10/21 Vyktor PMPS 122 +3 86 / Purrdy PMPS 227 +3 103 +4 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Very Active Member
10/19

Tried to post a couple of times yesterday but was just too sad, heartbroken by the loss of our beloved Tess cat_wings>o thoughts are with Ann and John.

Vyktor's yesterday
AMPS 142 +2.5 106 :cool: +4 67 :D +5.5 88 :D
PMPS 182 +2.5 164 +5.5 184

Don't know what happened last night, we may have a failed reduction. I did check for a FS but I'm not sure I can smell the lantus - I really must swap to those vapour cigarettes. If there's no improvement today I will take him back up tomorrow.

Purrdy's yesterday
AMPS 223 +2.5 106 :cool: +4 88 :D +6 122
PMPS 157 +3 135 +5 133

He went to the vet yesterday. His skin infection (bacteria on culture) is improved but they gave him another shot of ABs. They took his blood and it will be sent off for the IGF test. Turns out there has been a miscommunication (read vet wasn't listening :rolleyes:) about the IAA test. They got in touch with their lab last night, lab has never heard of an IAA test so they will be looking into it this morning, they're not sure what they require. His blood has already been serumised for the IGF test so if they need whole blood it won't be able to be done with this draw. Also the quote I got for it was actually the cost of the TSH test previously run so it may be ridiculously expensive. If they can't do it from this draw and/or it's ridiculously expensive I think we may as well wait to see what the IGF test has to say before reconsidering.

Vet says he still has poop waiting to come out and she learned something new again with the giving of the coconut oil and pumpkin - we really should get a discount for teaching them new tricks! He has had a small hard poop this morning so things are still moving.

He also got into a bit of hot food this morning as he beat mum to civvie Dolly's vomit. He was stretching his tongue out as far as it would go trying to lick up a bit more as mum dragged him away - gross Purrdy, gross.
 
Did you increase today or is that just the new way of measuring that is .75u? With a 67 yesterday, I'd be inclined to haul out the patience pants for a bit longer. ;)

On the link to the IAA test, it says serum is needed. A lot of vets haven't either heard of IAA or don't think it's important to know the results. Partly true because you can't treat it, but it does help to know the result when it comes to dosing strategy. Even in Canada, the IAA test was a bit cheaper than the IGF-1 test, but still more costly than in the US.

Yuck on the seconds. :stop:
 
I hope you see more green from Vyktor soon and the AB helps Purrdy's skin infection. Hopefully the test results will give you some answers. Silly Purrdy helping himself to Dolly's vomit. :facepalm:
 
Boys, boys, boys! What's with all this blue? You both hit green yesterday, so I know you can do it. Let's get busy now!

Purrdy, cats do not eat regurgitated food. They have too much class. That is something that droolers do. Look in the mirror. You are a cat. 'nuff said.
 
I agree: YUCK!!! And Serryn, are you really a smoker? You eat such a healthy diet. Doesn't smoking counteract it?

Hope you can get Purrdy's tests straightened out with the vets.

I am still grieving with Ann & John, too. And I think Rusty is also.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Vyktor's day
AMPS 182 +3 79 :D +4 70 :D +5 76 :D

So I guess something did go wrong with the shot last night - or Vyktor was just exercising his right to be a confounding cat! No on the increase Wendy. I've just been using a bad batch of syringes and the measurements were out by that much when I compared them to a new batch of syringes and then to the BD ruler - luckily I was a little conservative on the starting dose because as it turns out he started on the recommended dose for his weight anyway!

Purrdy's day and I forgot his S/Sheet this morning
AMPS 157 +3 160

The vet is attributing his better numbers to the abs working on his skin infection but I think not. It was almost 2 weeks and four increases after the shot that his numbers started coming down, also he would have had the skin infection while he was here going crazy at the lagoon. She also recommended we consider taking Purrdy to see a diabetes specialist vet with a PhD in feline diabetes. I'd already told mum there was no way she'd have more knowledge than the Board but for interest's sake I looked her up - her PhD is actually in dog diabetes and her website doesn't mention home testing at all, just urine monitoring :rolleyes:

@Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) - for me the healthy diet is just a fortunate side effect of looking out for the animals, so from my perspective it's lucky that the diet that counteracts the smoking ;)
 
I hope you get everything figured to with the IAA test. It can be helpful to know what you are dealing with.
Such great numbers for both of them. Keep it up guys.
 
Very interesting on the vet specialist with PhD in feline diabetes. I wouldn't waste my money either.
Hope you can get Purrdy sorted out soon. Vyktor is doing really well I think for a cat just out of remission.
Purrdy..........you are a cat not a dog so keep away from the unmentionable.
 
Hi Serryn :coffee::coffee::coffee:

Good luck with the IAA test. I hope that all works out. I LOVED the comment how we are teaching our vets new tricks. It was the same here. :) It is nice to you both you kitties in good numbers. Surf well guys!
 
How nice to have a vet that's willing to "learn new tricks." Mine just sort off lets me go my own way with Polly's FD. Other stuff, we negotiate!

Vyktor sure is looking fine numbers wise after his weird night in the House of Blues. Keep working for the green, mister.

Sending lots of test result vines for Purrdyboy. So frustrating that the testing has to be so confounded difficult. We had a go-round here with the IAA. Local vet (and MSU) thought we should wait 'til Acro test was done to see if we needed it. Thank goodness MSU kept enough sample to run the IAA with just a phone call request.

As for the pukus snack. Very canine, Purrdy. Felines have a bit more decorum.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Thanks for the update on Purrdy yesterday! I had been meaning to check in on you but I couldn't get to the computer last night. Our vet hadn't heard about IAA testing either but luckily looked it up and said she could put aside some serum for it. I think we are in the same boat with waiting as I don't believe that the sample we sent last week, got tested until today. So lots more waiting to do :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: I thought I could be patient but now I'm starting to get antsy. Mostly about, what if everything is negative? What is my vet gonna try to make me do then? Oye! Oh well. I think we both are gonna need parachute sized patience pants! Here - got you a pair, it was a two for one deal! ;)
tumblr_mfg8ekqfz21s19xfuo1_250.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top