10/29 Hyde AMPS 556 PMPS 542 +3 326

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Anne & Hyde (GA), Oct 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anne & Hyde (GA)

    Anne & Hyde (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-28-hyde-amps-441-pmps-480-3-316.146620/
    Late condo - I was running late and forgot to look at her number this AM and did not get home till late - DH did both t/f/s today. Really disappointing numbers :(

    Had a long chat with the specialist vet yesterday. She agreed with switching Hyde to Levemir but she did think we were increasing Hyde too fast and should cut to 50% when switching, then wait 7-10 days and do a full curve then consult with her before increasing. I did not have the heart to tell her about our R trial that I expect to run this weekend.

    I asked if she had looked at her spreadsheet (I had e-mailed her the link at the office e-mail account) but she said that she only had a printout so I e-mailed her the link directly. This morning there was a reply asking for the instructions for setting up a spreadsheet so that she could share it with her other diabetics:D:cool::D!

    I will contact her again after the R trial and see if she agrees that the numbers justify the quick increases.

    She also does not seem that familiar with the IAA issue so I will try to find some articles for her to get up to speed. It's nice to have a vet that is open to learning new things.

    Hugs and vines to those in need.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2015
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I hope Hyde keeps sliding down for you. It's nice your vet is willing to learn.
     
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Warning - information overload below!! Hope the new vet is interested in reading.

    Here's my collection of IAA articles. On my list of things to do is a "what do we know" on IAA.
    About IAA: http://www.faqs.org/faqs/diabetes/faq/part3/section-24.html
    Article from the Endocrine Society: http://press.endocrine.org/doi/full/10.1210/er.2007-0002
    Note from Dr. Petersen's endocrine vet blog: http://www.endocrinevet.info/2011/05/endocrine-publications-of-2010-canine.html

    And a little "light" reading of some previous FDMB posts, also related to R use:
    Weezer using R:
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-22-weezer-amps-209-pmps-258.61733/
    Ozy had IAA, neg for acro
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-26-ozy-amps-216-pmps-320-6-301.110669/
    An excellent thread started by Dr. Lisa on Lantus vs. Levemir on high dosers:
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10u-bid-lantus-acro-levemir.14578/#post-147048
    BK Update - years after being OTJ: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/04-30-black-kitty-iaa-update.118064/
    Older post on Buddy: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-31-jan-and-buddy-pmps-403-2-340-3-5-289.4646/#p45837
    Another bookmarkable post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/OLDFDMB/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=21711&hilit=acromegaly
    And last but not least, the reply Suki got back when she asked the Royal Veterinary College about IAA:
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...nts-back-from-rvc-london.131581/#post-1354014
    It includes links to the following articles.
    http://www.researchgate.net/publica...bodies_in_treated_and_untreated_diabetic_cats
    This one I don't have the full article: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19850439
     
  4. Marilyn and Sheldon

    Marilyn and Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Wow. Wendy is an amazing archivist! Lots there for your vet.

    I printed stuff off for my vet to read when I suspected acro; he didn't. He never read it, but just steps aside and lets me do my thing. Works for me.

    One thing that convinces my vet. The spreadsheet. He'd like Polly's numbers higher and wanted me to hold doses longer, but he couldn't dispute the results of the protocol. So. He didn't.

    Vines on high for the R trial.

    Marilyn and Polly
     
  5. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    @pollydoodle - polite way of saying "pack rat". :p:p

    I don't know if my vet read anything either. The acupuncture vet is more open to reading and impressed me by doing a little reading on acromegaly before our first appointment.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2015
  6. Peg and Toby

    Peg and Toby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Glad you have a vet that's willing to listen. Good luck with the R trial.
     
  7. suki & crystal (GA)

    suki & crystal (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    I don't think you have been increasing too quickly, if the dose isn't working, there is no point in sticking with it. You have been careful and methodical with your increases, Hyde just needs as much insulin as she needs, but some vets have a real hard time accepting that. Hang in there Anne, you just haven't got to that magic number yet but hopefully the addition of R will see an improvement in getting her numbers down. :bighug:
     
  8. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Congratulations on bringing another vet over to the good side! The Force is strong! I wish I had had as much luck converting as you have had!

    Sorry that you aren't getting the numbers you want, but hang in there. You'll find "the" dose eventually!
     
  9. Anne & Hyde (GA)

    Anne & Hyde (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    I was secretly hoping that @Wendy&Neko would come to my rescue;);)
     
    Vyktors Mum likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page