congrats on the reduction. I think, since he has nothing left to prove, I'd go with the higher carb if he isn't headed back up a little on the next test. I know this isn't your first rodeo, but remember the HC can wear off and he could drop again, so don't get complacent.
 
42@ +2.25
given 2 tsp HC 30% (one of the tsp all gravy)
He's lapping up his 4th course in his all you can it breakfast buffet, (think there may well be more courses to come) never new I would be so grateful that he was such a guzzler. I hope the big guns do the trick, guess he isn't coming up easily so he seems to have earned his reduction! Yay! for an on the line dose, hope he holds it though:nailbiting:

testing @ +2.66

Good call. The drop has slowed a bit, but I think you're in for a long night. Congrats on the reduction. I think, since he has nothing left to prove, I'd go with the higher carb if he isn't headed back up a little on the next test. I know this isn't your first rodeo, but remember the HC can wear off and he could drop again, so don't get complacent.

I am in Spain, so it' morning over here, more of a rude awakening than a PJ party;)

When he drops like this complacency is never on the cards, paranoia sets in, tends to bring on a poking frenzie!! Was planning a trip out into town, but as it's not crucial, that will be postponed till tomorrow morning if His Lordship permits:rolleyes:

He seems to be doing fine he has been eyeing up the birds in the bird bath luckily for them, from behind the patio doors! So he is alert and chirpy.
 
33@ +2.66

OK panicking now!!
Honey in gums, 2tsp hc 30% and another drop of honey on food
George is behaving normally, alert and chirpy

testing in 15 min
 
+2.86 40 tested after 10 min couldn't wait the full 15! he is up at 40, not out of the woods, he has at least come up, but hopefully this is a sign he is going up.

he continues to behave normally, went for a poop after his honey and HC, came up for a treat and a poke and has now retired to his spot and is preening himsef.
 
Hang in there. You're doing the right stuff. How far are you from the nearest vet? Just in case he keeps dropping.

Sorry, I knew you lived in Spain. Just slipped my mind. :facepalm: That's good, though - not the middle of the night for you!
 
Just about to test again, yes I have plenty of supplies food and test strips.
Vet is 30min away. I hope I don't need to go, was in my jim jams but have got dressed, just in case I need to fly, I know to keep dosing him with honey on the way if I need to.
I think he will come up now, once he starts up he usually carrys on (anti jinx)
Thanks for the support.
 
Sure. It helps just to know someone's there when there's a crisis. I'm glad you have a handle on it, 'cause I really should hit the sack soon - it's 2 am here.
43.gif
28.gif
 
43 @+3

giving more HC 30% 2tsp, squeeaing the gravy out, with a bit of honey too, then testing in 15 min

He is still alert, and chirpy trotting over to his feed station when I call thank god for his insatiable appy!
 
AMPS 87
+1.5 44 HC 15% 2tsp
+2 42 HC 20% 2 tsp
+2.25 43 HC 30% 2tsp (1 tsp all gravy)
+2.66 33 Honey on gums and 2tsp 30% plus a drop of honey in food/ george went for poop
+2.86 40 2tsp HC squeezning out gravy and 1 drop of honey for good measure
+3 43 2tsp HC no honey at this point
+3.25 52

Ok above 50 now will wait 20min, no food given now. He's coming up but not fast considering all the HC he has had(perhaps he has thought better of continuing with this shark expedition when he heard the mention of the V E T ;))!!

Hope he comes up and surfs but right now I would happily take a bit of trampoline action, these shark hunts are not good for the nerves:rolleyes: he probably was just hankering after a bit of extra attention.
 
Last edited:
+3.6 55 flat not rising

Going to give some 13% it's been 45 minutes since I gave last bit of HC and has only come up 7 points and it is early in the cycle, want to try to avoid him dropping further, and since he has proved that he has earned his reduction, I just don't want him going low again, he has probably had enough honey for today!!!
Lets see if I can encourage him to surf a little closer to shore:D
 
George! Are you trying to get back at momma for going away for a few days!!?? Well, at least he let you get a nice walk in yesterday. How long will you need to keep testing to make sure he is going to stay up? When is his onset?
 
