1/3 Ming PMPS = 101

Happy New Year! Can't believe it's been a year already.

Ming's been doing well up until this hour :nailbiting: I was even thinking about an increase soon (just either fattening the dose or a 0.25u). But since he just vomited 3 times while I was out, I think I'll hold off on that until his appetite returns and this episode is over. 5.5u is giving some greens anyway.

My youngest sister called me to tell me Ming puked in her room. She tried to offer food but was uninterested. When I came home, he greeted me and laid out but I could see he was licking his lips, especially when I offered him a treat.

So I pumped him up with DRUGS :woot::woot::woot: I have a lot of contraband drugs from work lol! Sometimes when pets are discharged or pass away, I take the pain meds since we're just going to throw them out anyway. So he got 0.13 mL buprenorphine SQ, 1.5mg of ondansetron, 0.88 mL cerenia, and 0.25 mL b12. I'm tempted to give him fluids but I'll wait and see how he does in the next couple of hours - I might be going overboard too. Currently, he's loafing on his windowsill. I'm not sure if he's high or uncomfortable. Probably both.

This hasn't happened to him in a LONG time. And the last several times this happened, he bounced back within the day. I'm hoping this is the case again.

IMG_9346.JPG


That's him right now and after I took this photo, it's pretty clear he's probably quite high from the bupe LOL
 

Attachments

  • IMG_9346.JPG
    IMG_9346.JPG
    72.1 KB · Views: 212
Last edited:
Does he do good getting fluids? If so, I would give some. I was never sure if they did much good because Gizmo stressed so badly when getting them.
Thanks Lizzie. I think I will give him fluids since his BG is holding steady. But now that I think about it, my bag is pretty old though.. probably at least 6 months. Do you think it's okay? I remember a tech telling me it's fine as long as you keep it clean and change the needle after use.
 
Lol @ bupe hallucinations!

It’s an hour before shot time. Ming is walking around and drinking water. Contrary to popular opinion, drinking water in this house means you’re sick. He only touches this bowl when he feels bad. I’ve noticed for the last week or so, that he’s been drinking water but since he displayed no other symptoms, I thought maybe it’s from his bouncing BG.

He wasn’t interested in the freeze dried duck heart I offered. I’ll see if he’ll eat FF in an hour and see what we should do about dose.
 
Argh. He’s at 86 at +11.5. Not interested in the bits of food I offered (one piece of raw pork, a treat, and even temptations - yes I still have that stuff for moments like this).

I’ll take a test at +12 but I wonder if I should shave his dose down tonight for safety. What do you think?
 
Is he constipated? Ittle will drink more than normal when constipated. I always freak and test his BG thinking the worst.
He might be. He puked right in front of the litter box as he often does. Constipation is something I first thought of when I saw the puke. I sometimes give him Florastor in his food but haven’t lately and don’t do it regularly. Might have to restart that and keep a routine.
 
Happy New Year! Can't believe it's been a year already.

Ming's been doing well up until this hour :nailbiting: I was even thinking about an increase soon (just either fattening the dose or a 0.25u). But since he just vomited 3 times while I was out, I think I'll hold off on that until his appetite returns and this episode is over. 5.5u is giving some greens anyway.

My youngest sister called me to tell me Ming puked in her room. She tried to offer food but was uninterested. When I came home, he greeted me and laid out but I could see he was licking his lips, especially when I offered him a treat.

So I pumped him up with DRUGS :woot::woot::woot: I have a lot of contraband drugs from work lol! Sometimes when pets are discharged or pass away, I take the pain meds since we're just going to throw them out anyway. So he got 0.13 mL buprenorphine SQ, 1.5mg of ondansetron, 0.88 mL cerenia, and 0.25 mL b12. I'm tempted to give him fluids but I'll wait and see how he does in the next couple of hours - I might be going overboard too. Currently, he's loafing on his windowsill. I'm not sure if he's high or uncomfortable. Probably both.

This hasn't happened to him in a LONG time. And the last several times this happened, he bounced back within the day. I'm hoping this is the case again.

View attachment 50415

That's him right now and after I took this photo, it's pretty clear he's probably quite high from the bupe LOL


I love that you gave him B12 and ondansetron .. two of my favorite things :)
He's got such a great Mama !
I used to have to give Makoto baby food when he had episodes like this. Beechnut used to have more meat based flavors, chicken and beef so it was easier.
Hope he gets some rest tonight and is better tomorrow !
 
PMPS = 101

I gave 5 units for safety. I debated 5.5u but ultimately was not confident I could put anything in him to keep him up if he decided to dive.

I love that you gave him B12 and ondansetron .. two of my favorite things :)
He's got such a great Mama !
I used to have to give Makoto baby food when he had episodes like this. Beechnut used to have more meat based flavors, chicken and beef so it was easier.
Hope he gets some rest tonight and is better tomorrow !
Thank you! I really should have those foods in stock just in case. Thanks for reminding me.

And yeeeess, I am so fortunate to have been able to come across a full bottle of ondansetron. Had to do some dumpster diving (a tech threw away a full bottle after the client's pet died and I was like OMG GIVE THAT TO ME LOL!)
 
It is almost impossible here to find pure all meat babyfood. Most have veg or other starch in them. Unless you hop across the border. ;)

Feel better Ming.
 
It is almost impossible here to find pure all meat babyfood. Most have veg or other starch in them. Unless you hop across the border. ;)
I knew it! Way back, I lazily looked for it at Superstore or London Drugs somewhere and couldn't find it. I thought next time I'll try harder to look at each label. I'm putting meat baby food on my list of things to buy in the states.
 
@Si am cat mom Not available in Canada. Crista and I live both live not far from the border though.

Oh, the Target website specifically said it ships to Canada ( via Borderfree) and had Canada prices so I thought it might be

spacer.gif

CA.gif

Now shipping to Canada
We make it easy to shop from Canada with:
  • All prices in Canadian dollars
  • Duties and taxes calculated at checkout
  • Low international shipping rates
  • Guaranteed landed costs (no additional charges at delivery)

....oh well. If you are close then that's pretty good :)
 
Back
Top