? 10/18 Tiny Sole: PMPS: 110, 2.75 U PM dose, +1: 95, +2: 127, +3: 134, +4: 152

Joanne&TinySole

Very Active Member
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...285-2-303-7-233-11-189-pmps-193-3-128.205026/

Needing encouragement to shoot the normal 3.5 U...

last night's +4 was 128, then
+5: 140
+8: 121 ...gave a little FF broths
AMPS: 84, and I need to shoot soon.

I know we're supposed to shoot low to stay low, but here's my thoughts.
I don't know if she went lower than 50 last night/early this morning.
She typically goes lower at the +10 and +11 mark, but I don't have that data.

My inclination is to give her the 3.5 U normal dose, but I'm concerned about the unknown and the need to possibly give her a dose reduction?

Please weigh in .
 
I'm going to give Tiny a partial dose.
I know this may set the progress back a bit, but I'm concerned about giving a full 3.5 U.
I'll back her up to 2 U; a little more than the 1/2 dose (1.66) of her usual 3.5 U.
Off to shoot now.

Good morning, btw!
She's in the green - how about that!

8 AM UPDATE:
I retested her at 8 AM (she ate around 7:10 AM) and her BG came up to 109.
So, I reduced her Lantus dose just a tiny bit to 3.25 U.

I'll keep testing Tiny until we go to Cookie's appointment today - we leave at 12:15 PM.
I'll feed accordingly, and especially before I go.

I look forward to having someone weigh in.
XOXO, J.
 
Last edited:
+1: 105 at 9 AM - holding steady.

I have to run into work for a bit but should be back by the +2, or shortly thereafter.
 
I am sorry no one was around to help guide you.
I retested her at 8 AM (she ate around 7:10 AM) and her BG came up to 109.
So, I reduced her Lantus dose just a tiny bit to 3.25 U.
Remember, if you fed her at 7:10 AM and waited till 8AM to shoot, you are shooting an inflated number and she could come back down again. You want to Test, feed, shoot all in a 15 time frame. I am glad that you will be home at +2ish to check on her.

As far as whether she went lower in the PM cycle or not, since she isn't used to being in greens she would probably start to bounce had she gone lower than you caught.

She started in a green! Yeah, progress. I know it is scary to shoot them especially if you can't be around to monitor. Luckily you have some flexibility in your schedule.
 
Hi there,
if you are still doing slgs, then that 84 earned her a reduction to 3.25u anyways.
On SLGS reductions are taken with drops below 90.

Did you also feed at amps? or just at +11 (7.10am)?
Looking at that +1 I think I would give her a snack of a couple of teaspoons of LC now, it looks like its going to be an active cycle.
 
You want to Test, feed, shoot all in a 15 time frame.

Hi, Bobbie! Thanks for checking in.
I only waited because I was hoping for some dosing advice. I didn't want to wait past 8 AM, so used my own judgment as fast as I could. So, it appears that I used good judgment with the .25 reduction.

I'll keep testing Tiny until Cookie and I leave for her Vet appt. at 12:15 PM today, and I'll feed her some carby food before I go to bolster her a bit.

XO, J.
 
give her a snack of a couple of teaspoons of LC

I did give her a snack and will test her at +3/11 AM.

Nice to know that my judgment was good on the reduction.

The 84 was her original AMPS, but I backed it up to the +11 as I was waiting for dosage advice. So the 109 actually ended up being her AMPS. The delay of her shot only came because of waiting for advice. Normally I test, feed shoot within 15 to 20 min.
 
+3: 91 at 11 AM
I'm giving her a little FF as a snack.

Of course she has to do this when I have to take her sister to the specialist in 45 minutes.

Would anyone recommend that I give Tiiny some HC before I leave the house for Cookie's Vet visit?
 
Last edited:
If anyone is available, please weigh in.

Tiny is at +4: 73 and I have to leave soon to get Cookie to her specialist's appt.
I just gave her some FF Broths, creamy mackerel.
I've no idea what the carb content is on it, and have no time to look.

I'm thinking that I need to load Tiny in the car to go with Cookie and me to the appointment so I can monitor her BG, etc.

Help?

Now I'm wishing I had only given her a half dose this morning.

@Bobbie And Bubba , @Gill & George can you weigh in?
 
I don't know the carb level of those foods but I think some HC should be enough to bolster her up while you are out assuming you are not going to be gone for a long period of time (more than couple hours say!) It's hard to tell since this seems to be her first surf in the greens midcycle. You can basically abort the cycle with a decent meal of HC if need be.
 
Good call taking her with you. Sorry I wasn't on when you tagged me. If in doubt, boost them up some with carbs. It is a real balancing act of how much to give and which carb % to give at that time. I always try to consider at what point does the lower number appear? If it is at her nadir time or right after the nadir, I am not so fast to pull anything high carb out but rather a little of LC. It is a real ECID thing and the more she hangs in the greens and the data you get will help you to know which works best for her.

Good luck today at the IM vet for the US. Keep us posted. Sending hugs to all of you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
DOSAGE QUESTION FOR TONIGHT:
Do I keep her at 3.25 U, like she got this morning (a reduction from 3.50) or do I go down to 3 U of Lantus?

She usually goes lower at the +10, +11 before the PMPS and I don't want her to go hypo.

