10-31-18 Little Ra AMPS 97 +6 91 PMPS 65 +2 46

LittleRa

Member Since 2018
Yesterdays thread

For some reason Little Ra's numbers are starting to creep higher. I have no idea why that would be the case. Perhaps my partner and I are not as consistent as we could be. He is still technically in the green so I will count my blessings. Thanks for checking on on Little Ra. I hope you have a lovely day!
 
Jut talking to myself a bit here....What syringes do you guys buy online for Lantus? I am having troubles finding the best syringe for fine doses as there are so many options out there. I am currently looking at ADW. It that the best?
 
There's that lower green you were looking for. :D I might get an earlier test in tonight. SLGS suggests not shooting below 90.

What is your feeding schedule for LIttle Ra?

Sorry I can't help you with syringes. I'm in Canada where BD owns the market. Not sure you'll need many more anyway (antijinx).
 
There's that lower green you were looking for. :D I might get an earlier test in tonight. SLGS suggests not shooting below 90.

What is your feeding schedule for LIttle Ra?

Sorry I can't help you with syringes. I'm in Canada where BD owns the market. Not sure you'll need many more anyway (antijinx).

Thanks for the response! I feed Little Ra and his little brother 1/12 cans FF Pate at 7am and again at 7pm. Since the low carb food switch, I have one cat that is being really food aggressive (to the other critters and us) so he is being quarantined to our office during feeding time. It is quite the circus! We have been calling feeding time "the chaos". LOL
 
Any chance you could spread the feedings out a little bit? It's easier on the healing pancreas.

I can give that a spin for sure. Especially if it is better with the healing process! It may even tame some of the chaos.

As for SLGS, the protocol doesn't seem to give the time to support a strong remission in my opinion. I should have been off the juice awhile ago if I followed those rules to the letter. There seems to be a push to the TR rules around this time in my experience. I tried going off the juice with SLGS to the dismay of others. I tend to agree with them for the most part.
 
Add a drop of honey to his food, or some high carb food if you have it. This is early in the cycle to be going so low.
 
Since he's earned his reduction, and he's still relatively low, I would give him another couple tsps of that gravy and test again in 1/2 hour to make sure he doesn't go back down again.
 
I'm no expert, and new to this experience, but I think it's a good idea to test again 30 min after last BG and that bit of more gravy.

Then, if he's increased his BGs, add a little LC food to the gravy the next time you feed.
 
I'm no expert, and new to this experience, but I think it's a good idea to test again 30 min after last BG and that bit of more gravy.

Then, if he's increased his BGs, add a little LC food to the gravy the next time you feed.

Sounds like a sound plan to me. Thank. you! :bighug:
 
Sounds like a sound plan to me. Thank. you! :bighug:

I'm EAT in PA and will be up at 4 AM to test Tiny. West Coast beans should be up for a bit longer, but I think you are doing good. Keep repeating the testing and tsps of LC w/a bit of gravy every 30 min until Little Ra is in safe numbers.
:bighug:
 
I have no clue as to the variance in numbers, or the use of human meters, so i cant help there. I don't know what the acceptable BG reading is w/ a human meter, I'm sorry to say.
 
These numbers are safe for him to be in, but a little low to leave him and go to bed. I'd try a little more high carb. Not too much, you don't want to fill him up.
 
Wow.....Looks like somebody is ready for an OTJ trial!!

Have you seen the OTJ Trial instructions?

  • Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
  • If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. Be sure you include “OTJ Trial Day xx” in your subject line with the “xx” being the day of the trial.
  • He may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Once he is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
Wow.....Looks like somebody is ready for an OTJ trial!!

Have you seen the OTJ Trial instructions?

  • Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
  • If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. Be sure you include “OTJ Trial Day xx” in your subject line with the “xx” being the day of the trial.
  • He may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Once he is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!

Wow, this is exciting! Thank you so much for the information.
 
Back
Top