+4 47
2 tsp more HC and a drop of honey. Starting to wonder if I have faulty honey and HC:confused::confused::confused::blackeye::blackeye::blackeye:
His breakfast buffet is turning into an all day buffet, he still trots up to eat, he has had his regulr 75g (30z) of LC plus almost all of a 3oz can of HC 30% since amps this morning , plus 2tsp of 20% and 4tsp of 13%

When he has finished eating I am going to do a test with spare meter.
George! Are you trying to get back at momma for going away for a few days!!?? Well, at least he let you get a nice walk in yesterday. How long will you need to keep testing to make sure he is going to stay up? When is his onset?
His onset is usually about +2 to +3 and when he is having a normal cycle he nadirs around +6 to +7, but when he dives I have no idea where he is going, so I guess we should shortly see him go up.
 
Last edited:
AMPS 87
+1.5 44 HC 15% 2tsp
+2 42 HC 20% 2 tsp
+2.25 43 HC 30% 2tsp (1 tsp all gravy)
+2.66 33 Honey on gums and 2tsp 30% plus a drop of honey in food/ george went for poop
+2.86 40 2tsp HC squeezning out gravy and 1 drop of honey for good measure
+3 43 2tsp HC no honey at this point
+3.25 52
+3.6 55 2tsp 13%
+4 47 2tsp HC and 1drop of honey
+4.25 59
+4.5 (new pot of strips) 51 given two heaped tsp of HC 30% no honey(worried about making him sick with too much honey)

He seems well in himself, comes when called, has been playfu/, purry, peed, preened and pooped whilst all of this has been going on, and he is of course getting a bit pissed of with all the testing but super pleased with the extra fuds, don't understand why he isn't coming up on to our second 3 oz can of HC 30%

(I make that seven p's ;))

Seriously though I am a bit concerned he is not coming up and I am having to work so hard, have a thought crossing my mind that he may have gone real low one night at the petsitters when he was on 1.5 and bounced??? Or is that just me being neurotic?? (at the time I thought possible fur shot, sian didn't report any problems and she is a pretty experienced CG)
 
46@ +4.75 given 2tsp HC and 1 drop of honey

What is going on here??? We have been at this for over 3 hours now, and no signs of him moving up could there be something else going on??
 
47@+5.15 two tsp of HC and 1 drop of honey

Still not moving, but at least not dropping, have spoken to Georges vet, she closes between 1.30 and 5 (it's just gone 1pm) I have her mobile so I just wanted to keep her up to date with George just in case I need her when the surgery is shut. No such thing as an emergency vet here, anyways she's on standby should we need her, I just have to phone and head down to the surgery if there was and emergency, thinking he should start to come up soon as we are approaching +6 and the insulin should start to wane.

George continues to be behaving normally, wish I could say the same about his bean:blackeye::coffee::coffee::coffee:
 
AMPS 87 75g regular thrive 1.8%
+1.5 44 HC 15% 2tsp
+2 42 HC 20% 2 tsp
+2.25 43 HC 30% 2tsp (1 tsp all gravy)
+2.66 33 Honey on gums and 2tsp 30% plus a drop of honey in food/ george went for poop
+2.86 40 2tsp HC squeezning out gravy and 1 drop of honey for good measure
+3 43 2tsp HC no honey at this point
+3.25 52
+3.6 55 2tsp 13%
+4 47 2tsp HC 30% and 1drop of honey
+4.25 59
+4.5 (new pot of strips) 51 given two heaped tsp of HC 30% no honey(worried about making him sick with too much honey)
46@ +4.75 given 2tsp HC30% and 1 drop of honey
47@+5.15 two tsp of HC 30% and 1 drop of honey
46 @ +5.5 two tsp of high carb 30% lots of gravy and 1 drop of honey, he is eating it, but this time I had to bring bowl to his spot, he was too full to be bothered to come to his feed station, still seems alert no symptoms of hypo throughout. He has now scoffed his snack and is preening some more:rolleyes:

I hope I don't have to resort to assist feeding, and I hope he doesn't puke:eek:
 
Last edited:
If you can't get him up and stay up over 60 soon I'd be inclined to go to the vet. That is a lot of HC/Honey! However, it's just my opinion and I tend to be neurotic. You're doing great and glad there are no symptoms. Hopefully someone else will chime in or you're getting help from the cross post.
 
