10/6 Sootie: INPUT/DOSING ADVICE PLEASE? BG all over the place today.

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...40-7-29amet-103-4-5-138-9-5-7-08pm-et.166143/

@Wendy&Neko @julie & punkin (ga) @Gussie's mom

Apologies for length and "flatness" of writing, kinda drained here!

Good evening. Talked to vet today, bringing Sootie in tomorrow morning for 2nd recheck this week. He now concurs more readily something's wrong and that he recent and escalating behaviors/symptoms definitely not characteristic of Sootie. Yes, Wendy, your mention about pain definitely a factor, too. Repeated theme is that she seeks space away from others and is easily, inwardly stressed.

Ok, resumed 0.1u this am Amps was 144. +5 was 140. +11 was 180 and 185 on retest at 7:12 and 7:13 pm EST, +12.5 (8:42pm at pmbg or PMPS whichever it turns out to be) is 124
(this she and I did in seclusion from other cats and after she had eaten another tsp or so of supper between +11 and +12.5).

Appetite off again this morning, but ate more when she was only cat in another room? Possible that she ate more during afternoon. Same inappetent behavior this evening, eating a tiny bit in one room (where we have customarily done feeding and bg testing, and previously her primary space) with other cats nearby, then seclude get herself to another room where offered her food there (ate about tsp), retested and then she ate about 1/8 cup food.

1. Wendy mentioned last night, among many possibilities, that the wearing off of a depot effect might be one explanation to yesterday's numbers. Today's numbers started out lower than last nights bg, but in a range to to do 0.1 u safely this morning. Her numbers skyrocketed for any number of reasons but I'm wondering: is this possibly a bounce and one that is self correcting during the same cycle?

2. Given the pattern of today's numbers (and in context of recent cycles, less than ideal food intake and everything else ongoing), and that I truly feel that she does tend to go lower during the wee hours anyway:
Is this also an indicator of sputtering? Also, I have read in a study ( that I was surprised to find but interest ly correlates to my long held feeling that Lantus has a longer duration for her )there is some evidence that female cats tend to have a longer duration (wear-off) time than male cats.

3. Im concerned that I risk another nighttime hypo/low numbers event if pm dose 0.1u as did the night she dived (correct term?) the other night. I think she is far more sensitive to and unaccustomed to night time doses that the once daily morning doses that her body and being is accustomed to for the past year. Tomorrow is one year to the day since DX and starting on Lantus. Yes, I understand that it's my call as to whether to dose and what amount or whether to not pm dose at all. I am getting a handle on this but welcome input bc each day these days is substantially unique. . Input please?Could droplet dose or skinny 0.1 or half of 0.1. Has anyone experienced similar cycle rhythms where a a reduced nighttime dose or o nighttime dose was more appropriate for their FD?

Thanks, Sina
 
My non diabetic cat has had cystitis. It is painful, which is why I asked about pain management. Also, I have noticed Neko's numbers higher when she is in pain, such as after a dental extraction or from her arthritis. And Neko's appetite is currently running hot and cold. I find her numbers sometimes higher when she's inappetant, and I speculate it's the nausea or whatever causing it contributes to the higher numbers. But fortunately, it means I can usually shoot her regular dose because the numbers are higher. Her lower numbers have been when she's eating well and feeling good. However, Sootie is not Neko, so you have to factor in what you are observing.

You could still be seeing the effect of a diminished depot. I don't think it's a bounce. Lantus does do better with consistent dosing. You may find it better to do a skinny 0.1 unit dose both AM and PM. Many cats go lower at night, it may be because they are nocturnal animals by nature.
 
Thank you Wendy.
You raise lots of food for thought and questions in the quest to fine tune management in relation to Sootie's rythyms. To that purpose some questions come to mind that at this hour, brain not getting thoughts to words very well. But thoughts are towards a better understanding of depot, bounces, gaps, overlaps and food in relation to and with her in-cycle rhythms, and even if perhaps her daytime and nighttime cycle durations are different.

And yes, hoping that tomorrow we'll make headway at the vet.

