1/5Ozzy PMPS 315, +2 244, +4 283, +5 294, +6 274

Status
Not open for further replies.
I agree with Gill. In this case, yes he could have gone lower or his body just doesn't like lower numbers yet.

I know it's a pain when you are working but as his numbers improve, you'll want to be sure he's coming up at night before you stop testing. Many sleep/test and since your DH helps, you could trade off every other night. He's likely fine for now somget what rest you can.

As he gets closer to a good dose, his duration will extend and his nadir will likely move to a later time (it might be now) and you won't want to wake up to a 40. It happens ;)
 
Did you stay home, Jo?? Take care of yourself..praying you did NOT contract chicken pox:bighug:
Unfortunately no, even though I REALLY wanted to! Too busy now that I am back after the holidays. Couldn't justify asking my boss for a work from home day after I was just off for 18 days and then first day back I only worked half day because I had to have a dental crown replaced. Only been back one full day!!! If I start really feeling awful..we'll then that's different and I'll go home.

No sign of the pox yet.... fingers crossed I did not get infected. Could you imagine getting chicken pox as a grown woman!
 
It's possible he dipped a bit lower, but even a dip into blue, which his body is not used to can be enough to trigger a bounce.
This makes sense. Thank you for your feedback. BTW...My heart is MELTING over the picture of your little kitty... SOOOOO cute!!! And that little pink nose! Ahh!! I bet he's a big ole' snuggle bug. Love its. Hugs and Kisses to him!
 
Unfortunately no, even though I REALLY wanted to! Too busy now that I am back after the holidays. Couldn't justify asking my boss for a work from home day after I was just off for 18 days and then first day back I only worked half day because I had to have a dental crown replaced. Only been back one full day!!! If I start really feeling awful..we'll then that's different and I'll go home.

No sign of the pox yet.... fingers crossed I did not get infected. Could you imagine getting chicken pox as a grown woman!
No, I cannot, but it's nothing to mess about with. Take care of yourself :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Unfortunately no, even though I REALLY wanted to! Too busy now that I am back after the holidays. Couldn't justify asking my boss for a work from home day after I was just off for 18 days and then first day back I only worked half day because I had to have a dental crown replaced. Only been back one full day!!! If I start really feeling awful..we'll then that's different and I'll go home.

No sign of the pox yet.... fingers crossed I did not get infected. Could you imagine getting chicken pox as a grown woman!
Have you got anymore 'spots'? They look like little blisters, if you are getting those it's advisable to get yourself to the doctor for antivirals, chicken pox can be very debilitating if we contract it as adults and there is only a small window of opportunity for the antivirals to be effective, but if you start treating early enough they can help significantly.
 
Have you got anymore 'spots'? They look like little blisters, if you are getting those it's advisable to get yourself to the doctor for antivirals, chicken pox can be very debilitating if we contract it as adults and there is only a small window of opportunity for the antivirals to be effective, but if you start treating early enough they can help significantly.
Thanks for the advice. I have not seen any spots...just had an itchy bump on my head last night. Could've just been a pimple on my scalp. Just was a little on the 'whoa' side since of the recent exposure and starting to feel a little sick. Everyone over at my sister's house was sick and she had a house full of germy little kids. Guess I was bound to get something over there....just hope its the cold and not the pox!
 
AMPS -311
PMPS- 315

I don't know what is going on here. Ozzy had been having a lot of yellow cycles and now he's throwing pinks again. We are trying to get to blues, not go backwards up to pinks! :banghead:

Too much insulin, not enough insulin, give it more time? Hubby is saying we should give him a little more than 1U, I said no we need to wait a little longer and see how this week goes.
 
AMPS -311
PMPS- 315

I don't know what is going on here. Ozzy had been having a lot of yellow cycles and now he's throwing pinks again. We are trying to get to blues, not go backwards up to pinks! :banghead:

Too much insulin, not enough insulin, give it more time? Hubby is saying we should give him a little more than 1U, I said no we need to wait a little longer and see how this week goes.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hang in there Jo, DH, Ozzy and Figgy....this is all so new compared with what we have been doing on vetsulin,like waking up in a whole new world . You amaze me with all ur life entails :bighug:. Keep remembering Elmo ,my DH and I are pulling for and praying for your success with the Lantus switch:cat::cat::cat:
 
Hang in there Jo, DH, Ozzy and Figgy....this is all so new compared with what we have been doing on vetsulin,like waking up in a whole new world . You amaze me with all ur life entails :bighug:. Keep remembering Elmo ,my DH and I are pulling for and praying for your success with the Lantus switch:cat::cat::cat:
Thanks so much Beth! I saw some of your thread today but haven't had a chance to read the whole thing. Saw you skipped the AM shot since he threw a low number. How was his PMPS? Did he get to start lantus tonight?
 
