10/11 Sootie: amps vomit, bgs blue&green, must fast tonite

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-132-s0-1u-1drop-86-3-105-10-88-pmbg.166455/

Good morning and holding healing vibes for Maxx, Neko, Texx and all who've been having a rough go lately and last night.

This morning found a big vomit at top of stairs, and another more liquids one nearby when I got up there around 7. Definitely food vomit, and though didn't see who did it (one of the civvies?) Sootie's breath was the one that smelled of barf.

Her pre meal bg's 137 then a few minutes later 126. Guzzled her remedies. She ate a bit and snarfed up her standard process tabs. I retested 1.5 hrs later (ca 9am), usually bg lower after food, but today was 141 and 145. (Rested both times just in case!). so, it seems to be a 0.1u morning for Sootie.
 
Aw morning barf detective work...never a favorite way to start the day...my sympathies!
Sending anti puke vines to your crew..:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Surf safely Sootie:bighug::bighug:
 
Aw morning barf detective work...never a favorite way to start the day...my sympathies!
Sending anti puke vines to your crew..:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Surf safely Sootie:bighug::bighug:

Yep! But she was at the top of the stairs to greet, a wonderful way to start the day, barf or no barf. Not sure why the barf-up, hoping it's just bc I might have been light on the slippery elm last night.
 
Sometimes barf just happens! (I think it's to teach us humility as we're bent over cleaning up after them!)

Teeny tiny doses! Exciting.

Marilyn and Polly
 
:bighug::bighug:Hoping all going smoothly for all today and thank you, @carfurby, @Gussie's mom, @tiffmaxee, @pollydoodle. Vines vines vines:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: noticed today that the late season nasturtiums have taken a gentle liking to our little back yard Buddha, particularly since the recent and much needed rain.

Happy to report no more barf-ups today (anti-jinx).

Would like to ask question/run by for input where I'm at tonight about been thinking about this but thought would wait and see what Sootie's bg and eating was for the day and how pm Bg is tonight. I bring her in early tomorrow morning to vetty for the abdominal ultrasound (traveling specialist no no one sure about her eta until she calls about 15 minutes before her arrival).
Sootie has to fast tonight. Water ok throughout the night but NO FUD AFTER 8pm tonight AND NO INSULIN TOMORROW MORNING. Have had food out for to nibble on during the day while I was out at dr's. Sootie so far, mostly in :cool: and 1 :D in between the:cool:'s. Some of them I retested....maybe 1st is wrong, retest maybe will be lower!
She started at 137/126, then to 141/145 about hour and a half after food (and eating in spurts), dosed 0.1u, then 84 at +4.75, nibbled on food, and then 107/105 at +10, which is about 2 hours before The 8pm take all the food dishes away time.

1. Am thinking to not do any dose tonight bc she is so close to green; appetite quirky again today including the morning barf-up before am bg' s and food. And if I dose, and she goes into low numbers or hypo, the priority is to feed to stabilize during night, etc. QUESTION: this make sense to you?

2. When we come home, maybe late morning but most likely by early afternoon (and I'm planning on staying bc, other than vetty treks, has never been away from home and never without me since she was spayed when she was about 5 months old), I plan to to test (or let her get her bearings, first), feed, and let her relax.
QUESTION: If her #s in the up-there range and remain so, wait til beginning of next cycle to shoot?

Thanks, all. Happy vines, healing for all :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Others will have more wisdom and I defer to that. Still, I've experienced some stress with a cat who was doing radiation treatments, one treatment on three consecutive days. And the little stinker walked a fine line the night before her first treatment right between comfy numbers and OMG-what-will-I do-if-she-needs-food numbers. Based on that experience, I would for sure reduce dose and considering where you are in the micro dose shooting, I'd guess that means no dose.

As for your return to shooting. In my opinion I'd pick up with the next cycle starting shot. She may be off her food a bit and that may play into your calculus as well. Anesthetic can take a while to get out of the system and it may be wise to feed small amounts for a while 'til her tummy's back to normal.

Marilyn
 
Others will have more wisdom and I defer to that. Still, I've experienced some stress with a cat who was doing radiation treatments, one treatment on three consecutive days. And the little stinker walked a fine line the night before her first treatment right between comfy numbers and OMG-what-will-I do-if-she-needs-food numbers. Based on that experience, I would for sure reduce dose and considering where you are in the micro dose shooting, I'd guess that means no dose.