+6 63 no food will check in 15 min to make sure he is holding, he is pretty full, so don't want to chance him puking from eating so much.
If you can't get him up and stay up over 60 soon I'd be inclined to go to the vet. That is a lot of HC/Honey! However, it's just my opinion and I tend to be neurotic. You're doing great and glad there are no symptoms. Hopefully someone else will chime in or you're getting help from the cross post.
I think he heard you mention the vet, I have spoken to her about an hour ago, if he doesn't start to come up in the next hour or two I will be taking him in.
 
That is a lot of steering! I hope he will start to come up ASAP as you are coming upon nadir. Did you ever think you'd see BFG not want to eat??? Come on George. BTW,loved the 7th P! Keep us posted. Fingers and Paws crossed.:bighug:
 
That is a lot of steering! I hope he will start to come up ASAP as you are coming upon nadir. Did you ever think you'd see BFG not want to eat??? Come on George. BTW,loved the 7th P! Keep us posted. Fingers and Paws crossed.:bighug:

It's not so much that he doesn't want to eat as that he's not hungry enough to make to much effort, effort involving walking a few short steps from his spot to the feed station, he scoffed it when he got table service:rolleyes: But I do take it as a sign that he is quite full and might refuse food. he has had two tins (6oz of HC30%), I hope it doesn't make it into a hat trick.

I'm hoping that the 63 is the start of an upward trend now. 5 more minutes till I check again. Have been trying to get some housework done bewtween the testing feeding and coffee, may need something stronger by the end of the afternoon!:blackeye:
 
+7 95

Hasn't had any food for 1 1/2 hrs, so think we are OK now, but will check again @ +8 just to make sure he is staying up.

He is taking his siesta now.
28.gif


Hope he doesn't go to the moon, but at least he is up.

He has earned his reduction, no doubt, just want to ask whether I should just take a 0.25 or reduce him further??
I know that the TR calls for 0.25, just wondering if there is any circumstances where we should reduce further, it took so much to get him up that, frankly, it was a bit scary.

My concern is that I really struggled to get his numbers up 2 3oz cans of HC 30% and 4 tsp of 13 % and 2 tsp of 20%, and at the time he was intent on staying low, for over 3 hours. I just wonder whether the pinks that we saw unexpectedly on January 24th while he was at petsitters could have been a bounce from a low green?? I had originally thought fur shot or contraband, but after talking to Sian, contraband is out of the picture, and she doesn't think it was a fur shot. (she is an experienced CG, but there again anyone can have a fur shot)

Opinions/views/ advice appreciated
 
You really worked hard! I don't know the answer to the question. I am sure some one experienced will weigh in. Oh sure George, get some rest with your little siesta. Momma deserves a glass of wine.
 
You really worked hard! I don't know the answer to the question. I am sure some one experienced will weigh in. Oh sure George, get some rest with your little siesta. Momma deserves a glass of wine.
Think I am going to take a walk once I get the +8, the pups have missed out on their morning walk, and I could do with some fresh air. May save the wine for this evening;)
 
Gill you have done a great job! George has definitely earned a reducie, but I'm not experienced enough to give advice on how much. I'm sure one of the more experienced members will be along to help you. Michael did the same thing to me the other day, and
9 hrs later he came up to 113. I think this is more hard on us than on our kitties. They seem to enjoy all the fuds they get when this happens. The 95 is a good #. hope he stays up and surfs safe today.:)
 
Wow, it looks like Georgie's pancreas might be kicking in a bit! Great job handling the low numbers;)
My opinion is take the .25 reduction...taking .5 could just set things back. You can always reduce again in a few days if needed. I'm sure others will have different thoughts.
 
