10/19 Tiny Sole PMPS: 161, +2: 245, +4: 151, +5: 148

Joanne&TinySole

Very Active Member
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...e-1-95-2-127-3-134-4-152.205051/#post-2273320

I guess Tiny Sole didn't want her sister Cookie to get all the attention yesterday, thus the timing. However, she's starting out steady today.

I did do a 4 AM +8 post last night and she was at 160, so she steadily rose through the night right up to the AMPS.

I think today will be a bit easier (?) ...hoping so.

I should hear from the Internist on Cookie (Tiny's older sister) today or tomorrow at the latest, regarding blood work and next steps. Cookie actually seems a bit better today, and I must say, her shaved belly makes her look like a cute pot-bellied piggy. :cat:

THANKING EVERYONE from my heart again for all the watching and helping yesterday. So glad to have all of you in our corner. Have a good day!

XOXO, J
 
Not a bad start to the day given her adventures yesterday and the reduced dose last night. Hope you got a good rest and that Tiny will dip her toes in the lagoon later today. :)
 
She hasn't earned a reduction

So, she'd have to dip below 90 again to earn a reduction again, correct? I'll see where she is in about 30 min and then decide how tired I am...which is exhausted...but I don't want to stall any of her progress.
 
Last edited:
They can be scary numbers but they are good numbers

You know, she was really odd at the BG numbers she had yesterday...seemed like she had no energy, kind of out of it, so that was close enough. I can't imagine her going below 50!

She hasn't had much of a bounce up from yesterday's lows.
 
I'll be feeding her at 7:15 PM so PMPS will be just before then.
Perhaps she'll rise a little more and bounce up from yesterday.
Either way, since she is coming up, I believe that a dosage tonight of 3.25 U will be warranted, correct?
 
She had a great cycle today after those lowish greens and a reduced dose. :D

As for her energy level, I think this is quite common and occurs because they have become so used to functioning in higher BG ranges that those low numbers just don't feel right yet. My girl did the same thing but that totally turned around after a few weeks of staying in good numbers. I think Wendy mentioned her Neko did something similar too. I wouldn't worry as long as Tiny's eating well and not showing any other signs of being unwell.
 
I believe that a dosage tonight of 3.25 U will be warranted, correct
Technically yes but you'll need to monitor to ensure she doesn't dip too low. Usually a reading before bed by +3 will let you know if it's going to be an active cycle or not. She didn't bounce much, if that is a bounce at all rather than just the reduced dose emptying the depot a bit, so what she'll do tonight is a bit of a guessing game.
 
Bubba did the same when he starting seeing green numbers, really lethargic. After he got used to them, it was a new cat!

I agree with @MrWorfMen's Mom for the 3.25 dose again. And because you shot a BCS dose last night (Big Chicken SH*T dose , that's what we call it when we need to do it) the count starts over for the cycles. Anytime the depot gets disrupted, the count for cycles starts over.

Joanne, Tiny is looking so look . Just look at the SS for the last 4 cycles! Blues and greens, with one little old yellow. Onward soldiers, just pushing ahead!

ETA: BCS dose was last night 2.75. I wasn't sure if you knew that terminology.
 
See, you are normalizing things for me.
What we don't know about what we don't know is the nervewracking part.
Taco is right along with Tiny Sol, he is so pathetic in the green, he has one eye shut and lays there sulking,until he goes into blue. Makes me feel so bad, even tho I know he needs to go there, he's been doing this since 2 years of being diagnosed, and then gives me heart attacks and looks at me like what's the matter with you? With his squinty eye. :banghead:
 
When Menace is resting her normal behaviour when I pet or stroke her is to let out a little chirp and twist her head toward me and ask for more. There were times when she started getting into better numbers that I literally had to rub the daylights out of her to get her to respond at all! I thought I'd have a stroke when she did that. Not happening anymore thank goodness. (Need "swipes brow" emoji).:woot:
 
When Menace is resting her normal behaviour when I pet or stroke her is to let out a little chirp and twist her head toward me and ask for more. There were times when she started getting into better numbers that I literally had to rub the daylights out of her to get her to respond at all! I thought I'd have a stroke when she did that. Not happening anymore thank goodness. (Need "swipes brow" emoji).:woot:
Will this do ?:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: nailbiting and running around the house like a chicken with it's head cut off :eek:
 
Huh...well, I wonder who she has been talking to then...???
Not Taco , they just know when to give us something to pay attention to, it should have been ,SLY AS A CAT instead of fox;) Did you notice that as soon as you think they're out of danger, our whole demeaner changes ? Like the old saying , OH happy,happy, joy,joy, now I'm not tired anymore. And during the rough happening, it's like, ok, DR. Cindy on the scene, do NOT distract, WORKING !That's me, I just can't joke when he's got me all wound up , I guess it's fear of the unknown .
 
Have you ever tried honeysuckle? I hear some cats that are not catnip fans love honeysuckle. Never tried it myself but then I grow my own catnip and all mine go crazy.
No, but when I can , I give him a little bouquet of grass, but, he's not getting that now, I'm a mean Momma :) I'll have to look into honeysuckle, so he can barf that up :)
 
Have you ever tried honeysuckle? I hear some cats that are not catnip fans love honeysuckle. Never tried it myself but then I grow my own catnip and all mine go crazy.
Honeysuckle! Interesting. We have a lot of it that grows wild here late spring. It is close to the road so neither cat goes near it as the sounds from the highway scare them. Does the honeysuckle have to be dried, or can I just pick some and give to them?
 
Sorry Bobbie, I don't know off hand. A fellow cat loving friend says his cats love it. I'll have to check with him and see if it's dried or fresh. He said he bought it so I assume it's likely dried but I couldn't find any in the pet stores near me.
I just looked it up, it's the wood part, there's a lot of info on it. Put in Honeysuckle for cats. I may have to try it for my 3 kids.
 
Sorry Bobbie, I don't know off hand. A fellow cat loving friend says his cats love it. I'll have to check with him and see if it's dried or fresh. He said he bought it so I assume it's likely dried but I couldn't find any in the pet stores near me.
I will look into it as well. I love the smell of honeysuckle. :) It grows around my lantern post at the end of my driveway. But, as I said my cats don't go down that far as the highway noise scares them. My driveway is 1/4 mile long and we have about an acre in front of my house. We have about 2 acres behind my house and then our neighbor behind us has 10 acres so the boys spend most of their time in the back in the acreage and in the fields. I am so thankful that the highway noise in the front scares them, otherwise I would not be able to let them outside.
 
My Cookie goes crazy over strawberries when we bring them home!
IMG_20130328_161122.jpg

My middle child pulls the strawberries out of the grocery bags and gets on the counter to do it even though he knows that is forbidden territory! This is him giving me the "Look Ma I'm helping" gaze!
 
"Look Ma I'm helping"

So funny! I can't figure out what it is about them that makes her and your middle child - is that Worf? - surely does look like he's helping! :D

So, Tiny Sole is yellow like the sun...

9 PM +2: 245 ...I'm not quite sure which emoji to insert here!
I will test at +4, since she took a dip into the blues on 10/14 at the +4 mark after being in the high 200s...
 
Back
Top