1/5 Elmo AMPS 111..no shoot..+3 74, +6 95, +11 98, PMPS 104..no shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth 73

Member Since 2016
Good morning...Elmo skipped last night's vetsulin so this 111 is all on his own. He was to start today with first dose of Lantus at .25......has had no insulin in 24 hours...need help with dosage...follow a 7 and 7 schedule ...thank u so very much
 
I'm glad you're stalling without food. I would test again in 30 minutes (if your shot schedule allows you to be off by a half hour), and see where he's at. I have to log off now, to get ready for work, so can not help you with the dose or no dose decision. I'm sure others will be along, though. Good luck.
111 after a skipped shot is pretty impressive.
 
I'm glad you're stalling without food. I would test again in 30 minutes (if your shot schedule allows you to be off by a half hour), and see where he's at. I have to log off now, to get ready for work, so can not help you with the dose or no dose decision. I'm sure others will be along, though. Good luck.
111 after a skipped shot is pretty impressive.
Thank you, Dyana...what a start to a first day...I feed in 30 minutes..was so excited I didn't even notice when took first BG..will take a second now...
 
Wow. That is an exciting way to start your first day!

I am also leaving for work....but I know others will be on soon to help. :bighug:
 
Are you able to stall longer?
111 and 120 are much the same but it is rising a bit. I think it is too low for you to shoot though as you are just starting Lantus today and you don't know how Elmo will react
 
Are you able to stall longer?
111 and 120 are much the same but it is rising a bit. I think it is too low for you to shoot though as you are just starting Lantus today and you don't know how Elmo will react
I have never had to stall so not sure "longer" is....I would normally be shooting in about 30 minutes...
 
Thank you so much...feel like a newbie all over again...Elmo is sensitive to med changes prior to this change...as u said, not sure how he will react to Lantus ..
 
I have never had to stall so not sure "longer" is....I would normally be shooting in about 30 minutes...
Hi Beth!
Stalling means not feeding and waiting to see what the bsl does. If it rises high enough to a point where you are comfortable and it is safe to shoot, then you shoot. If it doesn't rise, then you have to decide to either skip the shot or give a smaller dose. Bit hard to give a smaller dose when you are only giving 0.25 though!
I have stalled for 2 hours a couple of times. It is a nuisance getting back on track but is far better than doing something unsafe and having to deal with the consequences!
 
I am having a bit of trouble with the internet and staying logged in so if I disappear you will know why, but I will try and get back on.
 
Fully agree,Bron. I will take your lead on this. And yes, smaller than .25 is a bit of a challenge:rolleyes: . I have all the time in the world..am home all the time( bit of a Hobbit) so I am flexible and available :)
 
Fully agree,Bron. I will take your lead on this. And yes, smaller than .25 is a bit of a challenge:rolleyes: . I have all the time in the world..am home all the time( bit of a Hobbit) so I am flexible and available :)

Ok. I would test again in 20 minutes.
How is Elmo, he is probably wondering where the food is.
 
Hmmmmm..... not so sure about this first day so far:)...am ready to do what is best, safest for him
 
Hey there, just catching up with your post and I say if you can stall another 30 minutes without Elmo killing you and eating you, see if he comes up but, if not feed him and skip this shot . Better for him to be safe since you don't know how he is going to react on Lantus for the first time .
 
Ok. So just to make sure I have this right:
You are just at what should be AMPS now?
And the bsl of 111 was at +11 of the pm cycle?
Is that right?
 
Hey there, just catching up with your post and I say if you can stall another 30 minutes without Elmo killing you and eating you, see if he comes up but, if not feed him and skip this shot . Better for him to be safe since you don't know how he is going to react on Lantus for the first time .
That was my thot..try another BG in about 15 minutes..will post summary of BG s thus far when take next one in 15 minutes....this is after no vetsulin since this time yesterday..it had really started tanking him so with advice from others we skipped PM dose last night ....mercy, this cat is aging me and at my age I do not need that:):rolleyes:
 
It would be nice if he would come up to at least 150 so you can shoot as you have never shot lower than that. With Lantus we shoot low to stay low but that is after data to see how kitty reacts to Lantus. Let's see what the next test shows. Hope he's not trying to chew your legs off, LOL
 
Yes that 111 is a +11 from last night.....and should now be giving AM shot ...
OK.
Well I am inclined to agree with Bobbie and try for another half an hour or even an hour stalling as you would not be too far off schedule if you did that. Then if it has not come up to around 150, I would skip and start again tonight. Much safer to do that. And it would be interesting to see what his numbers do during the day without insulin.

@Bobbie And Bubba are you going to be around now? It is late at night here in Oz and I should get some shut eye!
 
Hi Beth, I'm watching this from here. The pros have given you great advice. Stalling without feeding is a good technique - had to do it this morning myself and there were three kitties wondering what the heck happened to the grub. If you end up having to miss this shot it's not a huge problem. His numbers have been really good lately.
 
Hi Beth, I'm watching this from here. The pros have given you great advice. Stalling without feeding is a good technique - had to do it this morning myself and there were three kitties wondering what the heck happened to the grub. If you end up having to miss this shot it's not a huge problem. His numbers have been really good lately.
Morning Kris !!! Were ur kitties " sharking the kitchen"As Jo and Ozzy say ???:)
 
Morning Kris !!! Were ur kitties " sharking the kitchen"As Jo and Ozzy say ???:)
Not too much sharking but lots of yelling from Teasel especially! :confused:

I hope you're not too unnerved at the way your first morning on Lantus is going. If you end up skipping this AM tests through the day will give good info.
 
Ok ya'll...here is Elmo summary:
+11....111
30 minutes later...120
30 minutes later...117
30 minutes later....117
 
Kris and Bobbie...I think I'm waving the no shot white flag and going to feed my ole guy...he is over there licking the floor where I feed him....at what hours should I be taking BG s today ???
 
Beth, go ahead and post the test results for today even if you don't shoot. All data is good data.

With him not eating, he might continue to hang out at 117 or even go down some more. It's your call, if you want to skip and then shoot tonight if he comes up tonight. Just saw you post, good call, I would be inclined to skip too.
 
Also , please ignore any odd comments today....was so keyed up about today that didn't sleep much...gotta get me some more :coffee::coffee: right fast, as they say here in the Ozarks:)
Your comments where perfect. I'm on my second cup trying to wake up. Oh, and Beth, Welcome to L & L land!
 
Beth, go ahead and post the test results for today even if you don't shoot. All data is good data.

With him not eating, he might continue to hang out at 117 or even go down some more. It's your call, if you want to skip and then shoot tonight if he comes up tonight. Just saw you post, good call, I would be inclined to skip too.
Thank u so much,Bobbie....good times to monitor/post BGs today?? And should I go ahead and post them on my today's thread , as tho I did shoot???
 
I would grab one about 2 hours after he eats to see what food does without insulin on board and then another one around +6. Give Elmo and you a pokey break today.
 
Thank u so much,Bobbie....good times to monitor/post BGs today?? And should I go ahead and post them on my today's thread , as tho I did shoot???
We just crossed posted and I threw out some test times above. Yes, I would post them on this thread and then tomorrow you will be copying this thread and attaching it to tomorrow's post so everyone can see what transpired today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top