1 Sept | Girlie | AMPS 268; +1=227; +2=121; +3=77; +4=108; +6=187 Snoopy dance...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-food-advice-dose-advice.183143/#post-2032378

Condo covers 30 and 31 Aug; extended discussion at end re: food, etc.
  • Failed reduction on 25 Aug
  • back up to last good dose (.075) and then huge dives on 27 and 28 Aug (from 558 to 347 in 2 hours on 27 Aug then from 652 to 295 in three hours on 28 Aug)
  • Almost solid black 29 - 31 Aug

Could this be NDW and an almighty bounce from the dives on 27 and 28 Aug? How do you tell the difference between NDW and what @Marje and Gracie described as time for "Patience pants" and a "failed" increase (is there such a thing?) Don't like the solid blacks, but should I increase dose or put on patience pants? :banghead:

  • Will be home for next four days and can monitor closely.
  • No ketones to date
  • Started new insulin cartridge on PM of 31 Aug
  • Am simplifying/streamlining food
 
Note in reply to @Sandy and Black Kitty re: question on 31 Aug on SS and deep dives:

Been going over my SS and diaries with detailed notes. Is there a prize for most confused newbie who really messed up in the beginning?
C:\Users\Darrah\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image001.png
:oops:

Up until ca 1 August, I thought that the Australian FF Grilled foods were LC, but they're MC :banghead:

Interesting, though, that she still had some of her better BGs when on MC, but I'll have to really double check that. I'm in the process of fixing the SS and will provide the detailed info pointing out dives and food connections when I've finished that and put that info up.

Mea culpa...Sigh. Sigh. Sigh...
 
Hi - sorry Girlie is stuck in blacks again. I would go ahead and go up to 1.0u. 5 days or 10 cycles on 0.75u is long enough. You don't want to wait too long as high numbers aren't good for the kitty and you risk developing insulin resistance.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh my - looks like Girlie has decided to break her bounce right before AMPS: PM+8 = 520, PM+11 = 302: a 218 point drop in two hours.

I'll see where she is at AMPS, but this makes me wonder if I should increase the dose anyway or not... was it NDW? This could set her off to bounce again... I wonder if I should see where she is at AMPS and see how this bounce continues to break or just increase today even though it looks like she's finally thinking of breaking this bounce...

Will she continue to go down and dive? Will that lead to more bouncing? Will an increase to 1 U sort her out or cause a deeper dive and a bigger bounce? Sorry that this is such a dilemma for me ... :confused:
 
NDW occurs in the first few cycles and typically only lasts a couple cycles. Any NDW should be long gone by now.

There is no such thing as a failed increase. It's possible an increase, to 0.75 units, was still not enough insulin. To tell whether it's a good dose, look at the nadirs/how low the dose can take the cat, and try to ignore the bounces.
 
NDW occurs in the first few cycles and typically only lasts a couple cycles. Any NDW should be long gone by now.

There is no such thing as a failed increase. It's possible an increase, to 0.75 units, was still not enough insulin. To tell whether it's a good dose, look at the nadirs/how low the dose can take the cat, and try to ignore the bounces.
Thanks, Wendy. Her AMPS is now 268. I'll increase to 1 U then and see how she goes. Let her dive as low as she wants to see how low she'll go, or try to stall her dive if she's going more than 50 - 100 points an hour?
 
Try feeding just LC is she's diving. Going back to your comment on her seeming to do better when she was on what you found out later was MC, some cats do better with slightly higher carbs. So still LC, but the higher end. It's not always best to feed the lowes LC possible.
 
, I would have done a snoopy dance
We all know about the Snoopy Dance!

Glad she is out of the blacks. The only thing I would like to add is that even if she is in a black number in the beginning of either cycle, still get a mid cycle number. Some kitties can drop significantly from a black number to a blue or green.
 
We all know about the Snoopy Dance!

Glad she is out of the blacks. The only thing I would like to add is that even if she is in a black number in the beginning of either cycle, still get a mid cycle number. Some kitties can drop significantly from a black number to a blue or green.
Good tip, will do, especially with the way she likes to dive.

Am monitoring closely today and carefully looking at how food will influence her as she dives today.

AMPS food, +1 and +2 = FF Savoury Salmon LC 1 (1 tsp each time)

I knew she'd dive on this as it's a LLC food, but was curious to see a) how much and b) whether I could bring her up on a LC food. Today will be an entertaining day! :)

I love that she is so clear to read: when she goes for that food bowl and licks it clean and looks for more, I know she's diving and probably diving fast. She's very predictable in that, at least!
 
Surf's up Girlie. Don't fill her up Darrah, in case you want her hungry later.

I have seen a few cats go from black to green, earn a reduction, then back to black. Neko earned her first reduction starting out at 430 human meter, which is probably black on an AT.
 
Wow, that's interesting, Wendy, re: Neko.

I'm being very careful - I'm determined to get good data right now to end this food question once and for all! I'm not letting her free feed today: I gave her a tsp pre-shot; a tsp after her shot; and now a 1/2 tsp +some fresh pumpkin at +2.

Let's see where you go today, Girlie! Be good for me...
 
Dose increase to 1 Unit this morning; has only eaten FF Savoury Salmon LLC 1 today so far

@ +2 gave her FF Savoury Salmon LLC 1 food to see if that would slow the dive

A + 2:30 she's still going down: from 121 @ +2 to 94 @ + 2:30

+11 = 302
AMPS = 268
+1 = 227
+2 = 121
+ 2:30 = 94
 
Just looked at your SS out of curiosity. Are you feeding raw that you get in a can? Those greens look lovely on Bubba....especially with that cool eye patch.
We are feeding raw chicken and turkey that I get from a butcher, no antibiotics or hormones I add EZ complete supplements to. Right now, I am trying to reign him back in after losing remission again 8/16th for the 4th time. :rolleyes:
 
She is moving badly, though: really stiff and clearly very uncomfortable; I think she is in pain. The vet said acupuncture could seem to make it worse on the 2nd or 3rd visit. We'll see how she goes...she has her third visit on Monday.
 
@LizzieInTexas She held that reduction, but we had SRT the following week and IDK if her IAA broke then or the SRT kicked in right away but it started a tumble down the dose ladder. She earned reductions starting even higher reds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top