10/11 Tinker AMPS 69. PMPS 85

Tinker's Mom

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...2-76-4-94-6-128-pmps-148.220296/#post-2458474

So first of all I am dumb and I ran out of test strips. I thought I ordered them for arrival yesterday but they are coming today.

However regardless, even if I had a lot of strips, I don't think I would feel comfortable shooting him at 69.

I could run out to Walmart and get a Relion meter which I had debated doing anyway, but I don't know if I want to change meters because then it would take a while to get a feel for the new numbers.

Thoughts? :-)
 
Maybe you could stall and see if Tinker is coming up? 69 is a reduction for SLGS, I might be tempted to stall and if he is coming up in 20-30 mins to shoot his new reduced dose... could you monitor if you did something like that?

on my Oct 5 post a few members had mentioned that skipping is not always the best way post #43 kind of helped me with understanding that perspective. Of course you have to do what you are comfortable with :)
 
Sorry I see you have run out of test strips, if you cant test then I definitely personally wouldnt shoot
 
Last edited:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...2-76-4-94-6-128-pmps-148.220296/#post-2458474

So first of all I am dumb and I ran out of test strips. I thought I ordered them for arrival yesterday but they are coming today.

However regardless, even if I had a lot of strips, I don't think I would feel comfortable shooting him at 69.

I could run out to Walmart and get a Relion meter which I had debated doing anyway, but I don't know if I want to change meters because then it would take a while to get a feel for the new numbers.

Thoughts? :)


I would not shoot insulin without any strips to test. Call it a skip and go to the store for a backup meter/strips. You can't test to see which way Tinker is headed...you'd be shooting blind and this is a low number for you.
 
Does the backup meter have to be the same kind? Is there a big difference between meters?

Between human meters the difference is usually about the size of the blood drop required. I found the Relion Prime required a bigger drop than the discontinued Relion Confirm. There are several different meters/strips at Walmart for various prices...it may differ from the meter you're using already but it won't be by much...When you get the strips for the meter you're currently using, you can so some testing with both at the same time - but until then - no insulin until you can monitor. As Carla said, it's too dangerous.
 
on my Oct 5 post a few members had mentioned that skipping is not always the best way post #43 kind of helped me with understanding that perspective. Of course you have to do what you are comfortable with :)

That is super interesting. It very much goes against the SLGS protocol though! I think I need some more data on Tink before I feel comfortable shooting low numbers. But this is very helpful :-)
 
That is super interesting. It very much goes against the SLGS protocol though! I think I need some more data on Tink before I feel comfortable shooting low numbers. But this is very helpful :)
Yes definitely, with SLGS you do have to gather the data you need before doing new things! either way, no test strips + low BG = no insulin for me too! good call :)
 
Soooo, I ordered strips from Amazon and they were relatively inexpensive. Turns out (no surprise) they were counterfeit. I called the manufacturer and they confirmed it. So I am not going to even trust them. Going to get a Relion meter now. :mad:
 
Crap. Selling counterfeit medical supplies is disgusting. Karma will get them.
Glad you figured it out though, you and Tinker will be better off with the Relion. :bighug:
 
I see you shot a PMPS 85 tonight.
Please make sure you get a few tests in this cycle to ensure Tinker does not drop too low.
Cats frequently drop lower at night.
I would also leave some food out for him to eat overnight
 
Back
Top