10.24 Polly AMPS 178 (.25U),+4=48, +6=89, PMPS 126 (0.1u) +1=100,+2=65, +2.5=55, +3=65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Very Active Member
Yesterday, her lowest number ever.
Recap 10.24
331 AMPS
132 +4
88 +6
60+8
73 +9
83 +11
82 PMPS
52 +2.5
40 +3
60 +3.5
74 +4
123 +4.5
87 +6
82 +7
144 +10

Yes, that 40 at pm+3 last night is Polly's lowest recorded glucose number. Unnerving because it came a half hour after HC. Guess the insulin onset was fighting with the high carb gravy.

Polly still isn't interested in food. Mixed a shrimp/chicken FF with warm water at AMPS. She ate a few bites. Mixed in some baby food. She ate more. Total: 1/2 or so of her usual breffis. Dropped her dose from a fat .50 to 0.25. She lapped a bit more at +3.

Her behavior is just like it was six weeks or so ago as her suspected pancreatitis first hit. She isn't vomiting today (a couple purges yesterday), her poo is small and hard but she isn't straining. I'm guessing we have a p'tits flare based on her inappetence, lethargy, and discomfort. I did give her 100 cc Lactated Ringers this morning. However....(here's where the questions come)

If she's uncomfortable, in pain, wouldn't her numbers go up instead of so far down?

She isn't vomiting. But she sniffs and walks away from food. No lip licking or hard swallows. OK to still give Cerenia? I can access three doses to get us through the weekend.

Even though her numbers aren't elevated (there's an understatement), she is acting a little pained. Walking sort of stiffly, tail down. I have bupe. Any problem if I give her some even if this episode isn't p'titis?


Everything tells me this is another p'tits flare. Everything except her falling numbers. Last episode had higher numbers which lowered to blue each evening after her IV drips. Any thoughts on anything else I should think about.

Nearest E-vet. Two hours one way. I'll take her. But if possible, I'd like to "assume" p'titis and treat the symptoms. At least 'til Monday. I value the opinions here. What do you think?

Thanks for any and all input. I'm way over my head on this. Oh, and Polly....let's not do this sort of thing on the weekends anymore!

Marilyn and Polly
 
I'd follow my gut. While numbers usually do go up with pain, I wouldn't assume that because they aren't going up that she's not in pain. You know her best. I'd treat the symptoms for now. It won't hurt to give her a cerenia if that helps her with nausea. ECID...cerenia does not help Gracie with nausea so I have to give her ondansetron but some cats do well with cerenia for nausea. I think the fluids were a good idea. If you think she's in pain, give her a little bupe and see if that helps.

Sending massive healing vines for our Pollydoodledoo!
 
It definitely sounds to me like she is nauseous. Max does well with ondansetron when that happens but like Marje said some do better with cerenia and I've learned that some need both. Doses that work vary too. When I didn't ow that Max was getting ondansetron and cyproheptadine. I couldn't get him off the drugs for months. Then a vet had me increase the ondansetron and said the dose was too low. Once I got him on the right dose for him I didn't need cyproheptadine. Vines and prayers that Polly feels better today.
 
Tons of vines for sweet miss Polly. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Again, why the weekend?!:eek:

You've gotten good advice above. I'd definitely agree on the bupe. It's a common enough drug for acros. Neko gets it regularly for her arthritis - been on it almost two years now.

Have you given her b12 injections at all? I think some people (@julie & punkin (ga) ) have found that regular b12 helps keep the panc attacks away.

I saw that Polly had a vomit yesterday. Has she ever had an abdominal ultrasound? As I've found with the civie, more that a few pukus a year should be investigated.
 
Tons of vines for sweet miss Polly. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Again, why the weekend?!:eek:

You've gotten good advice above. I'd definitely agree on the bupe. It's a common enough drug for acros. Neko gets it regularly for her arthritis - been on it almost two years now.

Have you given her b12 injections at all? I think some people (@julie & punkin (ga) ) have found that regular b12 helps keep the panc attacks away.