Checked the feeder when I got home. They had a 9am, 11am, and 3pm snack pre-set. The 9am was barely touched in one feeder, and half eaten in the other feeder. The 11 am was gone in one feeder, the other one did not look touched much. The 3pm snack was gone from both bowls. Have no idea who ate what. This is fun, isn't it!!??o_O

Hubby fed him right before I got home, not sure if he peed right after. I tried to toss him in LB twice so far and no luck. Will keep trying to get that ketone test. Don't want him to go more than a day or so between tests. He is locked out of the room with the LB and now he's pawing at the door and meowing to get in. Tried to take him in and see if he'd go ...no luck. Will keep trying.

Patience is not my thing...and it's definitely being forced upon me. I'm learning....:rolleyes:
 
Too much insulin, not enough insulin, give it more time?
It can take a full six cycles for the depot to build and for you to see what the new dose can do. Patience pants are a commonly worn wardrobe item here. They always seem a little tight.:p

8578459_orig.jpg
 
It can take a full six cycles for the depot to build and for you to see what the new dose can do. Patience pants are a commonly worn wardrobe item here. They always seem a little tight.:p

8578459_orig.jpg
Haha...this made me laugh!! Thanks.

Ozzy is now on his 11th cycle since starting Lantus.
 
How often do you feed your kitties and how much do you give at each feeding?

Hubby and I are having a 'debate' over Ozzy's food intake and frequency. Hubby believes that we are feeding him too much and too often and this is why he has higher BG numbers. I think Ozzy may not be eating as often when I am not here as when he was when I was home with him for a couple weeks and think this may be why his BG numbers are a little higher than they were before. Obviously neither of us know what is right.
 
If he is gaining weight and he doesn't need to be, then he is getting too much food.

If he needs to lose weight, it must be done slowly.

I saw this from last night:
Oh lord...the timed feeder thing and Ozzy gaining weight just became more complicated to me. He could also be eating the food in Figge's feeder, although while I was home the last few weeks, Figgie was eating most of his food. He has gained weight too. But now that I'm gone during the day, I can't tell who is eating what. They will both eat from the other's bowls. Before the DM, we never left food out for Ozzy during the day. He just got breakfast and dinner. I would usually split his dinner portion so he could get it spread out and would also do this on weekends and my Fridays off from work. We did always keep kibble up on the washer for Figgie because he likes to free feed and has always been skinny. Ozzy is a ground dweller so he would never jump up to the washer to be able to get into Figgie's bowl. This is a fact.

I could put Figgie's feeder up on the washer from now on...but he will also eat from Ozzy's bowl (feeder) so Ozzy won't get his full meals which concerns me with him now being diabetic. They are a bit jealous of each other and constantly steal each other's food. There is a bit of competitive eating going on in this household!:facepalm:

I'm going to invite @Linda and Scooter & Jack to tell you Scooter's story - might be tomorrow as she is further east than you and I.

What dry food is Figgie is eating? Do you know the carb content? Some are listed on www.catinfo.org - i think the dry foods are near the end of the list.
 
You referred to Figgie eating kibble in the part I quoted above. I think of kibble as dry food - I must be not understanding. What did you mean by kibble?
 
You referred to Figgie eating kibble in the part I quoted above. I think of kibble as dry food - I must be not understanding. What did you mean by kibble?
Sorry for the confusion. Both my kitties used to be on a half wet/half dry food diet prior to us finding out Ozzy has DM. Since Ozzy's DX, both kitties were switched over to wet food only.

In the comment you posted, I was giving a little background on how we handled their competitive eating problems before. We would put Figgie's dry food up on the washer because Ozzy could never jump up to get it. Ozzy tended to gord his food quickly and Figgie was a little more reserved preferring to eat throughout the day. Putting Figgie's food up on the washer allowed Figgie to have food when he wanted it and keep Ozzy out of his bowl.

Since we switched them both to wet food only and got the petsafes, they both eat their meals on the floor. My post above discusses my concern over not knowing how is eating what and how much. Ozzy could still be stealing from Figgie's feeder since it's on the floor. This is exactly what happened just now...I fed them both and Figgie walked away and Ozzy finished his own plate and then went to Figgie's dish to clean up. I had to remove Figgie's left overs so Ozzy would not over eat. Hope that clarifies. Not sure how to handle this moving forward.
 
I have absolutely NO IDEA how to interpret this ketone test. I wiped the stip right after he peed on it to get a little off and may have ruined it. What do you think?

It took me a bit of time to get that ketone test! I wish I could do another right now.

OMG...I freaking out thinking the test result could actually be higher than trace....Could I have messed it up by wiping it on a piece of tissue as the result was developing?? I don't know what I was thinking. Have never done that before.

How often do kitties usually pee? Want to get another test as soon as possible!
 

Attachments

  • 20170105_212803.jpg
    20170105_212803.jpg
    37.7 KB · Views: 109
Last edited:
I wonder if wiping it off changed things. Is Ozzy acting ill at all? I think I'd try to get another test when he blesses you with more pee.

