10/27 Jenn'sCrew- few questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

Mikey AMPS 105-

Cassius AMPS 91- Thoughts on reducing or keeping him at .5u?

Abby AMPS - 273- I'm not sure I can give her anymore insulin. It's a challenge getting so much insulin in, I think she can feel it and tonight for the first time I almost couldn't give her the shot. She was so feaked out

Rose AMPS 174- I increased her to .75u. not sure that was a good decision

Tigger AMPS - I forgot to log

Shadow- AMPS 90- How much longer until we can do an OTJ trial?

Oreo AMPS 61-
 
Cassius - I think I'd hold and see if you can get some longer stretches of all green before reducing. He's really close though. :D

Abby - That's a tough one. :bighug: It looks like she'd do better on Levemir, but the later nadir is an issue. The only saving grace is that some high dose cats (acros) nadir even later and close to PS time. I don't know if getting tests from +9 to +12 would be possible or if you have some time off you could do an experiment. The only other thought for you, have you ever used R? It's only something to be done with the vet's buy in and someone with experience helping you out the first few times. But it can help lower the numbers a bit so the L insulin can really do it's job.

R0se - I think you had a little bit of room for an increase with her, but I'd monitor closely. That 60 yesterday looks like you might see some action soon on this dose.

Shadow - How many drops are you doing in this dose? I see both 0.1 and 0.01 in the units column. If it's just been 0.1 and you haven't got many drops on this dose, I think he's about ready to try the next dose down. :D Other than that lone 100, he's been solid green for 14 cycles.
 
You're amazing. You're doing such a fine and good job with all your cats. I agree with Wendy about Shadow :D
 
Cassius - I think I'd hold and see if you can get some longer stretches of all green before reducing. He's really close though. :D

Abby - That's a tough one. :bighug: It looks like she'd do better on Levemir, but the later nadir is an issue. The only saving grace is that some high dose cats (acros) nadir even later and close to PS time. I don't know if getting tests from +9 to +12 would be possible or if you have some time off you could do an experiment. The only other thought for you, have you ever used R? It's only something to be done with the vet's buy in and someone with experience helping you out the first few times. But it can help lower the numbers a bit so the L insulin can really do it's job.

R0se - I think you had a little bit of room for an increase with her, but I'd monitor closely. That 60 yesterday looks like you might see some action soon on this dose.

Shadow - How many drops are you doing in this dose? I see both 0.1 and 0.01 in the units column. If it's just been 0.1 and you haven't got many drops on this dose, I think he's about ready to try the next dose down. :D Other than that lone 100, he's been solid green for 14 cycles.
I've used R before but on Tidus who was acro and it's been a few years. My vet is fine with it. I actually was talking about R the other day. But I wasn't thinking of testing her so late being that her PM BG is so high so I can do a few of those +9/+10/+11 tests.

I'm thinking I missed something with Rose. Just not sure when to test her? Maybe later like Abby?

Shadow has been one drop. I fixed the SS to all be 0.01. So I can try OJT?
 
So I can try OJT?

There's really not too much lower you can go!! There's the "vacuum" dose where you push the plunger in hard, insert into the insulin and just "let go" but I think Shadow's looking good for the trial too!

Here are the OTJ Trial Instructions:

Start the trial on the next green pre shot. (you've already got OTJ trial day 1, 2 and 3.....tomorrow would be day 4!)

  • If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!

Good luck with the trial!!
 
Last edited:
There's really not too much lower you can go!! There's the "vacuum" dose where you push the plunger in hard, insert into the insulin and just "let go" but I think Shadow's looking good for the trial too!

Here are the OTJ Trial Instructions:

Start the trial on the next green pre shot. (you've already got OTJ trial day 1, 2 and 3.....tomorrow would be day 4!)

  • If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!

Good luck with the trial!!
What does it mean "(you've already got OTJ trial day 1, 2 and 3.....tomorrow would be day 4!)"
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top