It's now about an hour and half since pmbg (pmps) test and 14 hrs since am dose. Hoping she will have eaten more. Will retest (bowing to her patience). If she is higher will consider a skinny, if she is lower...will see. Many thanks, Sina
 
@Wendy&Neko @Gussie's mom (and HH:NTW about dosing advice)

Just did a +14 in case bg up since +12. Sootie's bg is lower now at 74.
Wendy, question: And don't want to risk dosing at green especially at night. Make sense? What possible reasons for recent continuing decrease in this day's cycle with O pm dose?
 
Sorry. late reply. Distracted by my own kitty. Sootie should be safe tonight with no insulin. Possible reasons of the top of my head for green are sputtering pancreas, long duration.

Good luck with the vet appointment tomorrow.
 
@Wendy&Neko
And a sputtering pancreas is a good thing right? It means the pancreas is starting to do some work..as opposed to sputtering meaning ceasing to work. In diabetic cats the pancreas can start working again at producing insulin if it has been in healing numbers from what I understand?
 
Good morning @Wendy&Neko and @Gussie's mom
Being distracted by one's kitty(ies) not a distraction, is a loving necessity!

Makes sense that sputtering can go either way, the operative being better to sputter towards healing! :bighug: I envision that sputtering to pancreatic failure would include the initially subtle, gradual indicators of illness going from health to decline rather than the signs from illness towards healing (such as in general lower numbers, need for less insulin, etc.)!?
Sootie's bg at first this am was 166 (amidst her fellow hungry bff's), ate a bit, had a bit of solitude and DH ohm snores, a calming combout, then a retest an hour later. 148. Ate more. Did 0.1u.

Heading to vet in about an hour. Thanks for well wishes. Hope we make real headway today!
Enjoy the day and healing vines all around for all! :bighug::):bighug:
 
Good morning @Wendy&Neko and @Gussie's mom
Being distracted by one's kitty(ies) not a distraction, is a loving necessity!

Makes sense that sputtering can go either way, the operative being better to sputter towards healing! :bighug: I envision that sputtering to pancreatic failure would include the initially subtle, gradual indicators of illness going from health to decline rather than the signs from illness towards healing (such as in general lower numbers, need for less insulin, etc.)!?
Sootie's bg at first this am was 166 (amidst her fellow hungry bff's), ate a bit, had a bit of solitude and DH ohm snores, a calming combout, then a retest an hour later. 148. Ate more. Did 0.1u.

Heading to vet in about an hour. Thanks for well wishes. Hope we make real headway today!
Enjoy the day and healing vines all around for all! :bighug::):bighug:
Sending good vetty visit vines to you...:bighug::bighug:
Lets hear it for a sputtering, starting to come on duty pancreas!:D:bighug:
 
Sending good vetty visit vines to you...:bighug::bighug:
Lets hear it for a sputtering, starting to come on duty pancreas!:D:bighug:
@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Gussie's mom

Hi, not started a new thread yet for the day...(and will try some lingo!) but here's the skinny on today's vet visit with Sootie (and my 18-yr old renal civvie Azalea who gets miserable recurring mouth infections).

The place was full of big loud noisy droolers, more so bc of pre-holiday weekend panics. One drooler was an exotic mix breed bulldog kind of a mess after birthing 10 pups at home (8 survived and were smooshed together in one not big enough carrier, exuding intense pee). Sootie and azalea not happy around noisy panicky droolers.

Sootie's exam: no bloodwork or ua today bc she was totally stressed. But is being scheduled for ultrasound, blood work and UA to be on Tuesday or Wednesday morning. He's been our vet since Sootie was a kitten, so we know each other and read each other pretty well. The intensity of his look during palpating pretty much said it all. He was concerned about a tumor that is either new or has been undetectable til now and might have been the initial reason for FD onset.

Sootie's mentor Hoppy, who I have not mentioned til now bc still heartbroken, was Dx'd FD when he was 16, had four good years on Lantus, but then everything went awry on a dime and turned out he had fast spreading pancreatic cancer and joined the spirits a month later, three years ago. Today's suggestion was like a hit in the solar plexus.

Hoping for a false alarm. Prayers and healing vines please for Sootie please...:(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top