+8.5 157

Well safe to go on a walk lets see where he leaves me at pmps??

Gill you have done a great job! George has definitely earned a reducie, but I'm not experienced enough to give advice on how much. I'm sure one of the more experienced members will be along to help you. Michael did the same thing to me the other day, and
9 hrs later he came up to 113. I think this is more hard on us than on our kitties. They seem to enjoy all the fuds they get when this happens. The 95 is a good #. hope he stays up and surfs safe today.:)
Thanks Paua, I think you are right, George is oblivious to all the commotion! And being the fluffy type, he reallllly does like the extra fuds.

Don't think I didn't notice George, your BG came up just as you got full, you sneaky cat, you're meant to be loosing some fluff!!

Wow, it looks like Georgie's pancreas might be kicking in a bit! Great job handling the low numbers;)
My opinion is take the .25 reduction...taking .5 could just set things back. You can always reduce again in a few days if needed. I'm sure others will have different thoughts.
I think his +8.5 might be indicating a bounce?? or could it be lack of insulin with all those carbs???:confused::confused::confused:(still haven't got my head round that)
I'll probably go with the 0.25 but I will be Hawkeye Bean for the next few days at the very least!;)
 
Last edited:
You may have been too delicate with your intervention. It looks like you were using 13% HC. That's not HC -- it's medium carb. HC is over 15%. You may want to see if you can track down some food that's higher in carbs or add more than 1 drop of honey to George's food. In addition, not every cat is hugely HC sensitive. This is good data for you to know to help guide you in the future.

When Gabby didn't respond all that quickly to my first round of HC, I would be a bit more generous in order to bring her numbers up. It's also not unusual for numbers to wobble around the way they did today. It's one of the reasons we remind you to not be complacent if numbers do respond fairly quickly since they can drop back down.

You reduce by 0.25u.
 
Last edited:
Wow! This looks like a beautiful day to me. And he was fine through it all. That's excellent. I would think that you would stick with the recommended reduction amount but don't put that in your pipe and/or smoke it. For sure, wait for someone more experienced to weigh in.

But, maybe George is most comfortable on the low end. There's a normal "range" after all, and some significant number of kitties have to be on either end. Rosie always looks great when she is low. She practically polishes her nails and hums when she's in the 40s. Which is not to say we all don't have to be cautious. Every time.

Great job! And George, high five for doing it in the daytime!!

Oops! Simul-posted with SIenne.
 
PMPS
You may have been too delicate with your intervention. It looks like you were using 13% HC. That's not HC -- it's medium carb. HC is over 15%. You may want to see if you can track down some food that's higher in carbs or add more than 1 drop of honey to George's food. In addition, not every cat is hugely HC sensitive. This is good data for you to know to help guide you in the future.

When Gabby didn't respond all that quickly to my first round of HC, I would be a bit more generous in order to bring her numbers up. It's also not unusual for numbers to wobble around the way they did today. It's one of the reasons we remind you to not be complacent if numbers do respond fairly quickly since they can drop back down.

You reduce by 0.25u.
I used 13% @ +1.5 for the first feed, then 20% for the second feed @ +2 and there after it was 30%.(he had 6 ounces of the 30% in total, laced with honey)

In retrospect I should have given the 30 or even the 20 when he first dropped I think that was my mistake. He has usually responded well to the 13 and 20%. I haven't had to resort to 30% and honey since the 20 dec on that occasion he also dropped early (not quite as early) and also hit 39.

The 30% seems to give him the runs, (he has just had a loose BM) I am going to need to track something else down.

I will take the 0,25 reduction and bear in mind that with early dives I should bring the big guns out sooner.

PMPS 255
 
The 30% seems to give him the runs, (he has just had a loose BM) I am going to need to track something else down.
Check the ingredients for a type of grain or flour that isn't your other HC's. I know some kitties can be intolerant to wheat, corn, rice etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top