? 10/11 Tiny Sole: AMPS: 198! 30 min post AMPS: 218, +2: 283, +4: 266, +10: 266, PMPS: 304, +2: 361

Joanne&TinySole

Member Since 2018
CONDO: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-10-tiny-sole-amps-299-4-342-6-317-10-285-pmps-299-3-311.204615

Good morning, everyone!
Hey, @Bobbie And Bubba! It's looking promising today! AMPS of 198 is pretty darned good from where we've been. The adjustments of food are working again.

So, my question to my experienced beans is, do I give her a full dose of 3.25 U today, or drop it a bit since I'm gone all day, out of town at a conference?

Of course she had to get lower today...
The herd is being fed, I will test her again before shooting and after food.
I've left instructions to Karen to test frequently and text me numbers. I can always report back here.
The hypo notes are out (I don't think we'll need them, but...just in case).

I'm leaving for the conference soon, so if anyone could respond within 30 min, that'd be great.
XOXO, Joanne
 
Of course she would give you a blue start when you can't monitor.........cats and their timing!

You did shoot a lower blue on 9/30 with 3 units but you were able to monitor. Can you get at least a +2 in before you leave to see how active the cycle will be ?
 
If you can't get a +2 in before you leave, I think I would not shoot the whole dose , but maybe give her a 1/2 dose. Since she is off the kibble now the lower carb food is going to impact her BG's to be lower and you will want to be around to monitor her when you shoot something lower than she has been in a while.

With the dry kibble out of the equation now, it might be a good thing that you can't raise her dose just right yet as you might see her drop significantly on this dose with no more kibble.
 
Here is what .75 looks like

upload_2018-10-11_7-49-17.png



ETA: So yes, a little less than that and a bit more than .5
 
Ok, I just gave her 1.50 and a spec, Units just before 8 AM.
Karen will test at 10 AM. I have confidence that Tiny will be fine.
I wouldn't have that confidence without your guidance.
I am grateful, more than you will know.

I'll report back after the 10 AM BG.
XOXO, Joanne
 
Yes...on the spreadsheet...
+2: 283 and +4: 266
Better than the 300s!!!
Hot diggity! When there is a flat yellow cycle, it can indicate that there could be a drop in the next cycle or two. If this cycle continues to stay flat yellow, can Karen monitor closely tonight? I like what the absence of the dry food is doing to her numbers. :cat::)
 
Yes!!! I'll be home and will monitor closely.
How will we determine her insulin dosage tonight? Go back to 3.25 U if her numbers warrant it, or adjust lower again?
 
Yes!!! I'll be home and will monitor closely.
How will we determine her insulin dosage tonight? Go back to 3.25 U if her numbers warrant it, or adjust lower again?
Good question! Just looked at the SS. Are there any other tests today?

Let's see where she lands at PMPS. What time do you shoot? I'll look for you.

With the higher carb dry food out of the mix, and her now dropping into a blue and so far a flat yellow cycle, I am inclined to say hold this dose , but let's see where she is at PMPS time.
 
I would go back to the 3.25 units tonight, as long as someone can monitor. She'll probably be fairly high due to the BSC (reduced dose).
With SLGS, you hold the dose if her nadirs are between 90 and 150. Not there yet, but maybe addressing any thyroid issues and getting rid of dry food will get you there. If her lowest numbers are below 150 in a couple of days, you will need that increase.

Psst: that last bit has to be shown to Tiny Sole. It's well known here that the threat of an increase gets them to really work the juice. ;)
 
So, keep her at 3.25 U tonight, or 3 U?
Yes, if she should zoom up for the PMPS ,( pinks or red numbers) which Wendy thinks she will have because of the reduced dose.

If she should still be hanging in yellows, I might be inclined to shoot the same reduced dose only if there not going to be any higher carb dry food in the mix.

JMHO.

ETA: Mid to low yellow numbers.
 
Not there yet, but maybe addressing any thyroid issues and getting rid of dry food will get you there

@Wendy&Neko , so you know, Tiny has diabetes. Cookie (other kid!) has the thyroid issues (vomiting and diarrhea).
Bobbie and I were going back and forth on both cats in the threads on Tiny here. I hope that was ok?

I can see that getting rid of the dry food is working for Tiny already, so we are on our way. I feel hopeful.

I'll get a +2 at 9:50 PM BG and a +4 at 11:50 BG before bedtime on Tiny and do my best to get two more through the night - I'll set an alarm.
These numbers are promising. I'm happy to have everyone's guidance. I promise to stay on track moving forward. Thank you for your patience with me.
:bighug::bighug:
I think that both Tiny and myself are leveling out!

Side note: met with the new Vet today. Good gut feeling and feel confident that moving forward she will be a partner in all of the cat's care.
She's open to my adjusting Tiny's Lantus as necessary and agrees that moist food is the way to go for the cats.

She used to practice at the clinic we are leaving and understands our concerns and complaints.
She left this particular clinic to practice elsewhere because of the same issues with the lead Vet clinician at this other Vet practice.
She is young, technologically adept, willing to work with and listen to us. What's not to like?!

Today was a good day!

I'll update the spreadsheet and the thread title as the night goes on.
 
Wonderful about the new vet! That is all you can ask for! I think some vets and it sounds like she might be one of them, loves to have hands on fur parents. I hope she serves you and yours well. :bighug:

There was a lot of good stuff that happened today! :)
 
Last edited:
So, PMPS +2 is 361.
She may be bouncing?
I'm going to get some sleep since she's on the rise and will check her in a few hours...maybe a +6 or a +7.
Does that sound reasonable?
 
Awesome news you may have a good partnership with the new vet,

She might be bouncing, but more likely reacting to the reduced dose. Personally I am a fan of maximizing sleep. I would get a +4 maybe, and if she's still the same or up, get sleep for the rest of the cycle.
 
Back
Top