1/30 - Sami - PMPS 395; +2 329 - Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Well, I definitely didn't get what I expected last night. Sami was down a bit at +2, and I expected to see he down a lot more by +6, but she was only down a bit more and then back up a bit same as +2 at +9.

This morning she was 467 at AMPS.

There are two things that I am considering.

Is she not responding because I am giving her the shot in a different location than I was prior to AM 1/27, because on 1/27 I learned that it was a good idea to administer fluids in a different spot than then shot, so I started giving her the shot on the right side of her belly area around the end rib cage. Where as before I was giving it in the scruff behind her shoulder blades. That is where I always give fluids so I thought I could move the insulin easier than the fluids. This morning I did return to the previous spot on her upper back, but I tried to go more to the right because I am planning on giving Sami fluids today at around +6.

The second possibility is that there is more going on with her, and I might have to take her back to the vet this weekend. She really seems fine, but her ears have been a bit warmer than normal. Is there an easy way to tell if your cat has a temperature.

I will get a +1.5 in about 30 minutes before I head to work for a few hours. I am going to leave out 3% and the last little bit of 5% & 8% that I put out this morning. She ate at least a half a can of food this morning (5.5 oz) maybe more. So, I don't think she will go to low in the time that I am gone, a little over 4 hours, but I don't want to take that chance. I will probably pull up the food at that point also and hold back food for the last half of they cycle to see how thinks go. How much should a 12.8 pound cat eat each day? And should I be rationing smaller meals rather than putting it down and letting her decide what she wants to eat?

If I don't see at least a drop into the 300's by PMPS then I will probably see about getting Sami in to see the doctor tomorrow, unless someone here has another explanation for the lack of movement. I just figured I would see a bigger drop with the increased dose, but does she have to fill up the depot first? I am still trying to figure out the depot thing.
 
You just increased the dose last night. It can take up to 6 cycles to really see what each dose is going to do

May I offer you a pair of our special LL "Patience pants"? Sometimes they're a little tight, but at least you get to choose a color! :)
patience pants multiple color.jpg
 
Has she recently been checked for things like bad teeth or a UTI? Is she otherwise acting like she feels fine? Is she still on the antibiotics that were noted in her SS, and what type of AB is/was it (I'm wondering if it's a liquid that could contain a sugary base)? If she's recently been "cleared" of other medical issues, chances are you just need to put on those patience pants Chris shared. Sometimes it can take a while to find the right dose...you may have heard it before, but treating diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint. It's hard and frustrating for us, because we want them to be better NOW, but sometimes it does just take some time to get there, and it can take several days to see a response to any sort of dose adjustment.
 
@Chris & China My husband will tell you that I don't really have patience for ANYTHING. I am always going 500 miles an hour and if someone or something slows me down I get frustrated. I need to find my ZEN! I will work on it.

@Amy&TrixieCat She is off antibiotics, at the moment I don't remember which drug (still at the office), but it was a pill not a liquid, and it was different than the last antibiotic because the doctor thought maybe the last round didn't get whatever it was. When Sami was at the vet earlier this month the doctor looked at her teeth and said that she had some tarter build up, but she didn't see anything that looked like it was a problem. She has been tested for UTI also, but it was inconclusive. On the last test earlier this month they did see some blood in the urine, but it was so diluted that they didn't see white blood cells, so they couldn't be 100% sure, which is why the doctor put her back on antibiotic.
 
It's quite common for cats to get temporary increases in numbers after a dose increase. We call it New Dose Wonkiness or NDW. Some cats get it, some don't. It shouldn't last more than a couple of cycles.

Patience is not my strong suit either. Having a diabetic cat has taught me a lot.

ETA: To answer your question from yesterday's condo, your HC is high enough % carbs. Anything above 15% is considered high carb. I use something that is 18%.
 
@Wendy&Neko Thanks for the info about the HC. I will be stopping and picking up so with gravy. I was trying to stay away from the ones that are high in Phosphorous, but I guess if she is only getting a little if she needs it to bring up her sugar it probably shouldn't be a problem.

Also can someone tell me what "nadiar" stands for. I think it has something to do with the lowest number in the cycle.
 
I was much happier with Sami's +6 today. She ate a bit at +6 and by +7 she was back up in the 400's. She is still drinking a lot of water. You would think that we had 8 cats if you just looked in the litter box. I pulled the food right after she ate at +6 so that I could monitor how she reacts. I am hoping that she comes back down again before PMPS. I was thinking about checking her again at +10 also. I still need to give her fluids which I will be doing shortly.
 
Sami's PMPS was much better tonight than last night. She is in the PINK barely, but much better than BLACK. I will do a +2 in another hour, depending on how long I stay up I might also get a +3 just for good measure, but I will still get up a couple time during the night.

So is there a census of whether a cats tend to go lower during the night or during the day, or is a a case by case basis?
 
Each cat is different but it is certainly quite common for some to go lower at night.

Free feeding is fine but you want to pick up anything that's left at +10
 
Sami is still coming down a little bit shy of +2 she is 329. VERY, VERY Happy to see some lower numbers, I just hope they continue to drop or at the very least hold in the 300's for a few days.
 
Since the +2 is lower than the PMPS, you'll likely see a little more action tonight. Almost yellow Sami - you can do it!
 
I really hope she makes it to yellow. I am going to get a couple hours of sleep and then I will get a +6. She has also eat a small bit at each check this evening.
 
Hi Tina

I know you used a faster acting insulin before. Lantus and levemir are long duration, depot insulins. They are not able to yank high numbers down like the shorter acting insulins. One shot builds upon the previous and that's why we have to wait a certain number of cycles to increase. Think of the action of Lantus like a cruise ship. You can turn the wheel to steer it, but it takes a while to change course.

If her nadir stays above 300 for six cycles, I'd increase by 0.5u after the sixth cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top