1/29 Gordy AMPS 186/182, +1 273, +2 326; PMPS 374, +4 317, tomorrows dose??

Status
Not open for further replies.

CassAndGordy(GA)

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

Gordy is at 186/182 (i did 2 tests) this morning!!!

I have already technically stalled his food because the shot time was changed a bit. I am.around until his +6 but I have work after that

Should I wait 15 minutes? He is crying at me pretty intensely.

(I hope someone is around)
 
Ok... well, i gave him his dose....

I figured, with most of his lower preshots I have had, he historically spikes instead of dropping more.

I am.going back to sleep until his +1.
 
Hi there,
Sorry no one there to help you with the decision

glad you shot, I would have :) it should be OK as you are going to be around till +6. Do get that +1, it looks like his bounce is breaking, so this morning may well be an active cycle, and you may need to steer him with some fuds.

I'll watch for your +1
C U later
 
Itll be an upwards one again =(

His +1 was 273.

Ill check in an hour, but it looks like he'll be fine. I dont know what my friend is doing for her shots, but this aways happens after she has given them. I must find out what she is doing different.
 
I hope he behaves well enough today... because of the later shot time tonight , I actually have to have the sitter come and give him his PM shot. (I hate paying for that, but it'll leave me and my coworkers lessst ressed lol)
 
Grab the +2 just to see if/how much he might try to come back down. Hopefully he'll at least hang out in yellow today. It does look like he hung out in blue for some time last night
Yeah. I was awake for his +6 last night (i really need a nap today lol) but opted to not grab it because he has a lot of pokes. Now I kinda regret it lol. He had a good PM cycle.

I think my friend isnt tenting when she shoots, but she shoots into the meat of his thight. (I'll press her for more details.) Does anyone else give the shots there? I try and do his flank now that I have the shorter needles, but my original vet had me doing the thigh. (But thosd were much longer needles! I can't believe I was given by them for a cat!)
 
I primarily shoot in the shoulder area but shot in the flank for over a year. You would smell insulin on him if they were FS. I still look at this pic, 2 years later. Belly is good too.
Shot Placement.jpg
 
Ill check in an hour, but it looks like he'll be fine. I dont know what my friend is doing for her shots, but this aways happens after she has given them. I must find out what she is doing different.
Might just be coincidence, but worth double checking, if she is drawing the dose in the same way as you as well.

Remember that the shots are meant to be subcutaneous rather than into the muscle, make sure she's not giving the shots in the muscle.
 
I primarily shoot in the shoulder area but shot in the flank for over a year. You would smell insulin on him if they were FS. I still look at this pic, 2 years later. Belly is good too.
View attachment 26048
I do this a lot... when I said flank, i meant his side/side of belly.... I dont know why I keep messing that up. :facepalm:

I have decided to not force myself back to sleep. I'll have the nap later. So now its coffee time. :coffee::coffee::coffee:
 
Mystery solved!
"Okay well I don't tent. I give a little skritch and part the fur on the meatiest spot and jab right in and steady but smooth fastish plunge. That should be an intramuscular jab."

Idk if I ever told her to tent. She use to give injections to her mom, so for some reason I just assumed...

She knows now ;)

So, given this. It seems like muscle shots metabolize much differently in the body, so that would be why his preshots always look so marvelous. :bookworm:
 
I used to shoot in the sides, after J.D.'s skin on his scruff got tough from scar tissue after years of shots.
I tented the skin still.

I'm sorry, I didn't respond to your tag this morning. Normally, I read my alerts first. This morning I did not and was reading through a very long 2 page condo. I'll try to do better.

I'll be looking out for your +2 test, then I have to leave for a vet appointment.
 
Ok, +2 is 326. :(

I am bummed the cycle went to poo. This happened on the 26th too (albeit, not as drastic).

But I am glad to know what resulted in the odd preshot.
 
I used to shoot in the sides, after J.D.'s skin on his scruff got tough from scar tissue after years of shots.
I tented the skin still.

I'm sorry, I didn't respond to your tag this morning. Normally, I read my alerts first. This morning I did not and was reading through a very long 2 page condo. I'll try to do better.

I'll be looking out for your +2 test, then I have to leave for a vet appointment.
Its ok! I give my shots so early, I thought it was a long shot. Not holding it against you or anything :)

Sending vines for you vet visit! :bighug:
 
So, given this. It seems like muscle shots metabolize much differently in the body, so that would be why his preshots always look so marvelous
I'm not sure it has anything to do with Gordy's cycles. It's hard to say where the injection is going and there is also variance in absorption rate. Depending on what he did last night (next time get that +6 because he was still dropping) it just looks like he's bouncing again. Since you didn't see green and he cleared the last bounce it looks like another increase is coming. Blue is great but green is the goal. Good news is it only took 4 cycles for him to see blue again!
 
Ok. I am going to list today's cycles.

Do you guys think I should hold 2.5 one more day, because today was wonky? Or do my increase tomorrow? Ill be home until his +6 and then I am at work.

AMPS 182/186/201 (last one was a 10 minute stall)
AM +1 273
AM +2 326
AM +3 337
AM +4 368
AM +6 359

PMPS 374
PM +4 317
PM +5 252

I'll probably be awake for at least another hour, so I'll grab the +5. Poor Gordys ears are mad (well, mainly his right because his left doesnt like to bleed for me!) :( having my friend and the sitter do tests recently... I can see they have a different technique than me, and I dont know if I like it
 
Last edited:
I think you've got room to increase to 2,75 units tomorrow.

It's not uncommon for cats to go lower at night. Neko used to always do that, then bounce during the day. :rolleyes: Who needs sleep.:banghead:
 
I think you've got room to increase to 2,75 units tomorrow.

It's not uncommon for cats to go lower at night. Neko used to always do that, then bounce during the day. :rolleyes: Who needs sleep.:banghead:
I was thinking the same... i am able to get more tests in tomorrow. Thanks! :)

I miss sleep :( LOL. I am becoming a testaholic.. "oh, his +7 is in a mere 55 minutes? I should stay up!" *sigh* i do want his +6 tonight to see if he goes blue, but I may not make it.
 
Save the sleepless nights for when you need it. If he's not going into the danger zone (low green), catch sleep when you can. I used to spend a lot of time before bed staring at the SS, trying to figure out if it was safe to call it a night. My DH called it "staring at the tea leaves". :p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top