10/29 Osha AMPS 51 +3 121 +5 107 +7 88 +9 79 +11 85 PMPS 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Osha

Member Since 2016
10/24

Good morning!

My girl has been doing such a great job working the juice! (anti-jinx) I know she did not earn a reduction this morning, but I can't have her running that low when I am at work all day. If the numbers go up, I will just take the dose back up. She went to the vet last Monday for her pre dental blood work. I put the numbers in the SS and I will attach an image at the end of this post. Seems like she is doing pretty good. @Marje and Gracie Marje, if you wouldn't mind doing a quick check on her results I would appreciate it.

I know I posted this the other day, but it still makes me smile. This paragraph was in the email with the blood results. They still think she is on lantus because she wouldn't prescribe me Levemir and I haven't sent numbers to them in a long time, and that is not going to change.

"I would like to see any recent pre-insulin blood glucose numbers that you
have to make sure we're doing OK since there wasn't any glucose in her
urine. Likely, it's just that she's well regulated, but it's possible she
might need a mild dose reduction in her insulin."

She is all set for her dental on November 8th. She will be the first patient of the day. I can't drop her off until 7:30 and I need to be on my way to work at that time, so my mom will stay over the night before and drop Osha off for me.

My raters for my grant to my classroom came on Tuesday (my daughter's birthday). I think it went well, but I won't know anything until the report comes in January. I am SO happy to have that over with. I was SOOOO exhausted at the end of that day.

I am super happy that Sébastien came home from the hospital this week. He is doing much better! We are now just waiting for the neurology team to meet and discuss the next steps of his treatment.

I wish things could slow down a bit. There is just no time.

I hope everyone and their kitties are doing well.

Amanda and Kitty Osha, The Empress
 

Attachments

Empress! You do look marvelous! Keeping her safe while you are gone all day is paramount. You don't need that added stress of worry. But, as you can see, was on the rise and it wasn't until +7 that she dropped back into the lagoon. And that said , you have to do what makes you comfortable.
 
Nice cycle! I have a friend coming in about 30 mins and she’s visiting all day but I can look at Osha’s labs this evening and let you know.

Have a great day!
 
Looking good! :cool: Seems like some stresses are lessening for you (Sébastien back home, grant raters visit, good vet results), so I hope that helps you deal with your super busy schedule. :bighug::)
 
And that said , you have to do what makes you comfortable.

Yep. I just don't want to chase low numbers or be worried when I am working. I don't get home until +10. It is pretty amazing I felt ok shooting a 51 this morning. A year ago I would have been having heart palpitations. ;)

I have a friend coming in about 30 mins and she’s visiting all day but I can look at Osha’s labs this evening and let you know.

Thank you Marje! :cat: I hope you have a nice visit with your friend.

Seems like some stresses are lessening for you

Very true! I need less stress. :) I forgot to mention I had lice in my classroom again on Thursday. :eek: Kid came back on Friday and still had it and had to send her home again.

Osha is rockin it! :D

Osha is being such a good girl! :D:cat:
 
It's great to see Osha doing so well. I'm glad your mom can help out getting her to the dental. I'm glad the raters finally came and Sebastien is home.
 
Amanda

Overall her labs look good. I would continue to keep an eye on her calcium as it is on the high end for normal. If it goes any higher, she should have an additional test run.

Her urine specific gravity is still a little lower than one would expect. It’s consistent and I don’t know if it’s just that the test is always run later in the day, which can explain why it’s a bit lower. Her USG should be above 1.040. Just like us, the urine becomes more dilute throughout the day as we drink fluids. So, optimally, you might want to grab her first urine of the day on a Saturday and run it over to the vet and let them check it to see if she is able to concentrate her urine. A more dilute urine is often the first sign of very early CKD and her creatinine is running consistently higher. I’m not saying she has CKD but I would see if she is able to concentrate her urine above 1.040.

If she can’t, I’d discuss with the vet what other things can cause the USG to be more dilute. The nest time she has labs done, I’d ask my vet if there is a way to send the blood to IDEXX to have a senior panel includin SDMA done. I don’t think you need to have that done right away as she is very stable in her numbers but I would probably have the USG checked as soon as you can.
 
Thanks Marje. @Marje and Gracie Yes, her urine was taken later in the day, 5pm. Her bloodwork was run by IDEXX and the SDMA number was 12. I will ask the vet about getting a morning sample done. Thanks again!
 
Thanks Marje. @Marje and Gracie Yes, her urine was taken later in the day, 5pm. Her bloodwork was run by IDEXX and the SDMA number was 12. I will ask the vet about getting a morning sample done. Thanks again!
:banghead::banghead: Sorry.....I glanced down the list just looking for SDMA and didn’t see it. Now I see it! Good....that’s makes me feel much better knowing she’s in the normal range there and her USG was done later in the day. The SDMA “should” show any issues even before the urine becomes dilute.

Her BG is looking really great these days!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top