I saw that Polly had a vomit yesterday. Has she ever had an abdominal ultrasound? As I've found with the civie, more that a few pukus a year should be investigated.

I agree in checking out if vomiting occurs more than once in a great while. There are just too many intentional issues with cats and early diagnosis can sure help. Unfortunately tge are finding the blood tests aren't so great as hormones which are being measured can be the result of diabetes or CKD as well as pancreatitis. My vet and I just had this discussion and ge said it takes detective work to figure it out. :bighug::bighug:
 
No need for me to add advice to what you've received, but with Minka I have to give a combo of Ondansetron, Cerenia and Cypro when she has a flare, as well as Bupe. As others have said, ECID and you may need to experiment to find out what works best for Polly. If you don't have Ondansetron, I'd ask the vet for some to keep on hand for the next weekend or holiday that Pollywobbles decides to do this.

Sending healing vines and :bighug::bighug::bighug:.
 
I have no advise to give but hope Polly feels better and the rest of your weekend starts looking up. Doodles was given Anzemet for nausea and it worked great but it's not cheap.
 
Quick reply (phone is a pain). Trix's numbers drop when she's having a flare...sounds like Polly might be the same kind of kitty. Prayers that she feels better ASAP!
 
Adding to Wendy's and Elise's posts, the B12 shots have really helped Gracie and my vet, like Wendy's, says if a cat is vomiting....even just the occasional hairball, something is wrong. They shouldn't even scarf and barf. And as Elise said, some tests.....specfPL, for example, can be high if there is something else going on like cholangitis, triaditis, or Sny intestinal issue so it takes investigative work. Ultrasounds plus labs are the start. Gracie has never had a normal specfPL but her pancreas looks perfect on u/s. Her lab test is being affected by her intestinal/liver issues.

More vines.
 
Sending feel better vines to Polly. Sounds like a pancreatic flare up to me. And you have been given great advice. When Sheba gets a flare up I sometimes have to lower her insulin dose because she is not eating enough. Maybe that is happening to Polly.
 
Poor Polly. Hope she feels better soon.

Can she be tempted to eat with special foods like tuna or human grade chicken breast? Or a few higher carb treats? If not, do you think syringe feeding is in order? I second the suggestion about needing less insulin if she's eating less. But it looks like you already did that.

I can't speak to pancreatitis in Polly since you know her better than me. When Sketch had it, his BG was in the 550 zone. Then again, he wasn't on insulin at the time.
 
Fluids, bupe, odansetron. She ate her dinner sloshed with water. About 2-2.5 ounces. Clean plate! I gave just a token dose. 0.25 with two small drops twisted out. I cannot stay up tonight; I know that. I'll do another 75-100 fluids tonight, about 12 hours after the last. And I'll probably do an odansetron two hours or so before AMPS. Bupe? I'll let the girl's tail be my guide.

She's not out of the woods by any means. But I hope we caught this early and can stave off anything too scary.

I did find a vet about 60 miles from us who offers ultrasound. Will check that out Monday and see what they can do.

Thanks to all for your vines, prayers, encouragement, and suggestions. Keep 'em coming.

Marilyn
 
Sometimes you can find traveling vets that do ultrasound. Theo's last U/S was a board certified ultrasound vet that came to his regular vets office.

Paws crossed for an easy night. :bighug: Good news on the fuds tonight.
 
Yes, vit B12 is good at helping prevent future p-titis attacks. We gave it consistently to punkin after his first p-titis attack. He had it chronically.

I'm so sorry our sweet Polly is feeling punkish. Sending feel better vines her way.

Sounds like you are very on top of things, Marilyn. hugs!
 
More vines for Polly. I hope she will eat better and feel better. Put lots of water in her food. When Rusty has had pancreatitis I have just made sure that he eats and gets enough water in his foods.

Hang in there, Marilyn,

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Polly seems to be turning into a mermaid:D

Sending more feel better vines for her and an extra helping of appy vines. Good call on the reduced dose!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top