Thanks for explaining about the food.

I feed my 3 cats all in separate rooms. Otherwise one will eat everyone else's! That doesn't help when you're not home and need to use the autofeeder, of course.
 
I wonder if wiping it off changed things. Is Ozzy acting ill at all? I think I'd try to get another test when he blesses you with more pee.
I have never wiped it before. I don't know what I was thinking!! Yes, he is acting totally fine. Just ate some more food a little bit ago and was punking on Figgie as well. He seems normal.
I feed my 3 cats all in separate rooms. Otherwise one will eat everyone else's! That doesn't help when you're not home and need to use the autofeeder, of course.
Ya, gotta figure this out!
 
Do you think the ketone test result is actually higher than trace? I am not sure what a strip looks like as the tests go up the scale of +++. Does mine just look totally botched?
 
I just don't know. I know the strip needs to be timed exactly per the box directions because they do continue to change color as time goes by.
 
Do you think the ketone test result is actually higher than trace? I am not sure what a strip looks like as the tests go up the scale of +++. Does mine just look totally botched?
I've had a strip look like that when I read it just a tad bit late.

Did you see my post before that if you catch the urine in a large, flat spoon, you'll have plenty for retests if you need them. The other thing I did at first was make tiny trays out of foil and then put them under Gracie's bottom to catch enough urine for a few tests, if needed.

There are Sure Flap auto feeders that only open for the specific cat wearing a specific collar. They are pricey but there is actually a member who has five or six.
 
Did you see my post before that if you catch the urine in a large, flat spoon, you'll have plenty for retests if you need them. The other thing I did at first was make tiny trays out of foil and then put them under Gracie's bottom to catch enough urine for a few tests, if needed.
I did see this.... You guys are so brave and committed to this whole DM process. I really thought it was a stretch for me to yank up kitty's tail and stick a pee strip under his bum. I just could never imagine myself putting a spoon under there to 'catch' it. I guess never say never after tonight!
 
There are Sure Flap auto feeders that only open for the specific cat wearing a specific collar. They are pricey but there is actually a member who has five or six.
I did check out those feeders a few weeks ago. Another member also told me about them. Ozzy is a very nervous eater- he always has been. I honestly don't think he'd be comfortable putting his head inside of the feeder...he is still scared to death of the opening/spinning mechanism of the pet safe. Hoping he will get used to this before investing in such an expensive feeder.
 
It might be more challenging with a male cat but it was really easy as Gracie squatted to just slip the spoon under her little bottom. But then, she let me do anything.
IMG_0692.PNG
IMG_0692.PNG
IMG_0692.PNG
IMG_0692.PNG
 
Will test again for +4 in an hour and post back. @Marje and Gracie , curious what you think of Ozzy's numbers today?

I think it looks like a bounce from the 177 last night. He could have gone a bit lower but I don’t think he was dangerously low. It can take up to six cycles for a bounce to clear so snug up those patience pants. We will hope it doesn’t take him that long.

She really was a little princess!! :cat::cat::kiss:
Thank you. She was. One of her nicknames here was Principessa or Princess Gracie. But she was also a tomboy. I always said she was like my little tomboy in a pink tutu.

Looking at her pix again...that face...she had the cutest little expressions! What type of kitty breed?
Scottish Fold just like my Tobey and little Livia (and four others we had).
 
Could I have messed it up by wiping it on a piece of tissue as the result was developing??

What kind of tissue was it? I ask because I know when I'm buying Kleenex for DM there's boxes with aloe, boxes for "sensitive noses", boxes that smell like menthol, etc. etc. etc....I'd think the chemicals they put into those would cause some pretty crazy ketone test results
 
+4=283

Ok, tomorrow is cycle 6 on 1U. What do you think we should do dose wise? I will be home around 5:30pm (shoot at 7am) and then home for the weekend and able to monitor. Thanks!

Not happy with this cycle so far!
 
What kind of tissue was it? I ask because I know when I'm buying Kleenex for DM there's boxes with aloe, boxes for "sensitive noses", boxes that smell like menthol, etc. etc. etc....I'd think the chemicals they put into those would cause some pretty crazy ketone test results
It was actually toilet paper/tissue paper. Angel soft. You guys/gals get really scientific here, don't you!! Haha!:woot:
 
You all are so graceful in how you catch pee. I just stand there as they pee and stick it in the pool in the litter before they cover it. Its fast and easy.
I am glad to hear you took the kibble off the menu! yay!

I feed my sugar kitties in the big bathroom. I moved a cat tree in there and two cat beds. a large litter box and they love it! I don't feel like they are being punished in any way. In fact if I say "lets get your number" they both run to that room and jump on the tree and wait. They know they are getting treats. Right now as I am typing I just put them to bed and the others are out and about and they all have access to food that suits them. In the morning I will let them out between feedings. Perhaps you could separate the kitties while you are at work so you know who ate what.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top