Here's the breakdown:
+11: 84,
AMPS: 109,
+1: 105,
+2: 123,
+3: 91,
+4: 73, food given: FF Broths Creamy Mackerel
+4.20: 78,
+5: 72,
+6.30: 73, wellness Core Signature Selects: skip-jack tuna and salmon, 2 tsp. - gobbled up.

Will test at 3 PM est.
 
+7: 133
+8: 157

Which leads me to my dosage question for tonight...
Tiny has had a small stretch of greens today, four below 90, (if you count the 84) from just before the AMPS.

Do I keep her at the 3.25 U dose tonight, or reduce the dose further to 3 U?
I'm hoping for an answer before 7 PM EST...thanks!

...asking for a friend! ;)

Tiny's BGs are doing pretty good since +6, so I'll wait to feed her until their normal 7 PM feeding time, but I want to be proactive in figuring out her dosage tonight!

I'm off to get Cookie from her tests at 5.
 
You've got a friend, girlfriend! ;) You would keep her at the new reduced dose of 3.25u. If you give reductions back to back they usually fail. She is still under the influence of the 3.5 depot until it drains. ( It can take about 4 cycles to drain) Then you want to see what the new dose is doing for her. She is likely to bounce from seeing those nice greens today.

Now remember, you shot late this morning ( 8AM EST) so you need to shoot a bit later tonight. You can regain your old schedule by shooting 15 minutes earlier a cycle or 30 minutes a day. Since she is all ready on the rise, you could probably shoot 30 minutes earlier tonight .

ETA: How did Cookie make out?
 
If anyone is available, please weigh in.

Tiny is at +4: 73 and I have to leave soon to get Cookie to her specialist's appt.
I just gave her some FF Broths, creamy mackerel.
I've no idea what the carb content is on it, and have no time to look.

I'm thinking that I need to load Tiny in the car to go with Cookie and me to the appointment so I can monitor her BG, etc.

Help?

Now I'm wishing I had only given her a half dose this morning.

@Bobbie And Bubba , @Gill & George can you weigh in?
Sorry I didn't get your tag till later.
 
I think this depends on how you are feeling. It could end up being another active cycle and require some monitoring and possibly steering with food. She had a beautiful cycle today and has not bounced much if at all, at least not yet. Are you up for that or do you need to get some sleep?
 
I need to get sleep, but don't want to set her back. It's been a stressful day and I'm afraid I won't hear an alarm. Please help me decide the best course of action. Thanks.
 
Yes, the greens today were likely from the 3.5 unit depot. Stick with 3.25 unless you need sleep. Whatever you do tonight, tomorrow would be 3.25.
I don't know if she went lower than 50 last night/early this morning
Even if you were following TR, we dose by what you see on the meter, not what might have been. Cause maybe it wasn't either. ;) And for AT users, the reduction point is 68 on TR.
 
Ok, I'm going to shoot 3.25 and be brave for her.

Question though, if before my head hits the pillow and I'm worried, can I give her some MC or HC food to get her through the night, or does the HC food just make her crash harder/faster?
 
She was riding close to a TR reduction point today so I'd be inclined to give a reduced shot tonight. She'll catch back up so not to worry. Sometimes Momma's wellbeing has to take precedence. I'd try 3.0U or even 2.75U if you are really zonked out.
 
Ok, thank you for the permission to take care of myself, @MrWorfMen's Mom
I think I have to, or I'm not going to have anything left for tomorrow.
I've barely eaten myself today.

I'll dose her at 2.75 tonight and give her 3.25 tomorrow.

THANK YOU, thank you, THANK ALL OF YOU.

I'm going to check on Cookie, catch some dinner and then report back in a bit.
Time for Tiny Sole's insulin!

XOXO, Joanne
 
I was never a testaholic and would only do a +1 if I was shooting my lowest yet, or she was low and dropping into preshot. But I had to cross border shop for test strips and learned to be strategic in my testing. That took time, when new intested more, and less when I switched to Levemir which was more predictable.
 
I sorta thought that might happen since she was stressed at the vets and then came down again. Get a +2 and let's see where she is. If she has dropped some more, give her a few tsp of LC food. If she has dropped appreciably, give some MC food to slow her down. If you don't have MC food, you can make it by adding a little bit ( a few drops) of HC gravy to some LC food .

No panic, she is nice and safe right now.
 
Tell me a high carb food to give her...
I have Temptations, FF Broths, Soultastic mackerel and tuna in GRAVY, Chicken Baby Food
 
So, I should give her some food now, or wait until the +2 BG? Cancel that question.

I see Bobbie said to get a +2 and then give her some LC food...
Sorry...head is spinning...
 
Sorry I wasn't on when you tagged me.

PS: don't ever be sorry if you can't respond...everyone's responses...yours, Linda's, Wendy's, etc., and poking my nose into other posts of similar panic mode helped me make the right call...my gut's call this morning.

I CANNOT express enough how grateful I am for every one of you who have reached out to offer guidance and a calm rudder in the storm.

XOXOXOXOXOXOXO, J.
 
Good. Looks like she might be heading into a bounce. Check again in an hour and see if she is holding, rising or dropping. Feed her as you normally would for the night cycle at this point unless she is dropping at next test.
 
Back
Top