As for your return to shooting. In my opinion I'd pick up with the next cycle starting shot. She may be off her food a bit and that may play into your calculus as well. Anesthetic can take a while to get out of the system and it may be wise to feed small amounts for a while 'til her tummy's back to normal.

Marilyn
Thanks Marilyn. Makes sense to me.
What kind of cancer? Also DF?
 
What kind of cancer? Also DF?

Polly had a benign tumor on her pituitary causing the release of excess Insulin Like Growth Hormone which kept her natural insulin from entering her cells. That's the cause of her diabetes. She had stereotactic radiation therapy (SRT) at Colorado State University to blast the tumor. She went from 10.5 units twice a day before the treatment just a bit over two years ago; she's at .25 U today.
 
No Elise you are not! They are talking about both! Sootie is having an ultrasound and isn't supposed to eat etc..the reply is talking about a similar situation where the instructions were similar ..discussion is on what to do about shooting if you can't feed if goes low..least that's how I read it!
 
No Elise you are not! They are talking about both! Sootie is having an ultrasound and isn't supposed to eat etc..the reply is talking about a similar situation where the instructions were similar ..discussion is on what to do about shooting if you can't feed if goes low..least that's how I read it!
Precisely!!!! By Jove, HH!
 
If Sootie were to need a U/S again (and I hope not), remind them she's diabetic and ask if she really needs to fast. I've managed to get a pass on fasting for Neko for her ultrasounds. She likely won't be under anesthestic and hopefully not even need sedation for the procedure. The reason for not eating with a U/S is a cleaner bowel, a different reason than fasting for anesthesia. However, the no food cutoff still has implications on feeding. Even in cases of no food cutoffs for anesthesia, I've been able to get it pushed to at least midnight, 6AM for dentals.

As for shots, probably easier for all concerned to just skip the two shots. For any lurkers, this is a suggestion for Sootie's circumstances only.

Good luck tomorrow!:bighug:
 
If Sootie were to need a U/S again (and I hope not), remind them she's diabetic and ask if she really needs to fast. I've managed to get a pass on fasting for Neko for her ultrasounds. She likely won't be under anesthestic and hopefully not even need sedation for the procedure. The reason for not eating with a U/S is a cleaner bowel, a different reason than fasting for anesthesia. However, the no food cutoff still has implications on feeding. Even in cases of no food cutoffs for anesthesia, I've been able to get it pushed to at least midnight, 6AM for dentals.

As for shots, probably easier for all concerned to just skip the two shots. For any lurkers, this is a suggestion for Sootie's circumstances only.

Good luck tomorrow!:bighug:
Others will have more wisdom and I defer to that. Still, I've experienced some stress with a cat who was doing radiation treatments, one treatment on three consecutive days. And the little stinker walked a fine line the night before her first treatment right between comfy numbers and OMG-what-will-I do-if-she-needs-food numbers. Based on that experience, I would for sure reduce dose and considering where you are in the micro dose shooting, I'd guess that means no dose.

As for your return to shooting. In my opinion I'd pick up with the next cycle starting shot. She may be off her food a bit and that may play into your calculus as well. Anesthetic can take a while to get out of the system and it may be wise to feed small amounts for a while 'til her tummy's back to normal.

Marilyn
Am I missing something? I think Is having an ultrasound rather than radiation.
No Elise you are not! They are talking about both! Sootie is having an ultrasound and isn't supposed to eat etc..the reply is talking about a similar situation where the instructions were similar ..discussion is on what to do about shooting if you can't feed if goes low..least that's how I read it!

Thanks Elise (@tiffmaxee ), Marilyn @pollydoodle, @Wendy&Neko and @Gussie's mom, @Bobbie And Bubba.
All makes sense and thank you. And Marilyn for sharing about your Polly's treatments, effects and how well she is doing now.

I readily admit to some nail biting about tomorrow but holding open for good outcome (not mentioning any of the Dx possibilities - anti jinx!), but tomorrow is soon here and we'll know more after abdominal ultra sound.

0 dose tonight.

Thank you all for your prayers healing vines and caring support and suggestions throughout. Makes all the difference.
0 dosing tonight and, thanks to your input, feel better prepared about ways to approach Sootie's post ultrasound period. :bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top